We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bloomsbury Hotel - Doyle Collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Bloomsbury Hotel London to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Bloomsbury Hotel - Doyle Collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel and great staff. Brian is a great concierge and the bellmen are uniquely helpful. Luis is a gem and recent addition. He even walked us toward our location to be sure we wouldn't get lost. It's a long but pleasant walk down Charing Cross Road to Trafalgar Square, the Royal Horseguards, 10 Downing Street, Westminster Abbey and the Parliament. Very convenient to some of the top plays and musicals. Only two blocks from the British Museum.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed the overall experience, and particularly our location. I am delighted to hear about Luis, he is indeed only with us in the last few months but he is doing extremely well.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    385
    97
    16
    11
See reviews for
149
743
82
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wow, what a great hotel. Excellent location, excellent warm, friendly and accommodating staff. Short walk to a tube station, Soho and Covent Gardens about 10 minutes way. Once you walk inside the doors of the hotel, you are instantly greeted by a relaxed and calming atmosphere, set by wonderful scented candles. We stayed with a group of 7 friends. All of our rooms were big, spacious and impeccable presented. Dessert plate from Head Chef Paul was a treat. Popcorn at 1am was just what we needed after a long day sightseeing. Breakfast was excellent, well appointed buffet with plenty of variety of fruit, meats, pastries, juices with hot breakfast from the Kitchen. The late night bar staff were very helpful and attentive to our party - not an easy job. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the world for work and The Bloomsbury is by far my favorite.
A must for anyone looking for a hotel in London. Congrats to Michael and his wonderful team. Looking forward to my next visit already…

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, it sounds like you had an amazing experience. We are delighted that Paul and our team made your party so enjoyable.

Please contact me directly if I maybe of any future assistance, at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at The Bloomsbury Hotel late June 2014 and had a lovely stay. The staff were all very friendly. We got a very good and nice room that had all we needed. The hotel is on a street just behind Oxford Street close to the Tottenham Court Road tube station. The location is perfect.
The hotel has a very calm and relaxing atmosphere and it was very quiet.
The room was modern and clean and the bathroom was also nice and clean.
We had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed the overall
experience created.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fantastic location and very accommodating staff. Perfect for Soho and Covent Garden with rooms of a very high standard and impeccably presented. I don't think you could do better at this very reasonable price. Highly recommended - we wouldn't think twice about visiting again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that you will return, I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London.

Please contact me directly if I maybe of any future assistance, at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've stayed in many hotels, including many luxury hotels, and this is my favorite hotel ever. We arrived here after originally having booked a less expensive hotel, but when we went to check into that hotel, I just thought it was too grim and industrial to stay in for a vacation in London that we'd long been looking forward to. After looking at the reviews for the Bloomsbury Hotel, we arrived here, and couldn't have been happier.

It's everything you'd want in a London hotel. Beautiful, great location. Heck, it even smells great. The appointments are as nice, and the service is as good as any of the best hotels I've stayed at. But it's the staff who really set the place apart. They are completely wonderful -- genuinely nice and helpful, from the gentleman who took our bags at the door, to the lovely woman who booked us in, to the two concierges who took it upon themselves (bless them) to sort out a large snafu with our rental car. This is the kind of hotel you remember with great fondness, and come back to. We certainly will.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I read with great pleasure that we have become a wonderful memory for you, much owing to our team and the beautiful building we work in.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have planned our birthday party for our kids and the Head Chief-Sir Paul (very down to earth person) assisted us with all the menu and other arrangments. We are including our guest was very impressed with the selection of the menu, great tasting food, great venue (being in the center of London), room are clean and very helpful staff . The breakfast selection is also great.Our guess was also impressed that they wanted to arrange there party in the future also in the hotel .
I would definitely well come back and stay, book an event in this hotel. Im completely satisfied with our stay, the venue, the food, excellent support of the staff especially the Head Chief-Sir Paul and Maria who have help us above and beyond of there Job.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. I have shared this review with our Executive Chef, Paul and Maria – they are humbled for being singled out.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 incredible days in London and on the recommendation of friends, stayed at The Bloomsbury Hotel. There were so many wonderful details about this hotel, it's hard to know where to begin. As we walked into the lobby after our trek from the airport via the Underground, there was a lovely aroma that filled the lobby and we were to discover much of the hotel, that came from scented candles that created an ambiance of feeling more like we were n a very elegant home than a hotel. The hotel staff and concierge were professional and very helpful. Our room had a king size bed and enough space to feel like we weren't cramped. And the rooms were very quiet, although the area where the hotel is located was on a busy street. A few hours after we arrived, there was a knock on the door and we were greeted with a tray of fresh fruit and desserts with a lovely note from the concierge welcoming us to London. I can't say enough about hotel and their caring and helpful staff except that on the last night we were there, when we were reviewing our plans to have to get to the airport, the staff arranged to send up complementary coffee at 6:30 in the morning so we could at least be caffeinated before heading onto our next leg of our journey. I am sure there are many wonderful hotels to stay at in London, but we felt incredibly fortunate to have stayed at The Bloomsbury which was so warm, welcoming and classy!

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor, but I think the entire building is built with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. Our team will be thrilled with your review, which is encouraging and rewarding.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomsbury Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Address: 16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#38 Family Hotel in London
#44 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes' walk from Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Covent Garden, The Bloomsbury Hotel London has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur and understated-elegance upon which it was founded. Its Superior and Deluxe bedrooms and collection of Suites blend tradition with contemporary comfort and new technology. The Bloomsbury Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district, and within walking distance of most London shows. Tottenham Court Road Tube Station and The British Museum are situated 200 metres from the Hotel, and Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Soho and the shops of Oxford Street are all easily reached in less than a 10 minute walk. Free Wi-Fi and an iPod docking station are provided in each room, along with an en suite natural stone bathroom and a flat-screen TV. Luxury bedding, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries, Nespresso machines, In room Mini Bars, a 24-hour front desk and free use of the on-site fitness centre are also included. Dining options within the hotel include Landseer Restaurant & Bar, celebrating the best of British cuisine and the all day dining Lutyens Lounge or exclusive Terrace, where you can enjoy an afternoon tea or evening drink in the privacy of London's most central location. A range of traditional ales and cocktails are also on offer in the bar. Offering a choice of breakfast options, both in the restaurant and in the lounge where takeaway is also available. Conde Nast Johansen Best Service Award Finalist, 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jurys Doyle, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bloomsbury Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.