We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended =)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alhambra Hotel to your Saves list
Alhambra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommended =)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location is superb, it is just right opposite of St. Pancras station and Kings Cross Station which connects you to national rail, underground tubes and even Eurostar. I got a basement room but surprisingly quite comfy. The room is quite small but cosy and clean. The only down part is the noise level of upper floors. The breakfast served was simple but nice. Staffs are helpful. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: if possible not the basement rooms, it is usually quite noisy especially morning when other guests c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    630
    148
    43
    26
See reviews for
299
479
159
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent enjoyable12 days at the Alhambra . I had stayed there before at the recommendation of a friend. Although small, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast excellent with great, helpful staff. Could have done with a hand rail on the stairs. Proximity to the station and food shops helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A very comfortable stay for my elderly parents. Staff were very kind and considerate and the beds even had sheets and blankets! Breakfast excellent and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The hotel is very well placed just a few hundred yards from St Pancras International, so great for trips to and from Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Alhambra as the price, for London, was reasonable and the location is right across the street from the tube so it is so easy to get around. The room was very clean, , and the staff were helpful. The breakfast was good though their coffee and OJ could both use improvement. Ask for a back facing room as the street, though interesting, is noisy in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street, at least those on the street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel to stay in. Very central and quite road just across Kingscross Station so one can get around very easily and stay out late at night.
Staff very friendly and polite both at reception and at breakfast. They serve a very good English or continental breakfast with a big pot of coffee/tea. Room always cleaned everyday with new towels.
Although we had to check out by 11.00 they kept our bags in the hotel until we needed to leave, leaving my husband and myself take a last tour around London comfortably.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good room. I paid 100 gbp for a room with private bath and shower. Clean and friendly. But what a location! Right across from a new gem (at least for me): THE St. Pancrass station with magazine restaurants and bars. Just walk across the road. thetube will ger you anywhere. Good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean, but the rooms are tiny and there is no air conditioning. The windows do not open either, so you are stuck in pretty muggy conditions when it's warm. Breakfast is filling, especially if you take the English breakfast. Staff is couteous and helpful. The WiFi, however, is terrible;as slow as dial up, if you remember what that was.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. As a family business for over 40 years, it really means a lot to us. We are glad you have enjoyed the English Breakfast and you found our staff friendly and attentive.
We are sorry if you found the rooms small but we offer a LOCATION second to none. Unfortunately, rooms tend to be small in central London Hotels.
Since your comments, we have looked at the window and basically it was closed with the lock.
Finally with the WI-FI, we are introducing a faster and more reliable service very soon.
Again my sincere apologies.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
#253 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhambra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.