We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bloomsbury Hotel London to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great staff & good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely hotel in a good location – it’s a good 5 minute walk away from Covent Garden. Food and drinks in the hotel are pricey but it’s London so I’m not surprised. We had a basic superior room, & no it isn’t huge but it is definitely big enough – we only paid £130 a night for our room and I think it was great value for money. All of the staff were very friendly & the lemonade/ ice team and bottles of water in reception are a nice touch. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is wonderful to read that you had a great stay with us and all of our team were very friendly. We are pleased you enjoyed the complimentary iced tea, lemonade and water in our Lobby area and you are planning to stay again soon. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    427
    104
    19
    11
See reviews for
167
820
95
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped in London for a few nights before heading to see my family in Ireland. I first want to express how well the hotel's location was. The hotel was convenient to all the historic tourist spots in London, restaurants and pubs. Also the hotel is very close to the underground train station. The ambiance of the hotel was spectacular. The staff was knowledgeable, very friendly and professional. I can not say enough about the staff from housekeeping to the front desk to the management. Mr.Mcgrath was a very genuine man, Brian the concierge was very friendly, helpful and just a class act. The general manager made our stay very pleasant and a time we would never forget. Hope to go back and visit this wonderful hotel and extraordinary staff. I would just like to thank the hotel for our great memories. Thank you very much Brian Joyce

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is fabulous to hear that all of our team exceeded your expectations especially Brian and Roddy and that they were knowledgeable, friendly and professional throughout your visit. We are very pleased that the location of the Hotel worked well for you and you were able to visit all of the historic tourist spots, restaurants and pubs. Thank you for recommending the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a weekend away at this hotel in July. We were greeted at the door with a smile. Cannot fault the professionalism friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent fully equipped to meet our needs extremely comfortable made for a very relaxing weekend away. The bar in the lower ground floor is very cosy and there is a lovely atmosphere as you walk in. The bar staff are very friendly nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast menu caters for everyone I dont think there was anylthing missing from the menu and again the staff were very attentive and made sure you had everything you needed. The Restaurant menu is very impressive and the the food is excellent. You are made to feel very welcome at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located and the staff will advise you on places to go and things to see if you ask them. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed the service given by our Team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering at The Landseer Restaurant and you found the Landseer Bar to be cosy and have a lovely atmosphere. It is great the Location of the Hotel worked well for you. Thank you so much for recommending The Bloomsbury Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts. UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for at the hotel as a Birthday treat and cannot fault location for theatre land and the west end. Staff service in the hotel was a joy with every member of staff being polite and service very efficient.

We stayed in a suite room which was very large and impressively furnished.

Rooms are quite, air con is excellent and beds very comfortable.

Breakfast cooked to order and buffet attractive and varied.

A good choice for a theatre night or shopping weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bloomsbury Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Birthday treat with us and that all of our Team exceeded your expectations. It is fabulous to hear that you enjoyed the Breakfast offerings at The Landseer Restaurant and you found your room to be comfortable and impressively furnished. It is great that the location of the Hotel worked well for you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our daughter booked this hotel for us as she had previously stayed there. The service was excellent from start to finish, nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very comfortable and clean. We also dined there in the evening and this meal was excellent, the breakfast was also very good. The hotel is very well located for both the theatre and the shops. We normally try a different hotel each time we visit London but for our next visit we will definitely stay at the Bloomsbury again. It's the little touches that make a difference; we arrived when it was extremely hot weather so we were not prepared for rain. When we were leaving for the theatre we were told it was going to rain but in the wardrobe there was an umbrella and were we glad of it when we came out of the theatre. They also provided us with bottles of water for the journey home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is fantastic to read that our service was excellent from start to finish and you felt nothing was too much trouble for our Team. We are so pleased you enjoyed Breakfast and Dinner at The Landseer Restaurant and you liked the little touches such as the umbrellas and water. It is great the Location worked well for you. Thank you very much for recommending the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose this hotel for a long weekend in May and were quite happy with our experience. It was exactly what we wanted for that specific weekend in London: a comfortable base in the buzzing city centre.

The hotel has been nicely renovated, service is good. However, we thought our room, which was located on the top floor, was extremely small (room also had quite a low ceiling which didn't help). The bathroom was well equipped but then again very small.

There is certainly nothing wrong with this hotel and many people might like it. So, would we stay here again? Perhaps if we just need a comfortable, stylish and centrally located place to stay. However, if we would like to have a real "weekend away" experience, we would probably chose for something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service given by our Team at the Hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you felt the size of your room was a little on the small side, being a central London Hotel we are restricted for space and unfortunately this does not allow us to change the size of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had two very pleasant nights at the Bloomsbury Hotel.

We arrived on a very hot afternoon so the ice tea was welcome as we're the hand towels.

Our room was adequate without being special. The bed was very comfortable.

It has a very nice gym in the basement.

The lower ground floor bar was excellent and the lobby is excellent for a drink or just to relax.

All the staff were very cheerful and helpful.

The hotel is conveniently located a few hundred metres from Soho on one side and the British Museum on the other. The Tottenham Court Road Tube station is just around the corner.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is fabulous to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the complimentary ice tea and hand towels upon arrival. We are so pleased that you found our team to be very cheerful and helpful and that you enjoyed The Landseer Restaurant and Bar. It is fantastic to hear the location of the Hotel worked very well for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomsbury Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Address: 16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Family Hotel in London
#44 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes' walk from Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Covent Garden, The Bloomsbury Hotel London has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur and understated-elegance upon which it was founded. Its Superior and Deluxe bedrooms and collection of Suites blend tradition with contemporary comfort and new technology. The Bloomsbury Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district, and within walking distance of most London shows. Tottenham Court Road Tube Station and The British Museum are situated 200 metres from the Hotel, and Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Soho and the shops of Oxford Street are all easily reached in less than a 10 minute walk. Free Wi-Fi and an iPod docking station are provided in each room, along with an en suite natural stone bathroom and a flat-screen TV. Luxury bedding, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries, Nespresso machines, In room Mini Bars, a 24-hour front desk and free use of the on-site fitness centre are also included. Dining options within the hotel include Landseer Restaurant & Bar, celebrating the best of British cuisine and the all day dining Lutyens Lounge or exclusive Terrace, where you can enjoy an afternoon tea or evening drink in the privacy of London's most central location. A range of traditional ales and cocktails are also on offer in the bar. Offering a choice of breakfast options, both in the restaurant and in the lounge where takeaway is also available. Conde Nast Johansen Best Service Award Finalist, 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Bloomsbury Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.