We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Form trumps function” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eccleston Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eccleston Square Hotel to your Saves list
Eccleston Square Hotel
37 Eccleston Square, London SW1V 1PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Seattle
1 review
“Form trumps function”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's niche is techno which it has in spades
Unfortunately other more usual and useful aspects of hotel experience rarely exceed average
They promote an exceptional sleeping experience - even piping ambient white noise into the rooms. However, asking for the advertised firm pillows got us just two more ordinary very soft pillows with no explanation for thier inability to meet expectations that they themselves set.
Too many other hotel choices to consider staying here again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    29
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
56
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel offers so much from the picturessnd previous reviews however my stop started on a bad note which I think ruins your whole experience with a place. I travel to London regularly for both business and pleasure. This however is my first and last time at eccleston square hotel. This is for one reason only and that is the front desk. They seem very, how csn I say it. Not with it. They sent me with the bell boy to the top floor supposedly to take me to my room only to find they had checked me into a room someone else (another guest) was staying in. For this reason alone I will never stay in such an average 5* hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Patrick at Concierge when we arrived was fantastic. Could not have asked for a better mannered person, he had great knowledge of everything and was overly helpful. As we as this Christina was very helpful prior to the stay as she helped decorate the room and assisted in putting extra items in there to make our stay wonderful. Overall the whole stay was incredible.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose it for the central location. The hotel came up when I did a search of 4* plus hotels close to the indigO2 where we were attending a concert but it turned out to be a couple of tube rides away (should have known better having lived in London before). Huge plus was it was walking distance from Victoria Station. I liked the room and gadgets/ mod cons but my husband really couldn't get over the small size. Other reviewers had mentioned this but it was still a shock to him. There was literally only enough room just greater than the width of a bedside cabinet on either side of the bed. We ate out both nights we were there so couldn't comment on the food.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower Peninsula, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good central and quiet location with no traffic noise. Staff very efficient and friendly. High tech spec. Fantastic comfortable bed. Bathroom very small but well equiped.Enjoyed a good lunch and breakfast the following morning. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a King size room if booking as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Bedfordshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let down by Sunday morning experience breakfast experience, no table ready, little food available, slow service. Tea tray not taken away after room cleaned. Lovely bed, great technology, very friendly staff.




Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed the upscale modern design of the rooms. The rooms are spotlessly clean and calm, with thoughtful touches like blackout curtains that you can adjust from the bedside controls. The staff is pleasantly professional. The bathrooms are small, but the shower has good pressure & settings.

The room size is what you would expect for a city hotel. The first time, I stayed in a small room that would have been cramped for a couple. Next time I stayed in a larger room that was pretty spacious. If room size is important to you, maybe get the bigger room. (As a single traveller I actually preferred the smaller room.)

Location is in a nice, quiet neighborhood. There are nice cafes, restaurants, and delis within a very short walk. You can also walk to Westminster, the Thames, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front look out on a lovely little neighborhood park. The rooms in the basement are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eccleston Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eccleston Square Hotel

Address: 37 Eccleston Square, London SW1V 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Londons most high-tech hotel, Eccleston Square Hotel is a luxury, boutique Design Hotel bordering Belgravia in the heart of Central London SW1 and is within easy reach of the Victoria travel hub. It is a stylish urban cocoon with a timeless and modern design, and cutting-edge technology in every room. Room features include: Hästens electronically adjustable beds, 46" 3D TV's with Sky 3D and complimentary 3D movie library, I-pad 2's in every room, smart glass bathroom walls, Occitane aromatherapy products, tropical rainfall shower, in each room, electronically operated black out blinds/curtains, fair priced minibar and Nespresso coffee machine in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Eccleston Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eccleston Square Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eccleston Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.