We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Fielding Hotel to your Saves list
The Fielding Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Glasgow
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip in London.
I was meant to be in a single room but was upgraded to a double.
The hotel was perfect!
The staff were all really helpful & accommodating.
I was on the top floor (no lifts) so if you have mobility problem I would request a ground floor room.
Bed was really comfortable, plenty of fresh towels, sparkling & still water, coffee, hot choc etc all provided.
Room was slightly on the cramped side but I was hardly in it.
Bathroom was good with loads of amenities & the power shower was great!
I would say the room needed a little touch up/coat of paint etc as was looking a little tired.
There was some noise from the surrounding bars etc but as I had long days I fell asleep quite easily & for anyone who is a light sleeper then ear plugs are provided with eye masks.

The hotel offer a free day voucher to use the Nuffield Covent Garden gym round the corner. The gym was brilliant & I attended 4 classes during my stay.

The hotel does not offer food or breakfast but there is so many bars, cafes, shops & restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel- the location is ideal. The hotel is a 4min walk to the tube station.

I would recommend this hotel for business & leisure & I have tried to book for my next 2 business trips in March & May but it is already full :-(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and thank you for all the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    137
    29
    14
    13
See reviews for
54
139
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Serralunga d'Alba, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The location is quite great, few steps from the Covent garden tube station, and few steps from London night life! The hotel is very charming, we didn't see the owner or the manager, but Ananta, the guy we met at the reception and who took care of us, was very kind, professional and smart! The man every manager would like to find !
Thank you Ananta!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a lovely review and the photos are great too! I will pass this on to Ananta who is indeed a little star, many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Preto, Brazil
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Single night on a business trip, cosy creaky hotel in a superb location for theatres, leicester square and covent gardens. Literally just round the corner from the central line tube station, with many options for eating within easy walking distance. I love hotels like this, but be aware that although the room is clean and the bed dreamily comfortable, the room area is not ample and might not appeal to those accustomed to high-end luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here after a trip to Ronnie Scott's and it made for a perfect weekend. The hotel is in a superb position, tucked away in a courtyard area just opposite the Opera House. The lady on reception was lovely, helpful and chatty. We had room 30 on the top floor...a huge bed plus a handy lounge area. The rooms aren't huge but they're plenty big enough for an overnight stay, well furnished and modern. Would definitely stay again...great to walk yards to good pubs and attractions! Apparently you can get some noise from revellers but we didn't hear anything...then again I did use the earplugs provided!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for room 30 if you manage 3 flights of stairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel multiple times from 2004 through to 2011 whilst travelling on business to London (I now live in London). The hotel has no lift so if you have heavy bags or difficulties with stairs this isn't the place to go. They also don't do breakfast but as the are right in the middle of Covent Garden there's no shortage of places to go.

The rooms are clean and bright and surprisingly quiet given the hotel's location. The staff have always been friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel reeked of history in the way that the hallways meandered with varied levels for the rooms. The room we stayed in had its private bathroom down a set of stairs and around the corner. In the Theatre District, the hotel had very good security, with no in-and-out unless one was a guest. We were able to walk to the historical shopping districts and great restaurants, as well as take in several performances at the grand theaters. If you are a fan of monotony in your hotel preferences, where one cannot tell what city one is visiting due to every room being similar, do not stay here. There are no two rooms the same and the staff knows every guest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you...we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality and old world charm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Fielding three times now, most recently last week. It is a great value in central London. The rooms are small and plain, but they are clean and comfortable. The hotel is not on a street with traffic, which is a really big deal in London. There is some noise from pedestrians, but compared to the amount of noise most London hotels have from traffic, this is a very quiet hotel. The location can't be beat--you can take the Piccadilly Line direct from Heathrow for next to no money--and it's right in the middle of all the theaters, across the street from the Royal Opera House, and walking distance to a lot of the things you'll want to see. Front desk staff is extremely helpful. If you're looking for huge, glamorous rooms, this is not the place for you, but if you want to be comfortable and near everything without spending a ton of money, you can hardly do better. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: As others have noted, the stairs are steep and narrow, so if stairs are difficult for you, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
#214 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fielding Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fielding Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.