We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless clean and friendly at a fab price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruskin

Save Saved
You added Ruskin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruskin
23-24 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #458 of 1,075 hotels in London
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spotless clean and friendly at a fab price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After looking around for a room for myself, my partner and son, I found The Ruskin on trip advisor. It was one of only 3 places that I could find that let a 15 year old share a room. I read the other reviews and thought for the price offered we would give it a try.

I was very apprehensive as we have not stayed in many hotels over the years as we normally camp.

We arrived late which was not a problem. The owner gave us a local map showing where the hotel and tourist attractions were, took payment, gave us the room key and told us the wifi password and breakfast arrangements. We were in room 102 from where we could still use the wifi. It was newly decorated and had a double bed, single bed, double wardrobe, desk, sink, kettle and hair dryer. There were two large windows which faced the side of the British Museum (well worth a visit and free entry). There was a toilet straight across from the room and a shower room with another toilet next door to this. Both bathrooms were newly fitted out and newly tiled and both were also spotlessly clean. The bedroom and beds were all immaculately clean and very comfortable.

Breakfast is served in the basement and is cooked to order. If you want more than one egg, slice of bacon or sausage just ask. Along with the cooked english breakfast there are cereals, fruit juice, tea, coffee and toast.

The location is great as it is an easy walk to theatre land and Covent Garden and is also close to the tube and is on a bus route.

All staff were pleasant, polite and helpful.

We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor can access the wifi still. The lift was out of order when we went and may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    63
    28
    8
    12
See reviews for
28
34
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pristina, Kosovo
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not 4-star or 5-star by any means; the elevator didn't work, the stairway was narrow & cramped, the bedroom was tiny, and the bathroom, er, loo was a communal affair as opposed to having an indivdual bathroom connected to the bedroom.

Still, consdering that I planned my London trip (October-November 2011) at the spur of the moment and on a tight budget, I still got more than my money's worth. Conveniently across the street from the British Museum, a short walk from the Russell Square Tube station, pleasant neighborhood, friendly staff, qaint and comfortable lobby, courtesous staff, and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

i phoned the hotel to say i'd be late with 2 of my kids (11pm) the receptionist was very polite and helpful, he just said ring the bell.
on arrival door was answered straight away, and staff were very helpful, we stayed in a 3 bedded room which was very big and had comfy beds, wardrobes and a sink, direct dial telephone and leather chairs.... No tv in our room,
we had a shared bathroom which we knew before we came, Shower was nice and constant hot and clean.
we wasnt going to bother with breakfast which is included in price, but glad we did, as it was well cooked and tasty (fully English) and you could have cereal, tea, coffee , fresh juice too, all in the price of the room... Again the staff were very friendly.
we checked out at 12 noon, with quick key deposit box..
would i stay here again .... YES
would i recommend hotel ..YES
it's a good base hotel, about 10 mins walk from Euston Station (Main hub),, and hotel is great for a base to go out an explore London all within walking distance if you dont want to take tube..
there is also a bike rental depot 50 yards from hotel for cheap bike hire, with many bike hubs across city for 1 way hire.
if i return to London i'd prob stay here for the price they give, why pay a lot more to sleep the same.
only down side was the weather .. lol

Room Tip: rooms are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for a week whilst visiting friends in London. We had a double room with a shared bathroom (right next door) and really loved being in the centre of London. It's about 3 blocks walk to the tube (Piccadilly and central lines) with easy connections. There is a supermarket and laundromat also a few blocks away. It was inexpensive with daily servicing of rooms and was very clean. The room next to the toilet was a bit noisy but for the price it was fine. Breakfast is a winner, toast, cereals, tea, coffee and bacon/eggs/beans/tomato/sausages. Staff were polite and helpful and wifi was available downstairs. A good find!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Ruskin is a beautiful old building in Bloomsbury, the opposite of the dull corporate box. The staff are incredibly friendly & helpful, finding my partner's mislaid gold watch in a shared bathroom & returning it to her promptly.
Breakfast is a proper feast to set you up for a day's business or leisure, cooked to order plus the usual cereals & fruit juices, which would cost an extra 6 or 7 quid at a chain hotel. If you want modern decor, TV sets in every room or wipeable formica, you won't like the Ruskin, but if you want Georgian charm, original features and great views of a private square from the back windows, the Ruskin will suit you to a tee.
All areas are very clean, even if the decor is worn. We will now use The Ruskin as our pied a terre in town.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back overlook a beautiful private square populated with sculptures
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Arrived at the front door and couldnt get in to start with, left our bag with the hotel as room wasnt ready. Was given a cell size room which was cold even after we had turned on the heating. Room was right next to the shared shower room which was in use from 5.45 am, even when shower wasnt being used the extractor fan came on which was all on the same wall as our bed, Cheap yes, good position yes, but would rather have spent the extra £30 and spent the night in the hotel round the corner. As for breakfast???? didnt want to risk it.

Room Tip: Dont bother pay the extra and get comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location (beside British Museum), friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms. It's certainly not luxurious (spartan rooms, shared bathrooms), but so clean that that doesn't seem to matter. I completely agree with the reviewer who said, "You won't find better value in this area" -- or, I would add, anywhere else in London. The hotel is being updated fast, so the bargain that it is may not last. But I'm keeping my fingers crossed. I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bathrooms, and the door to each floor, will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruskin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin

Address: 23-24 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Ruskin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London
Ruskin London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruskin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.