We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanging out in Hampstead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Gaffe to your Saves list
La Gaffe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hanging out in Hampstead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lorenzo made us feel at home as soon as we walked in! What a super, quaint (originally a shepherd's home in the 1700s) hotel just a few minutes from The Heath and the Hampstead Underground stop. Lots of cute shops, pubs and restaurants all around. Fantastic neighborhood feel, just minutes from the "country" of the park and 15 minutes from downtown London on the Tube. Best of all worlds. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food is super-delicious. Breakfast is included in the price, and the room price was easy on the wallet. I will definitely head back to La Gaffe on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
47
44
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked La Gaffe on ratings through Trip Advisor. We loved the place! Lorenzo runs the family owned establishment and was so friendly and accommodating. They also have a quaint restaurant that you go through to get to the stairs to our room. Very narrow stairs, small doors, but the room was nice, just large enough for two and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom has been renovated with great shower. We stayed in room 13. Free continental breakfast, standard fare, good cappuccino. About a 1/2 mile from the TUBE, same street, easy walk. Never got an opportunity to try the restaurant for dinner, but wanted to, the aroma around the place was fantastic. Would stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After reading the reviews here I expected something exceptional. However I have paid a lot less for more in London. Don't get me wrong. The shower was excellent. The host was a really nice friendly guy but the room was poky, needed a shade over one window to keep the light out and the bed was tired. However the breakfast was adequate, the tea was hot and fresh and the location good. I will go again but book direct to get a better rate more suited to the room

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My sister, niece and I stayed at La Gaffe for nine days in August on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there several times. And now I highly recommend it for anyone seeking a very clean, very welcoming, very convenient small hotel with a delightful breakfast included that also has a wonderful restaurant. Truly, after sightseeing all day, our return to La Gaffe felt like returning to a home--always a warm welcome and calm surroundings. The rooms are very clean and the staff is always helpful. Lorenzo, the proprietor since taking over from his parents, is always cheerful, as is the rest of the staff.
We stayed in two rooms during our stay. We were expecting small rooms (as we were told when booking the rooms) but, while the rooms are on the small side, there was more than enough storage--for three women, even! And, surprisingly for a small hotel, the bathrooms are not tiny, but roomy and clean with modern fixtures. The rooms each had tv's, hair dryers, and coffee/tea fixings, but we never made coffee in the room as Lorenzo makes the best coffee drinks!
As three women, we always felt safe walking around Hampstead and, especially, the 3-5 minute walk from the tube station to La Gaffe. The convenience of the tube station is a big plus for staying at La Gaffe. By staying at La Gaffe, you get to enjoy a calm, quiet, beautiful area of London, but only be a 15-20 minute tube ride to all of the sights. Actually, we made it a point to have dinner at La Gaffe the majority of our nights in London. The restaurant is a very good value--wonderful food (freshly made) and wonderful service.
Hampstead Heath is just up and across the street and it is a wonderful place to stroll.
I'm going to stay there again this fall. I can't say enough good things about La Gaffe!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

La Gaffe Hotel & Restaurant is a gem of a find in London, Hampstead is an oasis of beautiful architecture, good pubs, and the Heath. Lorenzo Stella and the staff at La Gaffe do a great job of welcoming you and attending to your needs. The room we had was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet and comfortable. We got to know the Edgeware branch of the Northern Tube line as the station is only a couple minutes from La Gaffe and you can be in central London quickly.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

La Gaffe is primarily an Italian restaurant and adjoining wine bar with a few rooms above it, and seems to have a loyal following of Italian expats who come to dine, as well as locals who linger over a glass in the wine bar. Though situated on busy Heath Street, its dining facilities seem to be a favorite with locals, and the accommodations are more like a country B&B (perhaps the adjoining tiny Hampstead streets filled with old trees and grand houses contribute to this pastoral quality). This B&B quality is manifested most clearly by the charming, gracious, and very personable attention of Lorenzo Stella, the proprietor, manager, son of the founders, and general factotum for the property. Lorenzo will take your reservation, take your order for the dinner special, call you a taxi, help you with your bags, take your payment, and smile and joke all through it. The rooms are smallish (though too much so by London standards. Storage space is minimal but there is a tiny desk for working/writing and wi-fi included. Though missing a classic English hot breakfast option, there is a cold buffet breakfast until 9:30, and the room prices are incredibly reasonable for super-expensive London. Hampstead is an easy cab, Tube, or bus ride from the West End, and merits a visit as a destination in its own right, as it is one of London's most perfectly preserved historic "villages". have family living locally, and they have turned it into our go-to accommodation in their neighborhood. Highly recommended for a short getaway from the frenzy of central London or a place to stay if you need to be in NW London.

Room Tip: Sizes vary widely - be sure to be specific about what you are looking for. Also, watch for exposure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

An hotel adjoined to a celebrated Italian restaurant in Hampstead.The web-site is accurate and a good picture. The rooms are smallish but wholly adequate, including good shower facilities. Breakfast is simple but again fully adequate. The Italian menu is quite restricted in the number of dishes, but not so you would notice - the quality and quantity are very much above average.The staff are affable and the proprietor pleasant. Ideal for a short stay in this affluent area.

Room Tip: Rear better due to traffic, but front is OK, as you get used to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#239 Business Hotel in London
#389 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London, England
La Gaffe Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.