We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will be back in June 2011!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments
Save
You added Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   27 Canadian Ave, London SE6 3AU , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Tallinn
1 review
“we will be back in June 2011!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were looking for a safe place for several mothers with children and were not mistaken! The place is safe, clean , very comfortable! We really enjoyed, that there is a garden, pool table and swimming pool, as we all could relax well after tiring day in London (London IS tiring, when you want to see a lot within several days!) The possibility to cook ourselves really diminish our expenses, as fast food in London... This is something we dont recommend anyone! There are shops, pub, internet cafe, Indian take-away in a short distance from apartments, good transport connection with the Center. We have chosen this place for our vocations this year and this year we are 18 people! Looking forward to be back !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
6
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

we stopped in the croft and had another apartment too as we were a family of 17 we stopped there for 4 days it was very clean and nicely furnished and well equipet for a large party.my only bug bear was that the shower in our shared bathroom was very old fashioned and was very hard to keep the water hot i had cold showers every day also the sink in my bedroom diddnt even have any water comming through the taps so i dont know why it was there only for orniment other than that we loved all eating together in the very large dinning kitchen and having wifi was great sowe could order our takeaways on line and they was delivered straight to the door also the swimming pool was lovely the children enjoyed playing and the garden was well equiped for children to play. i would definetly book again with my large family .

Room Tip: good value for money and close to the westend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We Yanks have stayed at the Glenthurston 3 different times over the last 8 years, always with children, from infants to teens, and found the cozy, yet roomy, flats a perfect fit for a family vacations in London. The indoor pool and game room was a hit with the kids, and the kitchens and close-by market were a hit with mom and dad. A short walk to the train station made a total commute of walking and train to the center of London about 25 minutes. Friendly, attentive and professional staff worked with us, even when one of our party became ill. I and my family are looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Everyone knows, or should know, how expensive lodging is in London these days. Glenthurston Place is an excellent alternative to pricey hotels, especially given the full kitchen facilities in each apartment and the nearby grocery (and other) stores. It's not the Savoy, but you're not paying anywhere near Savoy prices here (or those of virtually any other central London hotel either), and the apartments are clean, comfortable, and well-furnished. I suspect those who don't know the city very well might be put off when they look at a map and see no tube station nearby. But Catford and Catford Bridge commuter rail stations are only a five minute walk, and the trains leave regularly (every 15-20 minutes), arriving in London Bridge and Charing Cross Stations in 20 minutes or so (where you can make easy underground connections to Northern, District and Circle, and Jubilee lines). The train fare is included in your one-day or seven-day London Travel Card. Very easy to use.

I've been staying at Glenthurston a couple of times every year for almost ten years now and recommend it highly. The Catford area of London is not itself a tourist destination, to be sure, but think of it rather as a base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Staying in Glenthurston will give you a different holiday experience in London. Well spacious accomodation, homely environment and a good host. Simon is always handy.

A fantastic holiday experience. Keep it up guys.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibadan, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The London Self-catering Apartment Rooms were generally clean and spacious. I liked the rooms because they are generally comfortable and homely. The location of this apartment building is centralized and easily accessible to trains, buses and taxis. I liked the quite nature of the whole environment and the SKYTV service in our apartment for my children, this was fun and exciting. Also, the broadband Internet services that came with the SKYTV were superb!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The apartments are very comfortable and make guests feel as if they were at home. The staff is always there to help with any of the guests' needs. Whatever you need, they are more than willing to assist. The apartments are very convenient because they are away from the traffic of busy downtown London, but are only 15-20 minutes by train, and also and easy drive to Kent. It is a much better value to stay in the self catering apartments than in a hotel for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments

Address: 27 Canadian Ave, London SE6 3AU , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenthurston has been offering self catering accommodation in London since 1998. A family owned and run business. Well located for tourists visiting London. Family friendly. Apartments ranging from a studio to a 4 bedroom. On site parking. Free wifi. Heated indoor pool. Sauna. Communal lounge. Large gardens with furniture and children's play areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.