We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Hotel 10/10!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Bloomsbury Hotel London to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellant Hotel 10/10!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at The Bloomsbury for the Saturday night and absolutley loved it. I travelled with my fiance and our toddler (17 months old) and was made to feel so welcomed. I upgraded our room to a superior room and when we arrived it had a lovely wooden cot with a Johnsons pack of essential baby items and a teddy with a Bloomsbury hotel jumper on, my little boy loved it and had a wonderful nights sleep. Our room was very stylish and comfortable. We had breakfast on the Sunday morning and it was excellant !! again the staff made us welcomed and gave our toddler a new pack of Peppa Pigs books which he loved!! I definitley recommend this hotel and i am very glad i found this little gem and will definitley return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you all enjoyed your time with us, and the Bloomsbury Teddy bear is a great companion, and our ‘bear in residence’.
Equally, I am thrilled that breakfast was both fun and playful!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With renewed appreciation

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    426
    103
    19
    11
See reviews for
167
817
95
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fowey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed here, and again everything was great, can't recommend it enough, great . The service was great from when we arrived to when we left and very personalised, we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and importantly I would like to extend our gratitude to you for choosing to stay with us once more. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With renewed appreciation

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived from Hong Kong @ 0830 after a 12.5 hour flight and whilst we were not scheduled to Check-in until 1400 that afternoon, the Reservations Staff did a marvellous job of assessing the hotels room availability so we could check in early. Thanks to them we had a fantastic shower after which we relaxed & generally "got our bearings" before we stepped out of the hotel. Our room was well appointed as would be expected of a hotel of this calibre; However, the cleanliness, attention to detail and overall presentation of our room by the Housekeeping Staff couldn't be faulted. Breakfast in the mornings in the Restaurant was very well presented, balanced, with a wholesome high quality. The Table Staff were efficient, attentive and very courteous - well led by a Supervisor who knows her operation intimately. It was a pleasure to go to breakfast each morning!

However, special mention must go to the member of Housekeeping who attended to our room. I mistakenly left my wallet in our room and when I realised during the day where it was, I was naturally concerned for its integrity as it had over £160, credit card & drivers licence in it. When I returned to our room the wallet was carefully placed under my pillow with a corner sticking out to highlight its presence. Not a single item had been touched - it was completely intact.

Given all the "bad news" on TV's, in newspapers and on the radios across the world, our conditioning is such that we expect to be wronged - particularly when any amount of money will make life a little easier. I also know 5 star hotels across the world expect their employees to demonstrate the highest levels of honesty as a reflection of the hotels values.

The honesty, integrity and values demonstrated by this special person are obvious to themselves - but I believe it's very important the Bloomsbury Management is aware of this special person and their contribution to restoring our belief that there are decent, honest & trustworthy people amongst us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I hope you had a safe return journey home to Australia. We are all very grateful for your detailed review, such which will be discussed in our departmental meetings. I will extend your gratitude onto your housekeeper during your stay as I agree wholesomely that open displays of honesty and integrity are values that should be recognised.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With renewed appreciation

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a weekend trip with your love. Everything was good, except for the small room. Excellent breakfast and good bed. The location aone block from New Oxford Street and to tube station Totemham Court

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we hope you enjoyed all aspects of your time in London. I appreciate the comments in regards to the room size, our rooms do vary in size, determined by the room category reserved. Our entry level rooms begin at Standard, through Superior, Deluxe and Studio Suites. I hope next time we can assist in choosing a room more suitable to you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My wife and I, along with another couple, spent three nights at this hotel while visiting London. While we were out and about the majority of the time, we found the hotel a wonderful haven. The room was very nice, but the staff is what stands out. From the porters to the concierge to the front desk personnel to the restaurant staff, they were all extremely helpful, friendly, and courteous. The hotel is located very close to the British Museum and within easy walking distance of Trafalgar Square, Convent Gardens, and many other London attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am ecstatic that you recognised the team for making the difference, moreover, it is great to hear that your time with us was a relaxing ‘haven’.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I came for a 1 Night stay with my 11 year old daughter, as part of a theatre night treat!
The double room was a good size and equipped well, with nice coffees/machine and a separate tea tray, big TV plus iPod speaker etc.
Great central location. Lovely friendly staff. Quiet in hotel room/area.
We had breakfast in bed - wow huge breakfasts and nice selection!
Nice in-bathroom room toiletry range too.
My only negative comment - and this may simply be for my particular room - would be the sink in the bathroom was tiny and the central set tap meant you couldn't wash your face well without soaking the floor or banging yourself - it was really a hand basin nothing more.
But, that aside the room itself had lovely decor and this is a well recommended central London hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it is music to my ears to know that the amenities in your room could be enjoyed by you both, no more so than breakfast in bed.
I appreciate the comments in regards to the wash hand basin, our room sizes do vary, including the bathrooms, however, I have added some comments to your profile as a point of consideration when allocating your room. Alternatively, I would be very pleased to discuss your requirements personally, my contact details are below.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel and were very impressed. Our room was quiet, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The staff at the front desk were very efficient but also very welcoming. Lovely scents floated around the corridors and there are some amazing books lying around in the entrance hall. We had breakfast in the hotel on both mornings, a wonderful selection for all. A little disappointed with the porridge but everything else was delicious. The location of this hotel is perfect. Directly opposite is L.Cornelissen & Son, the most tantalising art shop with all sorts of temptations. Within a few minutes you can get to The British Museum, Oxford Street, Convent Garden, the theatres and much, much more. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am so pleased you had a great stay, the books, candles and of course the convenient location L.Cornelissen & Son are integral to our DNA, it would be my pleasure to show you our Library on your next visit if you didn’t have the opportunity.

I am grateful for your comments about our porridge, I will discuss with Paul our Chef, thank you again, and of course we would be happy to make this to your preference for future stays.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomsbury Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Address: 16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#43 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes' walk from Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Covent Garden, The Bloomsbury Hotel London has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur and understated-elegance upon which it was founded. Its Superior and Deluxe bedrooms and collection of Suites blend tradition with contemporary comfort and new technology. The Bloomsbury Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district, and within walking distance of most London shows. Tottenham Court Road Tube Station and The British Museum are situated 200 metres from the Hotel, and Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Soho and the shops of Oxford Street are all easily reached in less than a 10 minute walk. Free Wi-Fi and an iPod docking station are provided in each room, along with an en suite natural stone bathroom and a flat-screen TV. Luxury bedding, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries, Nespresso machines, In room Mini Bars, a 24-hour front desk and free use of the on-site fitness centre are also included. Dining options within the hotel include Landseer Restaurant & Bar, celebrating the best of British cuisine and the all day dining Lutyens Lounge or exclusive Terrace, where you can enjoy an afternoon tea or evening drink in the privacy of London's most central location. A range of traditional ales and cocktails are also on offer in the bar. Offering a choice of breakfast options, both in the restaurant and in the lounge where takeaway is also available. Conde Nast Johansen Best Service Award Finalist, 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Bloomsbury Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.