We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended small hotel near Harrods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Levin

Save Saved
You added The Levin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Levin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 1,073 hotels in London
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended small hotel near Harrods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights because it's near the V&A, where we were visiting specifically.
Our room was delightful and we felt very comfortable there. Also the marble bathroom was excellent with everything working properly and an excellent shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful, something you expect with a smaller hotel. We would definitely stay again if we're in the Knightsbridge area.

Room Tip: We only saw one room of course, on the front of the hotel but it's in a quiet street behind Harr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback you left on TA from you recent stay at the Levin Hotel.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well
I would be very happy to welcome you back to the Levin in the near future.
Please let me know and I am very happy to help you with a future reservations
Wishing you all the best

Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    34
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
143
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A very small hotel in a great location. If your looking for that big hotel experience do not go the Levin, but if you are after very personalized service at the highest level then stay at the Levin. The concierge was professional and extremely knowledgable. Every suggestion was spot on from dinning to shopping to transport, etc. The location is great for shopping and eating with great shops and restaurants all within walking distance (10 minutes). Breakfast is standard and surrounding noises heard while in the room can be annoying but overall a great place to stay with a high level of service.. Would go back again..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to look after you whilst you stayed with us.
Our Staff takes genuine interest in ensuring our guest have a pleasurable stay and I`m glad that was provided for you.
We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Have a great day
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the Levin and could not have been more pleased.
Staff super nice and very helpful . They went out of their way to help with a problem we had with our train reservation . Room clean nice bed & linens. Great breakfast and location is steps from Harrod's. I was sckocked at the earlier review compalining about staff, food & taxi. We are very experianced travels and found this hotel to be one of the BEST !!!!
Price is great when compared with any other 5 star hotel in London and the lovely breakfast is an added perk .
Can't wait to go back and stay here again soon .

Room Tip: We stayed in both the back side & front side of hotel and liked both . Front is maybe nice for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I and the whole team are so pleased that you had a good experience at the Levin Hotel. We were so happy that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we met your expectations. I was also glad that you where pleased with our restaurant. We would like you to welcome you back in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at The Levin hotel in Basil Street,Knightsbridge for 2 nights Dec 14/15. We wanted to combine our wedding anniversary and some Christmas shopping. We were really pleased with the hotel,situated in an excellent location, a 2 minute walk from Harrods and all the other Knightsbridge stores,meant we could drop off our shopping and not have to carry everything around with us . Our room was smallish but very nicely decorated. The breakfast of yoghurt, fruit,cereal,croissants was more than adequate. We felt this hotel really was a little gem and would definitely go back. Very pleasant front of house staff, lovely young man who was very helpful .

Room Tip: Rom 32 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback you left on TA from you recent stay at the Levin Hotel.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well
I would be very happy to welcome you back to the Levin in the near future.
Please let me know and I am very happy to help you with a future reservations
Wishing you all the best

Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Overall we found the hotel somewhat over-rated and had expected more from a hotel with such a high ranking on TA. We have stayed in several other 4 and 5 star London hotels and were looking forward to trying The Levin based purely on the reviews it has on TA. Sadly, our room was very disappointing which is a shame as the staff were very good.

We booked a Classic Double room and were given a room at the back of the hotel. The outlook was very disappointing. The window looked straight onto the back of another building with adjacent office windows that had a direct view into the room. As a result we kept the curtains closed almost all the time which made the room feel even more cramped and dark.

The decor and finishings were immaculate, fresh and clean and tastefully done but this could not overcome the small size and darkness of the room. It was not a comfortable stay.

Location was good although with no taxis available at the hotel itself, you have to walk a short distance to the Harrods taxi line which is sometimes very long, so not ideal if you are used to the taxi service at 5 star hotels and are using them all the time to get around the city. Service was good, food at the restaurant was good. Room service breakfast was poor however.

Bed and linen were very good. Bathroom was very clean, well designed and finished so its compact size and absence of a walk in shower was not a problem and it was comfortable to use.

Overall there are aspects of The Levin that are very good but sadly, these were overshadowed for us by a disappointingly small and dark room and the inability to upgrade due to the hotels 12 rooms being fully booked. I am sure that had we had a larger or brighter room, we would have had a better overall experience as the staff seem focussed on ensuring that guests enjoy their stay thus maintaining favourable feedback on TA.

Room Tip: Avoid classic deluxe rooms - they are too small. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed at The Levin twice now, and we plan to stay there again next year. The beds are incredibly comfortable and she linens are extremely soft. The location is truly unbeatable. The neighborhood it is in is quite fun, and the subway stop in just around the corner, so it's quite easy to get anywhere in London.

The staff is what really makes the hotel so great. They are very helpful with recommendations for restaurants or activities. They always ask us where we ended up eating and what we thought of it, so that they'll know if they should recommend it to another guest.

The hotel is pretty expensive, but we always end all of our European trips in London, and it's a nice way to celebrate the end of a vacation and to unwind a back that's tired from spending three weeks sleeping on mattresses that aren't so great.

We have slept in one of the classic rooms and in one of the executive rooms. They are both beautifully decorated, but, in my opinion, the extra space that the executive room offers is worth the extra money. The rooms all have a front door, a very small entry space, and then another door leading to the room that is just as solid as the front door. The result is zero noise from the hall. We always sleep soundly when we stay here.

The rooms are completely spotless. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback you left on TA from you recent stay at the Levin Hotel.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well
I would be very happy to welcome you back to the Levin in the near future.
Please let me know and I am very happy to help you with a future reservations
Wishing you all the best

Harald Duttine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived early (06:00 am) at The Levin and were welcomed in the most amazing way. Though the rooms were not ready yet (all taken), we were invited to have a great breakfast at the beautiful restaurant. Every effort was made to give us a room before our 11:00 meeting (we just landed from a business trip in Ghana to a meeting in London...). The rooms were great, the bath, bed, internet. Can't wait to come back again and enjoy it. The lift (which is an old london style one restored) is a bonus. Wish had knocked on the owners door to thank him in person.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to look after you whilst you stayed with us.
Our Staff takes genuine interest in ensuring our guest have a pleasurable stay and I`m glad that was provided for you.
We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Have a great day
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Levin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levin

Address: 28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in London
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#89 Business Hotel in London
#185 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Levin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated boutique hotel offers all the comforts of home to London's most discerning travelers who crave a hotel with personality and charm. The 12 bedrooms are designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Comfort and style delivered by a team of hotel professionals will ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Levin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Levin Hotel London
Levin Hotel London
Levin London
The Levin London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Levin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.