We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequately average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's Cross Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Cross Hotel to your Saves list
King's Cross Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   60 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8ER, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 542 London B&B and Inns
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adequately average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. £110 for the night (shocking!). Supposed to be a double room but v small double bed wedged against the wall on one side and a wardrobe on the other would have made for an uncomfortable night. My room was on the front in the basement with a large window just below street level whic made me a bit uneasy.

Generally speaking, it is clean and the bathroom was surprisingly good - seemed recently refrubished with powerful shower.

All in all, it's ok, but for this price I would expect more. I wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    27
    32
    55
See reviews for
22
57
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute as we decided to stay in London. We had room 6 which is a twin room. The room was spotless and the decor was good. Read other reviews and yes the bathroom is tiny, but for one night it is fine. We had fresh towels and soap supplied. Breakfast was cereal, eggs, beans and toast (as much as you like, including unlimited tea and coffee). We only paid £50 for the room and have no complaints. Razza on reception was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble so he deserves a special mention.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The whole stay was a complet disaster! I booked this room to meet up with a friend who came to visit from Norway. We decided to meet up in London . She stayed in a different hotel for the same price (£90) and it was a lovely room. My partner and I weren't do lucky. Our bed actually smellt dirty. The door/ window that opens up to a pill of garbage. No wify reception in the bedroom unless you stand behind the door by the toilet. Bathroom so small 2 people can't use it and no room whatsoever to put any toiletries. No blinds to protect from morning day light (I had to use my coat to cover the window) So noisy as located downstairs and everyone who goes down to breakfast passes by it,noisy ceiling stairs, no noise isolation from the door whatsoever. I actually left my details to the staffs so the owner could contact me and make this right but no one as bother to do so. They obviously don't care as their business is making and bad reviews does not bother them.Its all about taken your money and off you go. Don't bother with breakfast unless upu like mouldy jam ! Dreadful hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Pleasantly surprised as it was obvious that the room we stayed in had recently been refurbished. Although the room and facilities were compact everything was very clean. The only problem I had was that there was not bedside lamp as I do like to read before sleeping. The man on reception was friendly and efficient and they also had someone at the desk all night. As we had to leave by 6.30 we were too early for breakfast so cannot comment.

The hotel is ideally placed close to Kings Cross and St Pancreas yet far enough away from the Euston Road so we did not hear traffic noise. Very good value for one nights stay but most probably the room is too small for a longer stay

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I've only stayed in one hotel worse than this. Sleeping on a bench may be on a par. The sheets at least looked clean but I wouldn't have used the shower. The reception guy was pleasant enough but the cleanliness of the general parts of the room were not great. There was no soap or plug in the bathroom. We only stayed here due to a cock up by Expedia on our hotel next door. Still you can't expect much in London for sixty quid and it was at least amusing in a fawlty towers kind of way. Although I hope we haven't caught anything

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The room is okay but there are stain on the bed sheet. The carpet on the floor looks dirty and a rusted shower head.

Good location as it is located within walking distance to King's cross st pancras station. Plenty of food choices as there are many restaurants around.

Reception is helpful as they let us keep our luggage in the hotel before our train time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is not a hotel. It is a place where you get a bed in a small room. The toilet and shower is so small that your have to have the door open while using it. Otherwise you can't turn around. The walls are very thin so you can enjoy conversations between all other hotel guests.

This is not worth 75 GBP.

Earplugs is a most.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cross Hotel

Address: 60 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 542 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — King's Cross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your King's Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King's Cross Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Cross Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.