We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, value for money and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancaster Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #411 of 1,073 hotels in London
Copenhagen, København, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Central, value for money and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed several times at Lancaster Hall and can only recommend this hotel. Located close to Paddington, Hyde Park, and only a short walk from Oxford Street or Notting Hill Gate, you can walk from here through most of London or use the abundance of public transport at your doorstep.

A friendly, clean hotel, Lancaster Hall is value for money. Breakfast is definitely in the better category when it comes to London hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    121
    45
    7
    7
See reviews for
46
87
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from Paddington station. I stayed in the hotel par rather than the youth wing, and found it to be of very good standard.

Check in was quick and friendly and the public areas are clean and tidy.

The room had two single beds, which were very comfortable, with good quality pillows. They were on casters, so they moved a little, but that would only be a problem if you moved about a lot in the night! There were two bedside tables, a desk, and built in wardrobes. Everything was functional and clean, and adequate for an overnight stay. The TV was very small and fixed to the wall in such a way that it would be difficult to view from one of the beds if there were two people staying.

The bathroom was clean, lots of hot water and the shower worked well. The towels weren't very big, but there were four of them and they were clean and white.

Breakfast was a continental buffet, and everything looked fresh and there was enough to set you up for the day.

All in all, a surprisingly good hotel for £55 a night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lancaster Hall Hotel lies just 30 minutes by walking in Kensington and Hyde Park from Knightbridge London.
The price is correct, good location, clean room, good breakfast. This hotel is not modern but is offering
all you need for a weekend in London.The personnel is very friendly and helpfull.
It is an excellent solution for those who stay a few days in London on budget -
Bus stop 5 minutes from the Hotel -Bus 94 brings you in 20 minutes to Piccadelly Circus-
Tube Station - 5 minutes from the Hotel - Tube Lancaster Gate-

Room Tip: rooms on the side of the street - the street is very quiet-
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, I don't know if we will return. I wasn't expecting much due to the great low price, I've been to London a dozen times before and know enough to realize a hotel at this price in this convenient location has to come with a catch. So, I was expecting zero charm and sparse amenities and I got them. What I wasn't expecting was a totally uncomfortable bed and a breakfast area so crowded and the food so picked over that we left and bought breakfast elsewhere. Also, leaving your luggage at the hotel before of after check out is a bit scary. They have a large room that you put the luggage in yourself, they give you a key. It is far away from the reception area. Since it's a large hotel, it was a bit of a concern that they hand a key to any of the 500 people staying there, and they all can go in and out of the luggage room with no one watching. We were in a bind so we left our bags there, but the whole time we were gone I was worried they wouldn't be there when we returned. Luckily, they were. You also have to pay for wifi, so I wound up using the free wifi at The Swan pub down the street by Hyde Park. On the plus side, the location of the hotel is not only convenient to sightseeing in Central London, but within walking distance of Paddington, so coming from Heathrow was totally painless with the Heathrow Express. I might stay here again only based on our friends that had stayed here before said their beds were comfortable, so maybe we just got a bad room. I would just not plan on getting breakfast and definitely make sure I don't need to leave my luggage after I check out. I also say that being a person who winds up spending minimal time at the hotel where I am staying. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to someone else if it was their first time in London. I think it would be better to stay somewhere with more local character and get a full English breakfast and pay a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is a gem find in a good location near to Paddington Station and underground. The No7 bus to Russell Square gets you to Oxford Street shops in 15 minutes. Continental Breakfast is sufficiently adequate. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Watch out for the twin beds on castors! Soap & towels provided. Good luggage storage facility.
First floor rooms are quiet if the window is shut!
Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.
Will use again as the location is excellent with shops and restaurants just around the corner, and taxis can easily be hailed too! (£13 from Kings Cross/St. Pancras)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was my 7th trip to London and I wish I had found this hotel on my first trip.
At least now I know where I'll be staying next time. No more looking for hotels that promises more than they deliver. The Lancaster Hall Hotel doesn't.
This well run hotel is in a very good location, close to tube, rail and Hyde Park. They have an excellent breakfast buffet, large & clean rooms with lots of running hot water in the shower.
What more could you ask for at such a reasonable rate.
Thanks to the helpful staff at the front desk.

Room Tip: I guess that rooms facing the back are quieter, but the noise from the street is not more than you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

If your looking for a clean, comfortable, good value hotel in a nice location not far from the city centre then look no further. Its situated on a quiet street a few minutes walk from the Lancaster Gate underground station. There's a really decent pub 'The Mitre', a couple of Italian restaurants and several cafes along the street...saying that we tried the 'Taormina' restaurant were the food was fairly average but the staff were really good. Its also right beside Hyde park if you fancy a relaxed walk in this picturesque area. The hotel itself is quite quiet. The staff are polite and the hotel provides the standard continental breakfast. Although its not the Ritz I rated it 'very good' for all the above.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancaster Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hall Hotel

Address: 35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in London
#290 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hall London
Hotel Lancaster Hall
Lancaster Hall Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.