We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY SMALL ROOM” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Hotel

Admiral Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Hotel to your Saves list
Admiral Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #825 of 1,049 Hotels in London
malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“VERY SMALL ROOM”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed there 5 nights as a family of 4 ..no lift ..2 storeys of stairs with heavy luggage ...room is very very small especially the bathroom ..was not suitable for 4 persons ..breakfast is very poor in 2 days we were only given 1 sausage 1 piece of bacon and 1 egg ...not worthit for the money paid ..1 good thing is that is central and close to station and shops

Room Tip: search for an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    20
    35
    33
See reviews for
35
24
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was better than expected! The room was nice and clean, the value is ok, the location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful! It's not a luxury hotel but it's a perfectly ok hotel. We will not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

With a jet lag and arrived at an early morning we just want a comfortable room to relax and recover our energy To our surprise we got to carry our 2 large bags through staircase to level 3!!! Maybe I had a wrong perception that all hotels in London have lift...our first day in London ended with back spasm and cramps!!! The room can hardly fit three pax.. I am sure glad that Malaysian budget hotels are world class!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel looks excellent from the outside but beware. The hotel is narrow & in no way spacious. The rooms are small and on six levels with no lift. The on-suite we had was very small and the only toiletries supplied for 4 people were one small bar of soap & two shampoos. The window in our room was exceedingly dirty but at least the beds were clean. The breakfast was fine but not a breakfast to remember.
Their plus point was that the owners & staff were pleasant & helpful.
So for one night's stay it was OK but any longer it would have been a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good service and friendly welcome from senior managers Mr KIN and Mr SO

Very good location close to paddington station and hyde park area

Very good value for money and attention to detail with good range of information for tourists

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i recently stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel which we booked thinking it was a quaint b&b as it was advertised was clearly not the case. Although it does have a fabulous location with a quick walk to Hyde park and paddington train station. The room was clean and comfortable but have had better for the price we paid. The front desk staff are not very friendly or helpful unless your a female travelling alone and it seemed you got undivided attention. Breakfasts included in our price and was very very simple and the breakfast lady is quite rude. As it is a 3 star hotel i didn't expect anything flash but was over priced for what it was.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My friends and I made A RESERVATION THOUGH BOOKING.COM quite in advance before our arrival (it was the beginning of September and we were supposed to stay in this hotel at the beginning of October). Just to be sure the reservation ended well, I ALSO WROTE AN EMAIL TO THE HOTEL. The owner, Mr. So, reassured me that everything was fine and he was looking forward for our arrival.
Before flying to London, I wrote a new email to Mr. So to let him know we will be arriving to his hotel at 11 pm. He replied to me that the rooms were ready and, again, he was warmly waiting for us. So warmly that WHEN WE ARRIVED THE ROOMS WERE NOT AVAILABLE!!! Only the doorman and another couple experiencing our same mess. Of course, the "poor" doorman could not explain what was going on...he tried clumsily to find us another accomodation. In his opinion we should have paid for the price difference. While the couple agreed, we spent more than an hour fighting on the phone with booking.com: at the end, they find us a hotel in the neighbourhood (the pleasant and perfectly-managed Tudor Court Hotel) without paying any extra.
The owner of the Admiral hotel was unreacheble when we arrived; when I wrote to him to ask what happend and to look for some kind of excuses he replied to me "No I am not going to say any excuses"! NO COMMENT!!!

Room Tip: Go to another place!!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Hotel

Address: 143 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #825 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.