We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, pity about some of the staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Paddington to your Saves list
Hilton London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Free Wifi
Ranked #395 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Dublin Ireland
1 review
“nice hotel, pity about some of the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

While the room, location and services were very good, I found some of these factors were over-shadowed by the performance (or lack there of) of some staff members. Upon arrival, the check in clerk was very abrupt and unhelpful and little attention was given to us, and indeed other people, in the restaurant. Overall, the Hilton Paddington is good value for the quality of hotel and convenience but do not expect service with a smile.

  • Liked — the location and room
  • Disliked — some of the staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    972
    340
    140
    80
See reviews for
323
594
284
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

great hotel in a great location. rooms are a good size and clean. I've stayed here several times. All the rooms i've been in were quite. The convenients of being close to the heathrow express and the paddington bus stop should not be underestimated. Great hotel especially if you can get a special discount rate from some of the websites.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff are typical Londoners..apathy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

I've stayed at the Paddington Hilton 2-3 times per year since it opened. The only real reason to stay here is its proximity to trains to the west (including the Heathrow Express) and the underground -- it is literally upstairs from Paddington station. In the station you can find quite a few restaurants and shops, including a liquor store and a grocery store. This is particularly handy if you want to avoid minibar charges and the extensive, but expensive, breakfast buffet (20 pounds).

The hotel was a purpose-built a few years ago, so everything is generally clean and in good condition, however the hotel is starting to show some signs of wear. For example, the minibar in my room was broken and empty. (That's probably a good thing, given the prices they charge!) Additionally, the machine at the front desk that programs room keys was broken, so every guest had to be escorted to the room by a valet with a master key. (Security-wise, they did not ask to see ID, so but in retrospect that woul have made the situation much more aggravating with the additional waiting time.)

Because of its location of the hotel and design, few rooms have a view. Most look onto large central light wells or office buildings, but they did a good job on the lighting.

Other comments on the room: the internet connection in the room (also expensive at 15 pounds) was unreliable during peak hours (when people wake up and when people get back from their day out). The TV selections were basic, nothing too exciting. The bathroom is large, but had poor ventilation. Fortunately the mirror is heated, so I didn't have to clear steam from it before shaving.

Like many european hotels, the king size beds are, yes, two small beds pushed together. In a disappointing twist, they have decided to save money on housekeeping by replacing regular bed linens with a loose duvet/comforter that is not tucked in on the sides or foot of the bed. This is fairly standard in some Scandinavian and German hotels, but I've never seen it in the UK. Clearly it saves time for the maid and saves on laundry costs, but it is a step down for such an otherwise nice hotel.

The staff were all friendly and pleasant. I arrived at the hotel around 8:00 AM, not expecting my room to be ready. Sure enough, it wasn't but they happily stored my luggage while I went off to my meetings. The room was ready when I returned at mid-day.

The area around the hotel is not great. A few nice restaurants and pubs, but ask for a recommendation before setting out. Go the wrong direction and you'll be in residential areas with no shops or food. The underground is very accessable in the station, so that's often a better option if you want to go outside the immediate area.

When I have meetings to the west via train (Slough, Reading, Oxford, Newbury, Bath, Bristol, etc.) I always try to stay at this hotel, and getting to/from Heathrow is very easy. Thumbs up!

  • Liked — Access to Paddington Station
  • Disliked — Unreliable internet connection (slow at peak hours)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

(We stayed at this hotel in August 2006 and I never got around to writing my review. However I now feel the need to after reading some of the recent negative comments.)

Having stayed at several B&Bs and guest houses throughout England and
Europe, we decided to treat ourselves to a hotel on our return to London. We managed to get a good rate at the Paddington Hilton (including breakfast), otherwise it would have been out of our price range.

Yes - The normal room rates and other costs - drinks etc etc, are high but no higher than in any other hotel of the same quality in London. One has to realise that London is an expensive place to visit.

Yes - Our room was quite a walk from the lifts but that was not a problem for us. It is a big hotel after all.
Yes - Our king size bed was 2 single mattresses together but most importantly they were extremely comfortable.
Yes - The bedding was a duvet between two sheets but that made it easier to peel off any un-needed layers.
Yes - The breakfast is an expensive one if it's not included in your rate. However it was an excellent buffet of all cereals, a huge variety of fruit, juices, breads, muffins, croissants, yoghurts etc etc. Plus cooked - bacon, sausages, black pudding & white pudding (for the adventurous), baked beans, tomatoes, all variety of eggs etc etc. Plus individually made omelettes with your choice of fillings as well as bottomless cups of coffee, tea, milo etc.
And it was all constantly replenished throughout the morning.What more could one want from a breakfast buffet???
(We also experienced 'full English breakfasts' at the many B&Bs we stayed at and have absolutely no complaints. English food is typically great but the Hilton's breakfast buffet was exceptional).

