We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, smart staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Fielding Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 1 more site!
The Fielding Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 1,071 hotels in London
Serralunga d'Alba, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, smart staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The location is quite great, few steps from the Covent garden tube station, and few steps from London night life! The hotel is very charming, we didn't see the owner or the manager, but Ananta, the guy we met at the reception and who took care of us, was very kind, professional and smart! The man every manager would like to find !
Thank you Ananta!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a lovely review and the photos are great too! I will pass this on to Ananta who is indeed a little star, many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    114
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
39
118
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ribeirão Preto, Brazil
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Single night on a business trip, cosy creaky hotel in a superb location for theatres, leicester square and covent gardens. Literally just round the corner from the central line tube station, with many options for eating within easy walking distance. I love hotels like this, but be aware that although the room is clean and the bed dreamily comfortable, the room area is not ample and might not appeal to those accustomed to high-end luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here after a trip to Ronnie Scott's and it made for a perfect weekend. The hotel is in a superb position, tucked away in a courtyard area just opposite the Opera House. The lady on reception was lovely, helpful and chatty. We had room 30 on the top floor...a huge bed plus a handy lounge area. The rooms aren't huge but they're plenty big enough for an overnight stay, well furnished and modern. Would definitely stay again...great to walk yards to good pubs and attractions! Apparently you can get some noise from revellers but we didn't hear anything...then again I did use the earplugs provided!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for room 30 if you manage 3 flights of stairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel multiple times from 2004 through to 2011 whilst travelling on business to London (I now live in London). The hotel has no lift so if you have heavy bags or difficulties with stairs this isn't the place to go. They also don't do breakfast but as the are right in the middle of Covent Garden there's no shortage of places to go.

The rooms are clean and bright and surprisingly quiet given the hotel's location. The staff have always been friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel reeked of history in the way that the hallways meandered with varied levels for the rooms. The room we stayed in had its private bathroom down a set of stairs and around the corner. In the Theatre District, the hotel had very good security, with no in-and-out unless one was a guest. We were able to walk to the historical shopping districts and great restaurants, as well as take in several performances at the grand theaters. If you are a fan of monotony in your hotel preferences, where one cannot tell what city one is visiting due to every room being similar, do not stay here. There are no two rooms the same and the staff knows every guest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you...we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality and old world charm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Fielding three times now, most recently last week. It is a great value in central London. The rooms are small and plain, but they are clean and comfortable. The hotel is not on a street with traffic, which is a really big deal in London. There is some noise from pedestrians, but compared to the amount of noise most London hotels have from traffic, this is a very quiet hotel. The location can't be beat--you can take the Piccadilly Line direct from Heathrow for next to no money--and it's right in the middle of all the theaters, across the street from the Royal Opera House, and walking distance to a lot of the things you'll want to see. Front desk staff is extremely helpful. If you're looking for huge, glamorous rooms, this is not the place for you, but if you want to be comfortable and near everything without spending a ton of money, you can hardly do better. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: As others have noted, the stairs are steep and narrow, so if stairs are difficult for you, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last Christmas for a treat for the children and were very pleased with the "shabby chic-ness" of this friendly little hotel and it's great location. We decided to go back again this year and paid £216 for a night in the family room.The staff were as friendly as ever but when we went up to the room, we found water leaking through the ceiling onto the dressing table. We were concerned as it was dripping through a light fitting. We reported the fault and were told that the maintenance man would be out to fix it as soon as possible. On returning several hours later, we were told that we were still waiting for the maintenance man. We cleared away the water and made sure none of our stuff was on the dressing table and also that the table lamp on the table was turned off at the plug. The ceiling was soaked and there was considerable staining. We reported the fault again and asked if it was safe as we had children sleeping in that room. We were told that the maintenance man would let us know. On returning later in the evening, we enquired again as to if it was safe and were told that the maintenance man would not be coming until tomorrow. As this was the day we were leaving, it was of no use to us whatsoever. No-one could tell me if the light fitting was disconnected although we were told that the shower from the room upstairs was leaking. This was obviously a fault that the hotel knew about. I was very disappointed in the way that this was dealt with, although appearing concerned about this issue, the staff did not do anything about it and I had to go to reception 3 times. Even if the elusive maintenance man couldn't be tracked down, simply having an assurance that the proximity of water and electricity would be safe in the room where my children were, would have sufficed. However, we were simply fobbed off with polite smiles and there was nothing they could do as there were no spare rooms.We didn't sleep well as we were worried about the fault. We paid hard earned cash for the room and I think possibly the staff have forgotten that customer safety is paramount in a hotel.We shall not be visiting here again.

Room Tip: Don't go in room 10 until they have fixed the leak
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London, England
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#278 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fielding Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fielding Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.