We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Paddington to your Saves list
Hilton London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Free Wifi
Ranked #394 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenience and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I had a reasonable idea of what to expect from this hotel having stayed at other 4-star properties in London, but this was by far the best one yet - plush public areas, friendly and courteous staff, and somewhat unusually for London, surprisingly large rooms! Mine was a standard double, but had every luxury I needed - flat-screen TV, full en-suite, mini-bar, music system, minibar, ironing board/iron, tea/coffee making facilities (including a coffee percolator!) and air-conditioning.

Don't be put off by the fact that it is actually part of the station building - I never once thought that I was anywhere other than in a luxury hotel, and ended up having a thoroughly enjoyable stay - I'd have no hesitation in returning again.

Tip - if you go room-only and need breakfast, a good alternative to the hotel is a pub called the Mad Bishop and Bear, which is just inside Paddington station... a full English and orange juice came to just over £5.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    972
    339
    140
    80
See reviews for
323
594
284
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

A good, international-standard business hotel. No problems, no complaints. Very good buffet in the Executive Lounge for both breakfast and evening cocktails. But the main selling point is that it is only an escalator ride away from the Heathrow trains, which could be worth the earth to a jet-lagged traveler.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in May 2009. We chose the hotel due to it's location as we had an early morning flight to catch upon our departure. This hotel's only saving grace is the location. They know that they can treat customers like dirt tonight and still get bookings next week. My guess is that business travelers may come back because of the proximity to the airport train but that leisure guests do not return.

We had booked a King Junior Suite. Our flight arrived late on a Friday night. When we checked in we were told, with much fanfare, that we had been upgraded to a Queen Hilton Suite. This was a nice touch and we were off to what seemed to be a solid start!

When we arrived in the room it was small, very hot, and had an odd layout. The living room was a windowless interior room with no TV. It did have an awkward tiny half bathroom. The bedroom area was cramped. It had a queen sized bed that was tucked in from wall to wall. There was little room to get in and out of the bed and nowhere to set your suitcases. The windows looked into a light shaft with no view.

Was this really one of their best suites as the check in agent had explained? How was this considered an upgrade? I tried to make the best of the situation but after 15 minutes the room had shown no signs of cooling down. I called the front desk.

I explained that I would like to be moved back to the king suite that we had booked. The agent was extremely rude. He told me that there was no way he could move me and that we had not paid for that type of room. He then went on a rant about how the King suite was three floors tall and that we would have to pay another $100 pounds to move. I believed that he had misunderstood me so I asked him to look up our booking information.

When he looked at the reservation he acknoledged that we had reserved and paid for a King junior suite and so he then changed his statement to "there is no guarantee when you book" and you have to take what is available when you check in.

Apparently his manager overheard the conversation and finally jumped in to solve our problem. He immediately offered to move us to another room. This room had a wal of windows that faced the street and therefore was much cooler despite the A/C not working properly. Although it was just one large room there was a sitting area with plenty of room to set our luggage and it was much better.

I found some other odd things considering it is a full service Hilton. There was no concierge on duty Friday or Saturday. Our room service order came up ice cold. The mattress was extremely firm with springs poking my wife as she rolled. As previoully stated the A/C was intermittent at best.

I urge you to pick another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Everything was sensational here, staff great, breakfast fantastic, super location only negative the room was stuffy and despite the engineers looking at the a/c it still didnt cool the room down.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Bay, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed in this hotel in mid-May 2009. If you are flying to London, you can reach the hotel via the Heathrow Express very easily. The train stops at Paddington Station which, as the hotel name implies, is the location of this Hilton. In fact, you can gain access to the lobby directly from the train station. We took a side trip to Bath. The train to that town also departs from the same station. Going anywhere in London is a snap since the famed London subway ("The Underground") is also entered from the same place. Now, onto the hotel... I've stayed in many London hotels, but this one takes the cake from roominess and cleanliness perspectives. I stayed in a double and both beds fit nicely with plenty of room to spare. The only negative comment I can add is that they still charge for Internet access (Euro 15) for 24 hr. access. These days, most of the nicer hotels provide net access free to their guests. Nonetheless, the hotel was well worth the $$$ and I will gladly stay there again the next time I visit London.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Perfect location for a solo woman traveler - connected to Paddington Station. I took the Heathrow express train which took 15 minutes, walked to the escalator and I was there. Lots of food and beverage choices at the Station and the hotel restaurant was good too. Free breakfast every morning! I took the Tube or bus everywhere - both just steps from this hotel. I would definitely return.

My room was large, very clean and had all the amenities including a soaking tub!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I was most impressed with the convenience of this hotel. Arriving on the Heathrow Express, I did not need to leave the station and was able to take a lift directly to the Hotel without having to lift my heavy suitcase once. They kindly gave me a quiet room off the main corridor probably because my booking was for 7 nights. The room was very large, bed extremely comfortable, large fluffy towels and Crabtree & Evelyn products. Perhaps having to step into a deep bath to take a shower was the only downside. My rate included an excellent breakfast and it was possible to buy a voucher for dinner at reception which reduced the cost of the three course meal by 5 pounds. All in all - a first class experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Paddington

Address: 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
#278 Business Hotel in London
#305 Family Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Paddington has the luxury of being located 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and is only a footbridge walk away from Paddington station. From the West End to the theatre District in London, nothing is too far away from this hotel. There is a fitness center and a business center with 18 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 350 guests. Hilton London Paddington also has Wi-Fi in each of the hotel rooms and throughout the rest of the hotel. When it comes to dining, choose from the Brasserie Restaurant or the late night chic Steam Bar, both of which provide excellent quality cuisine to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Paddington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Paddington
Hilton London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.