We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alhambra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 1,075 hotels in London
York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another fab stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2nd time at hotel in the main hotel this time in a twin bedroom which was reasonably set out with coffee making facilities, wardrobe, tv & ensuite bathroom! Had a nice full English breakfast with plenty of toast, spreads etc. We were very grateful to Sylvia & the owners for accommodating us changing our booking due to a personal emergency. Would happily stay here again as ideal for not having to take cases on tube when arriving at Kings Cross & they let you leave/collect your cases later! Well done again Alhambra!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    581
    142
    38
    24
See reviews for
269
443
149
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We (my husband and our 4 teenage children) stayed at Alhambra whilst visiting London this half term. We stayed 2 nights and booked after my husband and I had previously stayed in July for one night to go to a concert in Hyde Park. We booked it then on good recommendation from Trip Advisor reviews and we were really pleased we did.
This visit was just as high standard, we were remembered from last stay too!

From ease of booking, welcome on check in, speed of check in, room cleanliness (all three rooms we booked looked like they had just been redecorated that week! Spotless - Not even a spec of mildew on a shower seal!)

So close to Kings Cross station too - straight across the road from Costa coffee, down the side of the Library and you're there - 2 minutes it takes us! No having to cart cases onto tube or taxi to get to another part of the city. This is good when you're leaving too, as they will look after your case once you've checked out and because its so close to Kings Cross you are able to plan your last day right to the final 10 minutes before your train home - excellent!

Warm rooms, comfortable beds and pillows. Tea, coffee and milk a plenty. Soap, shower gel, hairdryer. Free WiFi. TV. Good lighting. Plenty plug sockets. Enough wardrobe and cupboard space. Safety box.
Really good english breakfast, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble, good selection of cereals for 2 of our girls who don't 'do' full cooked breakfast!

Pro's:
*A skip from Kings Cross station. Means you don't have to cart your suitcase far if you're initially arriving by train. They will keep your case free of charge after check out too.
*Friendly and small enough to feel like you're being put up by family, you feel your custom is valued
*Spotless rooms, with uber clean fresh shower rooms. Modern reception area and quirky/welcoming interior.
*Very reasonably priced when compared to other good hotels
*Very safe and secure feeling (24 hour manned reception) especially for families and when its necessary to have young teenagers etc in a separate room
*Lovely hearty breakfasts with good selection of food and drink. (Our girls said the hot chocolate was the best they'd had!)

Cons:

*Non that we experienced on either stay

In a nutshell, we would not look to book anywhere else on our subsequent visits to the capital. Hopefully we will always manage to squeeze in to this lovely hotel?!
Thank you Alhambra Team

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, West Yorkshire,UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

First thing's first. The location of the Ahambra is great if you're coming from (or going to) St. Pancras or Kings Cross stations. It's literally a five minute walk, even with luggage. Just cross the road, and you're almost there. The room - in the annex, across the road from the main hotel - was very clean, well looked after, and comfortable. The bathroom, again, very clean and tidy. Both rooms were quite small, but this is the middle of London, and you have to pay big money for space! It reminded me of a very high class university hall of residence - small, but then you're unlikely to want to spend a lot of time in the room when you have the whole of London to explore. One thing to note if you have mobility problems is that there's no lift in the annex (not sure about the main building)' and it's over 4 floors.

Reception was good - very polite and friendly, and extremely efficient. Likewise, breakfast was excellent. Good quality ingredients (excellent sausage!), quick service, and - again - very clean and tidy.

Considering where the hotel is, it was very quiet at night, and the bed was very comfortable.

Overall, recommended unreservedly if you ever need to stay in London - particularly if, for example, you've got an early Eurostar departure!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for 1 night before catching the Eurostar. The hotel is in a great location for St Pancras station being just a few minutes walk.
Apart from the main building, this hotel has 2 buildings opposite and our room was in one of these. We had a twin room but this room should really only have a double bed, as one of the single beds is right accross the bathroom door and you need to turn sideways to get in and out of the bathroom.
The room in general was not huge, but for one night was perfectly adequate.
The lady on reception was very pleasant and helpful on our arrival. Unfortuntely we had an early train so were unable to take advantage of breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place was picked for us when we went to a wedding in London. And the location alone makes it the perfect choice!
The room was tiny, but not the smallest I've ever seen - more than enough space to put luggage for 2 persons for a 3-night stay (and a week's luggage wouldn't have been a prob, either).
Bathroom even tinier, but fully functional (and hint for all the others: I have a toothbrush holder with a suction-thingie that sticks to the mirror).
The hallways and stairs are extremely narrow, glad we had small-ish cases.
Breakfast - good enough. Decent English breakfast, good start of the day, lasts some hours.
The staff was friendly, the place was clean, the service was good. To be recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the other building on the other side of the street. We had a ground floor room, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel wouldn't be out of place in the suburbs of Paris or Rome and yet was only a minute away from Kings Cross. The room was clean and bright, the staff genuinely welcoming and it was peaceful enough to ensure a good night's sleep prior to an early start.Didn't get to try the breakfast as we were moving on to the nearby UCL hospital for surgery, but heard that the breakfast was good. Would definitely visit again especially as the daily rate was amazing for a central London hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about stairs when you book - rooms on the top floor need you to have sturdy legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I picked this place based on its location. Super close to King's Cross and St. Pancreas Station. Only a 5 minute walk to Euston Station. Between those stations you can pretty much go anywhere in London. Or take the Eurostar to Paris, Brussels, etc.

I had a single ensuite. The room was teeny-tiny, almost comically small but it was very clean and everything looked fresh and new. They have a lot of nice little amenities - safe, TV, free wifi, coffee and tea maker.

The breakfast was nice too. You can have either continental or English. I had English both times. It was very good and extremely filling. The staff was very nice during my whole stay.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Hotel Style:
#105 Best Value Hotel in London
#214 Business Hotel in London
#216 Family Hotel in London
#259 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhambra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.