We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Levin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Levin

Save Saved
You added The Levin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Levin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 1,075 hotels in London
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Levin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location, just mins from Harrods,
This is
a small hotel with only few rooms but great service and nice atmosphere.
The staff is very friendly and we had such a nice time. Definitely where I`m going to stay next time i´m in London.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feed back
We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to hear such good complimentary comments as yours.
Please let us know of any future travels to London and I be very happy to welcome you again
Best regards
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    34
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
143
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Aust
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

For some reason London hasn't been on our radar but sure is now. Nearly drove the wife mad with my spending way to much time reviewing London Hotels for our stay just after the Olympics.

London was part of a nearly 4 week holiday which encompassed France, Italy and England.

The Levin, wow what a find! If it hadn't been for Tripadvisor we probably wouldn't have even stayed there. Do check out their website as Im sure there are special offers for different times of the year.

From the moment of arrival you would seriously feel you had arrived at a relatives or close friends home. The Levin team simply make you feel very welcome even though they would realise you are only a guest in most cases for only a number of days.

As first timers to London and the Levin, it was less than a minute to the Tube and Harrods.
There is no point in reiterating The Levin, all the positive reviews are spot on, great rooms, ultra clean, very modern, very attentive staff (nothing is ever a problem) be it concierge, restaurant, housekeeping. These guys obviously have a great boss which reflects in their willingness to provide a couple of first time Aussies a wonderful introduction to London.

We normally don't use staff names as it sounds like a paid advertisement for a property/hotel, but in this case don't hesitate to ask Graham or Romona any questions on London and if you enjoy great breakfasts, Rob the restaurant manager serves a wonderful English Breakfast as well as a great knowledge of the things to do in London.

Finally the Levin's restaurant The Metro, a local to many, is also very reasonably priced and cosy, a good place to enjoy really nice food and wine with only a walk upstairs to the beautifully appointed rooms. Once again very helpful and friendly staff.

The Levin, great location, very reasonably priced, less than a minute to Harrods, close to Hyde Park, Topshop/ Harvey Nichols.

Thank you Levin a great stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time and writing such a glowing review on trip advisor
I really appreciate all of your comments and I`m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you well.
I will share your comments with all of my team and make sure we will continue our good efforts of customer service.
Do let me know of any future visits to London and I would be delighted to look after your reservation personally
Best regards
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayedthere once. This hôtel si absolutely amazing !!! The staff is extremely helpfull ( they ll do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, even go to the chemist for you ...! )
The rooms are of a good size and the bed as comfy as a cloud.
Price wise it is very reasonable for the district and the quality !

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review from your last stay at the Levin Hotel.

I am very pleased that all went well and my staff looked after you.

I will share your commenst with the team and I look forward welcoming you on your next visit to london.

Have a great day

Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

From arrival to departure the experience of staying at The Levin was wonderful. Warm friendly greeting on arrival, efficient processing!! and shown to the delightful and well equipped room. We soon felt at home. Another warm & friendly welcome in Le Metro Bar for pre dinner drinks including the hotel's own wine - don't be a stick in the mud the Rose is quite amazing. A well prepared and delightfully served meal in Le Metro set us up for our theatre trip.
The room was very comfortable and the sette was well used when looking at the many magazines and books provided - there was also a very spacious bathroom.The next day breakfast was in Le Metro - a wide choice of interesting cereals and breads alongside the cooked to order dishes - sets you up for the day ahead and all the staff take the time to ensure you are heading in the right direction for your exploration of London.
After two nights at The Levin it was sad to leave as we felt we had made many new friends. Small hotels like The Levin can provide that welcoming hospitality that often gets pushed aside with standardisation in large hotels. I suppose I ought to keep The Levin a secret as I will hopefully return on my next trip to London

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Your comments mean a great deal to me and my team, thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.
I am so glad you had a wonderful experience whilst you stayed with us and I`m happy all went well.
Glad you enjoyed the Rose and the breakfast in our Le Metro.
Please let me know of any future visits you may have planned and I be more than happy to help you with a reservation.
Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future

Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent 6 nights at The Levin towards the end of August. We flew in from Australia to heathrow and it was a very easy tube ride on the Piccadilly line directly to Knightsbridge, which is a few minutes walk from the hotel. Staff were immediately welcoming and gave us great recommendations for finding our way around. Very handy for V&A museum and Hyde Park.

Knightsbridge is very busy, excellent if you are interested in very expensive super cars, as around Harrods there are plenty. However the hotel is a haven of tranquility, very quiet and enjoyed excellent nights sleep. The bathroom was spacious with a shower over a bath and quality toiletries.

We had a deluxe room, included a sitting area, and was spacious. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast, nice coffee and Rob even found me some Marmite to enjoy on my toast each morning. Great to have wifi available, but it was a little slow and dropped out requiring you to relogin.

Would happily stay again, when next in London.

Room Tip: Deluxe room has plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your time and great review you put on trip advisor.
It is always such a pleasure to read the reviews our guest leave on trip advisor.
It shows us we all doing a great job and our service is of high standards at all times.
I am so glad all went well on your last stay at the Levin and I`m also pleased that Rob found some special treat for you during breakfast.
I would like you to welcome you back to The Levin on your next trip to London please let me know and I am happy to help you with the reservation.
Wishing you all the best
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is not the place to stay if you want a large, flashy hotel from one of the international chains.

It is just the place to stay if you want a lovely, boutique hotel, in a great location, where the staff makes you feel welcome from the first minute to when you leave.

Two minor complaints. We had trouble getting the WiFi to work, and when it did it was quite slow. The mattress was also a little firmer than I like.

Great location, not two minutes walk from Harrods in a quiet but very pleasant back street in Knightsbridge. Train station around the corner. Cafes and great shopping within minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, General Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing a review from your last stay at the Levin on trip advisor and I am so pleased that all went well and you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am aware of the issue with our Wi-Fi supplier and we still investigating the matter and hopefully we able to upgrade soon in order for a better and quicker service.
The mattress oh well it is a personnel option and sorry y it was not to your liking but I must say most of our guest say that there sleeping very well and the mattresses are very comfortable.
I do hope you will return to The Levin on your next trip to London and if yes please contact me so I can assist you with any reservations you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I finished our European getaway at the Levin in Knightsbridge. We were so pleased with the location (right beside Harrods) and the quality of the hotel. Although we arrived a few hours before check in time, our room was ready and it was lovely. We had a deluxe room, which gave us plenty of room for our four large suitcases. The room was spotless and very nicely decorated. Our rate included breakfast, airport transfers and a voucher either lunch, dinner or afternoon tea in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was lovely, and we had an enjoyable lunch there one day....it's a great place to unwind with a glass of wine at the end of the day. The property was just perfect, and the staff were very friendly, helpful, and very client-oriented. We will definitely return to this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Book at least a deluxe room if you are shopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald D, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am very pleased that you and the rest of your family had a great time whilst staying at the Levin
It was my pleasure to look after you and I`m delighted to read such a great review what will help us to stay in top position
We do hope we can welcome you back to the Levin in the near future
Best Wishes
Harald Duttine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Levin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levin

Address: 28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
#88 Business Hotel in London
#237 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Levin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated boutique hotel offers all the comforts of home to London's most discerning travelers who crave a hotel with personality and charm. The 12 bedrooms are designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Comfort and style delivered by a team of hotel professionals will ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Levin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Levin Hotel London
Levin Hotel London
Levin London
The Levin London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Levin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.