We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's Cross Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added King's Cross Hotel to your Saves list
King's Cross Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   60 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #375 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had 2 nights here. Good location for public transport, restaurants and close to Covent garden. The room was small but adequate for a short stay. Bathroom tiny but clean but very poor hot water system meaning one case of scalded feet. Breakfast was very basic but enough for our needs. The stairs are a big problem especially if you have luggage which luckily we didn't, however we understand the layout of these old buildings and stairs are unavoidable. The staff here were delightful, very friendly and keen to help you out or have a chat. We would stay here again if we required access to st pancras station but only for a short stay.

Room Tip: Don't take a large suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    24
    29
    52
See reviews for
21
52
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in room 8. The room is very small but comfortable and clean with a bouble bed. Ensuite is ok but the shower water temp is unpredictable. The room is hot at night so expect that everywhere without air con. Breakfast served was ok.Location is close to transport and eating houses. Quiet location. Not recommended for long stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If your looking for a hotel with easy access to Kings Cross then this is perfect.

If you are also looking for the following then King Cross hotel is the place for you:
The huge pile of rubbish and rubble sacks that were out of my window.
The leak from the shower in the room above dripping onto the laminate floor in the early hours of the morning. I alerted the staff and they didn't even apologise. Clearly it had been a problem previously as there were existing watermarks on the ceiling.
The window blind was a thin piece of muslin.
Zero sound insulation in the walls, floors or doors so was woken up early.
The breakfast was terrible - The only hot options were beans, fried eggs and white toast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I guess this place survives by virtue of its location, but it is otherwise pretty dreadful. I'm not convinced that the sheets on my bed had been changed. The complete menu of the "continental breakfast" was: fried eggs, baked beans, and toast. Instant coffee (self-service). The baked beans were also half-cold...

Looking at the positives, at least I don't ever have to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the king cross hotel is a small hotel on a quiet side road near kings cross station and is not far from the west end it is clean but there the good stuff ends we where in room no 6 on the first floor the so small you could not walk round together one off you had to sit on bed so the other person could get in the loo, in the loo you had sit side wards on the sit so you close the door,now we came to the breakfast was told it was continental breakfast but what got was one spoon full of baked beans one fried egg and two round of toast at the cost of one hundred and twenty nine pounds for the two of use i know it is london but that is being ripped off big time

Room Tip: i do not think there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends went to stay for couple of night, brilliant service we got everything we asked for, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Also a perfect location the tube station within 5 minutes walk, nice area :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. £110 for the night (shocking!). Supposed to be a double room but v small double bed wedged against the wall on one side and a wardrobe on the other would have made for an uncomfortable night. My room was on the front in the basement with a large window just below street level whic made me a bit uneasy.

Generally speaking, it is clean and the bathroom was surprisingly good - seemed recently refrubished with powerful shower.

All in all, it's ok, but for this price I would expect more. I wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cross Hotel

Address: 60 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — King's Cross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Budget Places, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your King's Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King's Cross Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Cross Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.