We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant stay at the Bloomsbury Hotel with a minor issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bloomsbury to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Pleasant stay at the Bloomsbury Hotel with a minor issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent 4 days with my partner at the Bloomsbury Hotel in July 2014. Overall we had a very good stay and found the staff to be friendly, pleasant and generally amenable.

We arrived early in the morning and as a GHA black member they let us check into our room early. The room, (a Deluxe) although nicely furnished was very small with no storage space. I asked if they had a room with a bit more space. They said they couldn't upgrade me as they didn't have a room for my entire stay, but they did, very kindly, find me a Deluxe room with a lot more space, which was much nicer.

Unfortunately the next day, we had some plumbing issues: after running the shower for 30 seconds it was evident the water was not draining and it started to flood the bathroom. I reported it to the front desk and they said someone would come straight up to fix it. However when we got back to our room late in the evening it was evident that nobody had been to fix it and the following day we had to endure very short showers and a bit more mopping up the bathroom floor! Again reported it and this time they sent someone to fix the issue straight away.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good - if you book with the reception desk the day before you save over £5 per person.

Despite the shower issues, it was a good stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidAtlanticMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and delighted to welcome as a GHA member. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed so many facets of the hotel ambiance and service. I am extremely sorry to hear that the bathroom flooded and that it took us two occasions to resolve this, we take pride in providing an efficient response and I have discussed this with our Chief Engineer as a matter of priority.

Please contact me directly if I maybe of any future assistance, at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We will definitely be staying here for all our future London visits.

Excellent location, first street on the right after Tottenham court (get out at exit 3), gorgeously appointed rooms, very cool lobby but most of all FANTASTIC 5 Star service!! We have stayed in rooms that are triple the price of these and have never received such good service with a fresh juice and towels on arrival. The lady at reception is an absolute darling. Our first room didn't have a view (it was still a lovely room we just wanted a bit of a London view) and there were none in our category with views available that night but the very next day she moved us to a gorgeous room with a view and went out of her way to do so. I was sick during our stay and the late night room service lady made me a special lemon and honey tea for my cold despite it not being on the menu and recommended soups to help me feel better... Just all round stella staff that make you feel very welcome.

The Bloomsbury Hotel is in a super cool location in London, close to heaps of trendy spots - a must stay for every traveller - I can see this place moving up to a 5 star rating once they have a pool.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geraldstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed so many facets of the hotel ambiance and service. Sorry to hear you were unwell, I am so pleased our team went the extra mile to make you feel that little bit better.

Please contact me directly if I maybe of any future assistance, at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel and great staff. Brian is a great concierge and the bellmen are uniquely helpful. Luis is a gem and recent addition. He even walked us toward our location to be sure we wouldn't get lost. It's a long but pleasant walk down Charing Cross Road to Trafalgar Square, the Royal Horseguards, 10 Downing Street, Westminster Abbey and the Parliament. Very convenient to some of the top plays and musicals. Only two blocks from the British Museum.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredweekley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed the overall experience, and particularly our location. I am delighted to hear about Luis, he is indeed only with us in the last few months but he is doing extremely well.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wow, what a great hotel. Excellent location, excellent warm, friendly and accommodating staff. Short walk to a tube station, Soho and Covent Gardens about 10 minutes way. Once you walk inside the doors of the hotel, you are instantly greeted by a relaxed and calming atmosphere, set by wonderful scented candles. We stayed with a group of 7 friends. All of our rooms were big, spacious and impeccable presented. Dessert plate from Head Chef Paul was a treat. Popcorn at 1am was just what we needed after a long day sightseeing. Breakfast was excellent, well appointed buffet with plenty of variety of fruit, meats, pastries, juices with hot breakfast from the Kitchen. The late night bar staff were very helpful and attentive to our party - not an easy job. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the world for work and The Bloomsbury is by far my favorite.
A must for anyone looking for a hotel in London. Congrats to Michael and his wonderful team. Looking forward to my next visit already…

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citygirlontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, it sounds like you had an amazing experience. We are delighted that Paul and our team made your party so enjoyable.

Please contact me directly if I maybe of any future assistance, at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at The Bloomsbury Hotel late June 2014 and had a lovely stay. The staff were all very friendly. We got a very good and nice room that had all we needed. The hotel is on a street just behind Oxford Street close to the Tottenham Court Road tube station. The location is perfect.
The hotel has a very calm and relaxing atmosphere and it was very quiet.
The room was modern and clean and the bathroom was also nice and clean.
We had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed the overall
experience created.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and very accommodating staff. Perfect for Soho and Covent Garden with rooms of a very high standard and impeccably presented. I don't think you could do better at this very reasonable price. Highly recommended - we wouldn't think twice about visiting again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that you will return, I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London.

Please contact me directly if I maybe of any future assistance, at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've stayed in many hotels, including many luxury hotels, and this is my favorite hotel ever. We arrived here after originally having booked a less expensive hotel, but when we went to check into that hotel, I just thought it was too grim and industrial to stay in for a vacation in London that we'd long been looking forward to. After looking at the reviews for the Bloomsbury Hotel, we arrived here, and couldn't have been happier.

It's everything you'd want in a London hotel. Beautiful, great location. Heck, it even smells great. The appointments are as nice, and the service is as good as any of the best hotels I've stayed at. But it's the staff who really set the place apart. They are completely wonderful -- genuinely nice and helpful, from the gentleman who took our bags at the door, to the lovely woman who booked us in, to the two concierges who took it upon themselves (bless them) to sort out a large snafu with our rental car. This is the kind of hotel you remember with great fondness, and come back to. We certainly will.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meichner27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I read with great pleasure that we have become a wonderful memory for you, much owing to our team and the beautiful building we work in.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#52 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#9 of 1,059 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#352 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#52 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Landseer Bar & Restaurant offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on the outdoor terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in the lobby and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing