We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party, dining and stay. Great place to stay. very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bloomsbury Hotel London to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,066 Hotels in London
1 review
“Birthday party, dining and stay. Great place to stay. very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have planned our birthday party for our kids and the Head Chief-Sir Paul (very down to earth person) assisted us with all the menu and other arrangments. We are including our guest was very impressed with the selection of the menu, great tasting food, great venue (being in the center of London), room are clean and very helpful staff . The breakfast selection is also great.Our guess was also impressed that they wanted to arrange there party in the future also in the hotel .
I would definitely well come back and stay, book an event in this hotel. Im completely satisfied with our stay, the venue, the food, excellent support of the staff especially the Head Chief-Sir Paul and Maria who have help us above and beyond of there Job.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. I have shared this review with our Executive Chef, Paul and Maria – they are humbled for being singled out.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    427
    104
    19
    11
See reviews for
167
820
95
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 incredible days in London and on the recommendation of friends, stayed at The Bloomsbury Hotel. There were so many wonderful details about this hotel, it's hard to know where to begin. As we walked into the lobby after our trek from the airport via the Underground, there was a lovely aroma that filled the lobby and we were to discover much of the hotel, that came from scented candles that created an ambiance of feeling more like we were n a very elegant home than a hotel. The hotel staff and concierge were professional and very helpful. Our room had a king size bed and enough space to feel like we weren't cramped. And the rooms were very quiet, although the area where the hotel is located was on a busy street. A few hours after we arrived, there was a knock on the door and we were greeted with a tray of fresh fruit and desserts with a lovely note from the concierge welcoming us to London. I can't say enough about hotel and their caring and helpful staff except that on the last night we were there, when we were reviewing our plans to have to get to the airport, the staff arranged to send up complementary coffee at 6:30 in the morning so we could at least be caffeinated before heading onto our next leg of our journey. I am sure there are many wonderful hotels to stay at in London, but we felt incredibly fortunate to have stayed at The Bloomsbury which was so warm, welcoming and classy!

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor, but I think the entire building is built with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. Our team will be thrilled with your review, which is encouraging and rewarding.

I very much look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We love staying here, the staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The concierge can never do enough for you. Fantastic location right on Covent Garden, China Town, Oxford Street etc. Food is always delicious and the bar has a fantastic ambience and selection of drinks, always served by very friendly staff. Rooms are luxurious, very well equiped, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathroom has everything you need. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Its amazing, we always feel so special when we stay there and very well looked after.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none. It is a very warming feeling to read that this experience was one of the best hotel experiences you have had!

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A perfect place to stay for that weekend away in London. Most places were within walking distance, even The Thames, about 20 mins. Our room was 609, that although at the back of the hotel overlooking another building, it was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the little extras like bed turning down service and chocolates. The bathroom was compact with little space to put things but it was adequate for our needs. Breakfast was served until 11.30 so it gave us the opportunity to have a lie in. Service of breakfast was a little slow but when it arrived it was delicious. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none, I am delighted that we suited your needs so well, the little touches are the details that we take great pride in ensuring are right. I appreciate your feedback on breakfast, although delighted you enjoyed.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend in May. We wanted somewhere in a good location so we could go out for a meal and drinks. Couldn't have been more convenient literally 2 minute walk from tube station. On check in we were given hot towels to clean our hands and elderflower cordial.(The reception smelt amazing!) Our luggage was then delivered to our room. Our room was lovely comfortable bed, nice modern bathroom and air conditioning. My only criticism is breakfast not included in the price extra £25 each.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our location and proximity to London’s very best attractions is second to none, I am delighted that we suited your needs so well. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

We do also offer

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel offers quality boutique suites close to soho Coventry garden and Leicester square. Breakfast until 11,30 fantastic and the barman kabir is a great asset to the company with nothing a problem he looked after us well. Thank you all

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed the overall experience created, and that our breakfast offered until 1130 was appreciated by you. I will personally thank Kabir for his contribution.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed here with my friend over a weekend. We had a lovely room. It was well equipped, ac, bathrobes/slippers, comfortable bed and great bathroom. The check in staff and concierge were very helpful, and spoken good English. The breakfast was included in our rate, and there was a good selection of choice including gluten free and vegetarian options. Although we had quite a wait for breakfast to arrive once we ordered.
The location is near to Oxford Street, and the bars and restaurants of Covent Garden & Soho.
Lovely hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed the overall experience created, and that our breakfast offering made such a good first impression.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London soon.

Best regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomsbury Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Address: 16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Family Hotel in London
#44 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes' walk from Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Covent Garden, The Bloomsbury Hotel London has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur and understated-elegance upon which it was founded. Its Superior and Deluxe bedrooms and collection of Suites blend tradition with contemporary comfort and new technology. The Bloomsbury Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district, and within walking distance of most London shows. Tottenham Court Road Tube Station and The British Museum are situated 200 metres from the Hotel, and Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Soho and the shops of Oxford Street are all easily reached in less than a 10 minute walk. Free Wi-Fi and an iPod docking station are provided in each room, along with an en suite natural stone bathroom and a flat-screen TV. Luxury bedding, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries, Nespresso machines, In room Mini Bars, a 24-hour front desk and free use of the on-site fitness centre are also included. Dining options within the hotel include Landseer Restaurant & Bar, celebrating the best of British cuisine and the all day dining Lutyens Lounge or exclusive Terrace, where you can enjoy an afternoon tea or evening drink in the privacy of London's most central location. A range of traditional ales and cocktails are also on offer in the bar. Offering a choice of breakfast options, both in the restaurant and in the lounge where takeaway is also available. Conde Nast Johansen Best Service Award Finalist, 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Bloomsbury Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.