We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fine stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Fielding Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 1,073 hotels in London
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another fine stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our third visit to The Fielding. Even though we were not going to the theatre, for which it is so well placed, we stayed for our London trip because we like it so much. Top floor twin room (stairs) clean and comfortable with adjustable heating and a really superb shower. Friendly and helpful front desk. As I run a small rural B&B (Swan House, Tarrington) I really appreciate not having to eat a full English to get my money's worth - which wouldn't be as good as mine - and I regard the lack of a restaurant at The Fielding is a plus; no pressure to get up, no noise (and it is a blissfully peaceful place for London) and loads of choices just outside the door if you do want to eat early. We will be back.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep to top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for this positive review and it is much appreciated as you are in the same industry and obviously notice the details!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    128
    28
    14
    13
See reviews for
49
129
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip in London.
I was meant to be in a single room but was upgraded to a double.
The hotel was perfect!
The staff were all really helpful & accommodating.
I was on the top floor (no lifts) so if you have mobility problem I would request a ground floor room.
Bed was really comfortable, plenty of fresh towels, sparkling & still water, coffee, hot choc etc all provided.
Room was slightly on the cramped side but I was hardly in it.
Bathroom was good with loads of amenities & the power shower was great!
I would say the room needed a little touch up/coat of paint etc as was looking a little tired.
There was some noise from the surrounding bars etc but as I had long days I fell asleep quite easily & for anyone who is a light sleeper then ear plugs are provided with eye masks.

The hotel offer a free day voucher to use the Nuffield Covent Garden gym round the corner. The gym was brilliant & I attended 4 classes during my stay.

The hotel does not offer food or breakfast but there is so many bars, cafes, shops & restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel- the location is ideal. The hotel is a 4min walk to the tube station.

I would recommend this hotel for business & leisure & I have tried to book for my next 2 business trips in March & May but it is already full :-(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and thank you for all the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serralunga d'Alba, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The location is quite great, few steps from the Covent garden tube station, and few steps from London night life! The hotel is very charming, we didn't see the owner or the manager, but Ananta, the guy we met at the reception and who took care of us, was very kind, professional and smart! The man every manager would like to find !
Thank you Ananta!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a lovely review and the photos are great too! I will pass this on to Ananta who is indeed a little star, many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Preto, Brazil
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Single night on a business trip, cosy creaky hotel in a superb location for theatres, leicester square and covent gardens. Literally just round the corner from the central line tube station, with many options for eating within easy walking distance. I love hotels like this, but be aware that although the room is clean and the bed dreamily comfortable, the room area is not ample and might not appeal to those accustomed to high-end luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here after a trip to Ronnie Scott's and it made for a perfect weekend. The hotel is in a superb position, tucked away in a courtyard area just opposite the Opera House. The lady on reception was lovely, helpful and chatty. We had room 30 on the top floor...a huge bed plus a handy lounge area. The rooms aren't huge but they're plenty big enough for an overnight stay, well furnished and modern. Would definitely stay again...great to walk yards to good pubs and attractions! Apparently you can get some noise from revellers but we didn't hear anything...then again I did use the earplugs provided!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for room 30 if you manage 3 flights of stairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel multiple times from 2004 through to 2011 whilst travelling on business to London (I now live in London). The hotel has no lift so if you have heavy bags or difficulties with stairs this isn't the place to go. They also don't do breakfast but as the are right in the middle of Covent Garden there's no shortage of places to go.

The rooms are clean and bright and surprisingly quiet given the hotel's location. The staff have always been friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel reeked of history in the way that the hallways meandered with varied levels for the rooms. The room we stayed in had its private bathroom down a set of stairs and around the corner. In the Theatre District, the hotel had very good security, with no in-and-out unless one was a guest. We were able to walk to the historical shopping districts and great restaurants, as well as take in several performances at the grand theaters. If you are a fan of monotony in your hotel preferences, where one cannot tell what city one is visiting due to every room being similar, do not stay here. There are no two rooms the same and the staff knows every guest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you...we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality and old world charm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in London
#196 Romantic Hotel in London
#233 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fielding Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fielding Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.