We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Central London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Bloomsbury Hotel London to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Limited Edition
Ranked #44 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighouse, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Central London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

First impressions count for a lot. From the moment the doors are opened for you by 2 doormen on your arrival you know you have arrived somewhere you want to stay. Reception was friendly and efficient and offered to help with theatre bookings, dinner bookings etc. Incredibly we were offered a smoking room which we took. This turned out to be on the top floor of the hotel but the speedy lifts made light work of that.
Stunning views from the window over the rooftops towards the BT Tower made me glad I am a smoker. The room was not large but was certainly adequate for our needs, after all how much time do you actually spend in your room when you are a tourist in London.
The room was clean and was cleaned every day of our stay, the bathroom had heated floor and heated mirror which is a godsend for shavers!
All the staff we met during our stay were friendly and approachable.
The location is excellent, within 2 minutes walk you can be in the British Museum or Oxford Street.
One word of caution, if you book through an agent such as Booking.com or Expedia keep your booking confirmation, you may need it. When we came to check out the hotel tried to charge us their standard rate which was £40 dearer than the rate we had got through the agent. If we had not had the agent's receipt we may have struggled.
Apart from that slight niggle we had an excellent stay at The Bloomsbury and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    462
    110
    21
    13
See reviews for
185
894
100
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

We had a one night stay for a theatre trip and found The Bloomsbury excellent. We were welcomed and all the staff were polite and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. We decided to have the pre-theatre dinner in the hotel rather than hunt around for a place to eat, and were very glad that we did - the food was delicious, beautifully presented (and good value for money) and all the staff were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was a treat, and again we had excellent attention. Thank you Bloomsbury, we hope to do it again sometime.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed here for one night. We liked the style of the hotel, funky and really nicely furnished. The building is beautiful and has plenty of historic features.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (after 3pm) which was disappointing but we were offered an upgrade to a suite (albeit a smoking room). As non-smokers we were not really keen but wanted to get into the room and also were tempted by the upgrade!

Although the room was pleasant and spacious, I would not describe it as a suite as it was similar in size and amenities to a deluxe room our friends were staying in. There was a separate dressing room area and a part of the bedroom was set aside for two comfortable chairs. The bathroom was lovely with separate shower and a large bath with a tiled-in TV.

Although we were happy with the room initially, later on we had problems with temperature - despite the air conditioning being set to the lowest temperature of 16 degrees celsius, the room was uncomfortably warm. Unfortunately, as well as being ineffective, the air conditioning was very noisy. Like some other hotels of this genre, the lighting was subtle (i.e. wholly inadequate) in the bedroom.

Our biggest problem was with the underfloor heating in the bathroom. By the following morning the floor was so hot it was too hot to walk on. It couldn't be controlled from inside the room and had to be adjusted from a cupboard in the hallway. This did improve matters a bit but the whole room was made so unbearably hot we were glad to check out.

Breakfast could only be described as chaotic. There were insufficient numbers of staff, so that they did not have time to clear tables - one long table became a dumping ground as they - and other guests - cleared away used crockery. It took nearly 15 minutes for us to get a menu and order tea/coffee. When we eventually got our breakfast (which was perfectly nice), they further let themselves down by providing an empty bottle of sauce and leaving half-used pots of jam.

Overall, I would not return to this hotel. We may have been very unlucky with room and breakfast but there are much better places to stay in London in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier311, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay.

First of all, thank you for your positive comments regarding the appearance and features of the hotel.

However, I would also like to extend my apologies regarding the issues you experienced with regards to the room category, temperature, under floor heating, and breakfast. I was disappointed to read this, as we strive to provide our guests with memorable luxury and high levels of service. I apologise this was not what you received during your stay.

Once again, my sincerest apologies. Should you wish to contact me further, I invite you to do so, and assure you that all feedback is taken seriously.

Kind Regards,

Michael Neve
General Manager, The Bloomsbury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I believe, staying at the Bloomsbury hotel has been a really good choice and not only due to its outstanding location: the decor of the rooms is quite sophisticated and even the standard doubles have a design touch, often missing in other London hotels within a similar price range. The rooms are of a decent size and appear to be recently refurbished; the common areas look nice as well. The reception staff was quite helpful, which made my stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed overnight without breakfast, so don't know about the food BUT the room was amazing. Very comfortable bed, quiet, ultra modern lighting, furnishing and decor but still cosy. Air-conditioning kept room fresh at whatever temperature required and the bathroom was awesome with speakers from the tely relaying your favourite programme all tiled in marble and a bath with no taps - that took a while to work out where the water came from.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I was born in London well over seventy years ago but have lived in North America for 44 years. I return to the city every few years and have generally been disappointed at the low standards of hotel keeping in relation to the price.
The Bloomsbury was outstandingly good, and good value.
Check-in was easy after booking on the excellent website. The room was clean, and looked new, and was large by London hotel standards.
The 32" LCD TV worked properly (sometimes they don't) and the room was quiet.
The bathroom (always a good criterion) was the most modern I have encountered in Britain, but I was unaccustomed to the taps which were, I think, German, and I would have appreciated an instruction diagram in the room brochure. Once I figured out the shower and the bathtub settings they worked perfectly.
A great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I am currently in one of the two rooms in the return beside the lift on the 7th floor. There is no noise from that but the floor of the room above creaks more than any I have heard in all my years of staying in hotels. The people last night didn't move around a lot but every move they did make was a creak. I coped and got to sleep but when the room started being cleaned at 10:10 this morning every move of the service was like it was happening beside me. Creak, creak, creak for 25 minutes. I'm not blaming the staff but it is annoying. The room we are in is very nice for a newly refurbished hotel but the little reading light attached to the bed doesn't work (right hand side). Does no-one notice things like the light switch is toltally recessed making it inoperative? Simple things like that should be checked each time a guest leaves. Sorry if this sounds like a bad review when I do like the place, the concenience, etc. I have stayed here many times and the Manager has even given us a special rate once due to prevoius problems so decided to give the new version a chance. few simplethings would make this place perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomsbury Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Address: 16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#30 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury Hotel provides tradition through the design of revered architect, Sir Edward Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights, The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Landseer Bar & Restaurant offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on the outdoor terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in the lobby and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jurys Doyle, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bloomsbury Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.