We found the hotel to be fantastic. Our room was 'classically English' in decor and extremely comfortable and extremely clean. The bathroom was really lovely and the shower was perfect. We were on the
3rd floor overlooking Praed St but there was no problem with noise.

The location is fantastic and extremely convenient for public transport as many others have mentioned.

The hotel staff were all really friendly and couldn't be more helpful
in all areas.

So all in all it was a very very enjoyable treat and we would definitely stay there again if at all possible.

  • Liked — Style, cleanliness, location - everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We chose this hotel for the convenience aspect of being a couple of minutes away from the Heathrow Express.

We arrived at a busy time and the queue was quite long to check in. We were given a room on the third floor which was situated (it seemed) miles from the lifts.

The room was cleanish (a lot of debris on the carpet) and there was no mineral water.

When we came back to the room later on in the evening after eating out we were very tired. We went to bed but were woken by a strange noise coming from the bathroom. On closer inspection the noise was coming from the bath! It was a strange whirring, spitting noise. We tossed up complaining but neither one of us could face the long walk down to reception.

The following morning we spoke to reception and they changed the room for us to a Delux Room. The room was lovely and we were really impressed.

Unfortunately on closer inspection the bedroom wasn't as lovely as we had first thought. The lovely 'kingsize' bed was infact two single beds held together which makes lying in the middle (next to my partner) near on impossible. The duvet had no duvet cover but was sandwiched between two sheets which I found rather horrible.

I asked reception about the lack of duvet covers and they told me that it was standard practise for the two sheet sandwich thing. Today when we came back to the room, after it had been cleaned, we found a duvet cover on the bed!!

The breakfasts are okay but it's best if you go down to breakfast earlyish as they don't seem to replenish the food.

Overall it was an okay stay but having stayed at quite a few Hiltons in London the only draw to this hotel is the ease factor from Heathrow.

  • Liked — Locality to the Heathrow Express
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
704 helpful votes 704 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

Turned up on the day and obtained a walk in rate of 150 pounds (incl breakfast), which seemed typically Hilton, but I've wanted to try this hotel for some time....

Check in staff very pleasant, I asked for a quiet room on a high floor and was placed on floor 7 overlooking the station roof building. May not sound inspiring, but it was silent and perfect after 24 hours of travelling. Front facing rooms have busy Praed St to contend with, which is virtually 24 hours non-stop traffic!!

I found the room to be excellent, with everything I would expect, bathrobes, top class toiletries, large luxurious bed, tea/coffee, bath/shower and room service. I slept undisturbed for 10 hours!

Breakfast was professionally served and there's loads to choose from, very impressed.

Pretty much what I'd hoped for, naturally a lower price would guarantee my return, but for now I am happy with it being a pleasant one-off visit.

  • Liked — Matched my expectations
  • Disliked — It's a very expensive expectation!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

I stayed at the Hilton Paddington for half a week on a business trip. The rooms were decently sized and clean. Beds were good. I would definitely stay here again if in London.

The hotel is connected to one paddington train station and accross the street from the tube stop. Very conveniently located. There is also a starbucks in the hotel and if you go to the train station, some decent food. I always wondered why people said british food sucks. After two breakfasts at the hotel, I wholeheartedly agree. British food is horrible. Unless you know you like the British breakfast, I recommend you go to Starbuck's or the coffee shop in the train station. The train station also has a grocery store in it which is great. My only complaint is the internet charge is around 15 pounds per day. $30/day for internet, crazy!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — internet cost
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Paddington

Address: 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#305 Family Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Paddington has the luxury of being located 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and is only a footbridge walk away from Paddington station. From the West End to the theatre District in London, nothing is too far away from this hotel. There is a fitness center and a business center with 18 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 350 guests. Hilton London Paddington also has Wi-Fi in each of the hotel rooms and throughout the rest of the hotel. When it comes to dining, choose from the Brasserie Restaurant or the late night chic Steam Bar, both of which provide excellent quality cuisine to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Paddington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Paddington
Hilton London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.