We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purl London

Purl London
50-54 Blandford Street, London W1U 7HX, England
020 7935 0835
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,813 of 16,892 restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On Blandford Street in London, Purl is a trendy and opulent bar offering great cocktails in a Georgian basement space. There is live jazz piano music every Monday night at Purl London.Cosy and eclectic, the interior features exposed brickwork, vintage-style leather sofas and cosy cellar cove booths with glamorous chandeliers. Full of character, Purl London has low ceilings, soft lighting and unique design.With creative, inventive flavours, the sumptuous cocktails include their signature cocktail 'Mr Hydes' containing a blend of Ronzacapa Rhum, home made cola syrup and chocolate bitters. There is a piano room and intimate seating, creating a warm and inviting ambience.In Marylebone, Purl London specialises in innovative cocktails served in sumptuous surroundings. Bond Street and Baker Street Tube Stations are within easy reach.Reservations recommended through the website. Venue hire available.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fun little bar with quirky cocktails which would not ever taste elsewhere. Good speakeasy atmosphere and music to suit. Enjoyed the drinks

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    21
    16
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“An experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was invited here by colleagues and had no idea what type of venue this is.

The bar is located in a rustic basement, not easy to find unless you know where you are going. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, if you are interested in cocktails then this is a place for you.

As for the cocktails, well I leave that for you to find out........

Not a place that I would come back to often but a visit is definitely recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place, didn't like the cocktails!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A few of us went here on a Friday night. The place is beautiful, really gorgeous and what you'd expect for this speakeasy type bar. The staff were also really good. But it was the drinks that let it down. This is just my opinion but the drinks were just awful, really really strong and quite small for the price. All the drinks were quite experimental which is great but they just didn't have the taste to back it up. It was definitely an experience and I'd love to go back if they just had better cocktails!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Loose shoelaces...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I like a laugh as much as the next person, but the website makes out that you will be *extremely* fortunate to obtain a reservation. The online booking says sold out. With some trepidation, you reach for the phone, prime your chat and angle, two hours out, for one of the much sought-after bookings. With breathy benevolence, the receptionist tells me I can be accommodated for just one hour. Phew. Hurdle one has been managed. On arrival, the gormless door operative does not have my prize reservation noted but with a 'just this once' acquiescence, beckons us down the stairs whereupon, and I jest not, the establishment is not even half full. Is this serious?
A dozy and languid bargirl takes forever to conjure up elementary drinks in a bar with no customers. The other 4 bar staff loiter. It's £10 per unit. The kitchen door rests open, revealing a tired interior and throwing jarring light across the otherwise elegant and flatteringly lit bar. Bygone era music at just the right temperature delicately completes the picture and delivers a slightly antiquated yet warm feel.
Would I go again? Maybe. I struggle to think of other cities in the world that would run such a deluded reservation system, seemingly designed to maintain an empty and thereby less characterful atmosphere. Really quite annoying.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ambient drinking dive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited Purl for an after dinner cocktail. Dark and dingy setting, very cool, perhaps trying to be a bit too cool. The cocktail menu was weird and wacky, each drink served with an interesting aside. My margherita arrived with a smoked moustache, my partners old fashioned with some ale ice cream. Staying for more then one or two drinks is likely to break the bank somewhat but a nice experience for a special occasion.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purl London also viewed

 

Been to Purl London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purl London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.