We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bloomsbury Hotel London to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off at the Weekend
Ranked #48 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in and would recommend to anyone. I took my girlfriend here for valentines day and it was well worth the 1-2 hour trip. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive, e.g. helping me locate a nice restaurant for an evening meal. The hotel is located perfectly, close range to Oxford Street for shopping during the day, with a lot of restaurants surrounding for the evening. The stay itself was incredible; the room was immaculate on arrival and in the morning you won't want to leave the bed due to the comfiness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    526
    115
    24
    13
See reviews for
233
998
111
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was delighted with this hotel when I spent a night there after a wearying sojourn in Africa. The staff gave me a warm welcome and allowed me to check into the room early, for which I was very grateful. The room was more spacious than I expected for a major city, and was very nicely appointed. The bathroom seemed quite luxurious, as well. The location, within easy walking distance of the British Museum and other central London attractions, was very convenient, allowing a person to return to stash packages or rest for a few minutes between destinations. Although I ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant mainly because I was too tired to go anywhere else, I was pleasantly surprised at the delicious food and the charming, candlelit atmosphere. My 6:15 wake-up call on the morning I left was followed by the delivery of a perfect cup of coffee, a very nice touch. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Brian, the concierge, was like an old friend every night waiting for us when we came home. He gave us great suggestions, helped us with our reservations, and always had a smile on his face. Maria in the restaurant was so helpful in getting my lactaid-free milk and greeted me daily by my name. Louise at the front desk explained the bill to me and was so helpful--what a place. It's worth every penny. The hotel room was clean and bright with nice amenities. Great location--we went to the theatre two nights we were there and it's all within walking distance, and the British Museum is in the next block. If you're going for fish and chips, a few blocks away is Rock and Soul--yummy! If we go back to London, why would I stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hallway and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and that both Maria and Brian made your stay special.
Our location is wonderful to easily reach Covent Garden, Soho, Holborn, The British Museum and many of London’s main attractions.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fantastic hotel very welcoming ,Concierge go above and beyond ,reception staff lovely check in and out very quick offered towels, refreshments. Rooms very comfortable and spotless beds turned down every night and chocolates .Dressing gown ,slippers , Nespresso provided .Towels changed daily and rooms cleaned .Joel the bar men in Landseer bar is one of the nicest people you could every meet service excellent a true gentlemen and a credit to the Bloomsbury. Breakfast is quality and nothing is to much trouble always addressed by our full names nice touch in my eyes that they take the time to remember guests thank you Maria for looking after us would not hesitate in recommending this hotel best hotel I have ever stayed at and look forward to going back next year . Kind regards Mr & Mrs Cavener

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Cavener,

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and that Joel made such a fantastic impression. I will be sure to share and recognise the exceptional service with Joel and Maria.

We have really thought about our breakfast offering, I am delighted you could enjoy it throughout your time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Bloomsbury Hotel for two nights and we could not have enjoyed our stay more: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, The room was really spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, very nicely decorated and stocked with shower gel and body lotion etc which were lovely to use. We were also impressed that there was not only a kettle in the room for making tea but an espresso machine for real coffee.
The breakfast is fabulous: The pastries are as good as the best French patisserie, there is fresh fruit and excellent yogurt along with an extensive menu of cooked dishes and the healthy options are a fantastic idea.
As for the location: It could not be better: Incredibly central but in a neighbourhood of character.
The fact that this hotel was designed by the famous architect Lutyens was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room on the 6th floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review.

It is a real pleasure to hear of your experience, all the small details like the Nespresso Machine, Patisserie at breakfast and the Super foods are very important to us. It is these details that make the difference, I am so pleased you could enjoy in this fabulously restored Luytens building.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is just a fantastic hotel. Rooms are large and really clean the staff are very helpful. Location is amazing right in the heart of theatre land. Food service was slow but food good when it did arrive! We will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am very pleased that you will be returning to The Bloomsbury London! Your comments are a delight to read and thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A lovely hotel, excellent staff, best location possible for seeing London. It's right near a tube stop, but we never used it because almost everything is in walking distance. The room is very nice, with a great shower. It is small, but more than adequate for 2 people. Definitely will stay here again when we come back to London.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We too share your enthusiasm for our location, it is almost unbeatable, we are very fortunate to be located in London’s most central point.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury Hotel and London.

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#9 of 1,055 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#318 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#45 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Address: 16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in London
#38 Family Hotel in London
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect, Sir Edward Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights, The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Landseer Bar & Restaurant offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on the outdoor terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in the lobby and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bloomsbury Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.