We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here. Sleep on the street instead.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leigh House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Leigh House Hotel to your Saves list
Leigh House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Leigh Street, London WC1H 9EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here. Sleep on the street instead.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

After booking and paying online, traveled for 5 hours got to my hotel eventually where I was told I was too early for check in so dragged my 6 bags up steep tight stairs with no help at all (I'm a 5 ft female and there was a male at reception sat watching), came back down to be asked before my foot even hit the bottom step did I want to pay by cash or card???? Excuse me what??? I've paid already for this overpriced S*** hole, after arguing for a while I realised I had no other option and after already paying to just "reserve my room" there was no point paying even more again somewhere else at such short notice, so lucky I had someone who could email them their bank details for a second payment I still don't fully understand. My room was about 500 degrees and the shower about as warm as the North Pole and it also leaked, the plug sockets at the other side of the room which was not helpful when it came to setting an alarm. Made myself a coffee in the morning to find white lumps coming out the kettle. Probably would of been better off sleeping in a tent in a park, and a lot more better off.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
3
19
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Rooms are small but nice and clean and well decorated. Shower room clean but shower not very hot. Short walk away from euston station. No area to meet up in. More guest house than hotel but good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

we only stayed here for 1 nite and we could not fault it.it was nice and clean the staff were friendly. we got to the hotel a couple of hours before checking but they let us get in our room and leave our cases.breakfast the next day was faultless fresh fruit juices cereals and a full English with endless toast all included in the price. would def recommend this hotel and will be staying here again so handy to kingscross and st pancrias tube stations an all round great experience

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's equidistant between Russell Square and KX St Pancras stations, near lots of places to eat and drink. Room 11, though at the top of the building and 3 flights of narrow, steep stairs (wouldn't want to do this with a lot if luggage. If you have mobility issues, stay somewhere else!), has a window you can open (though you need to prop it open with something - I used a cup, handily provided) and a radiator that responds immediately to changing the dial. A major bugbear I have with many hotels is their 'mood' lighting which is seldom placed near a mirror. Not so this room. Great!but, don't touch the over- bed lights after they've been on a bit as they get red hot!
Shower is hot, room was clean, there was tea/coffee, hair dryer, tv, fan. The bed was ok for one but prob cosy for two and not the most comfy.
Pleasant staff, acceptable if unimaginative breakfast. At £238 for 1 person for 2 nights b&b it's not a bargain but sometimes you've got to take what you can get and you get something that's ok.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner need somewhere close to tubes etc just for one night to watch the football and this was a good find! We paid £119 for a double and I think this is a good price for the location. Yes the rooms are a bit on the small side but if your out and about can't see why this matters. The room was clean had a nice comfy bed and a good shower. In the morning we went down for breakfast which was included in the price and that was good too.. A cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee fruit juices and the staff and breakfast were very friendly. Overall what more could u ask for for that price!!! Reading other peoples comments make me chuckle they pay budget price and expect the ritz!!!!!! And some saying cooked breakfast to small... Well 1 sausage, 1 bacon, egg, tomato, beans and toast is plenty...again paying budget and expecting a gourmet breakfast! :) I work in a 4 star hotel and am a bit fussy.... But this place does exactly what it says on the tin and I had no complaints and would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's within a stone's throw of some of London's best attractions - Bloomsbury, British Museum, etc. as well as being handy for transport links. As some of the other reviews say, the rooms are a touch small but if you're not out there making the most of London then you're doing something wrong! They're clean, tidy, and the staff are friendly and knowledgable so I'd recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Avoid booking at this hotel, unless you must sleep under the stars. Location is good, staff is friendly, but management greedy. The hotel is clean, though bits and pieces of repair are needed, plumbery etc. The big problem is that it is (very) bad value: within a circle of 100m, adjacent Cartwright gardens, excellent value hotels are available, spacy, attractive reception, atmospheric, nice breakfast rooms with a view, while Leigh House all lacks these and is probably 2x too expensive, maybe more. I usually stay nearby and the comparison is strikingly at the disadvantage of Leigh House. The unfortunate thing was that the Leigh House booking system and clever ‘discommunication’ trapped me and that there was no time to look for an alternative because of work. Spend your money better!

Room Tip: I only know a room without a view, clean, but repairs in the small bathroom needed. The area is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leigh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leigh House Hotel

Address: 1 Leigh Street, London WC1H 9EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leigh House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Leigh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leigh House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leigh House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.