We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Bloomsbury Hotel London to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wonderful weekend staying at this hotel. The weather was terrible but the hotel was brilliant. We had a lovely room and the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We went to a show on the Saturday evening, but enjoyed a meal at the hotel on the Sunday evening. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and we were not hurried in any way, just left to enjoy the meal, but always a member of staff making sure there was nothing else we needed, and there was no need for lunch as the breakfast was plentiful. The concierge was very friendly and helpful as was Maria in the restaurant at breakfast. In fact there was not one downside to this hotel, we will definitely be staying again next time we are in London. The hotel is in a good position for theatres, shopping and the British museum was just across the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us. We were all so pleased to help make your stay so memorable and thank you for all your kind words about breakfast and dinner in the Landseer Restaurant and for recommending Maria. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    426
    104
    19
    11
See reviews for
167
818
95
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Bloomsbury a few times in the past few years and it is always an absolute pleasure. I cannot recommend the hotel enough- a central location, impeccable friendly service and beautiful rooms. The staff are so friendly- it was pouring with rain when i last stayed and the doorman went out of his way to find me a big umbrella to borrow so i didn't get soaked. I really feel at home there even when I stay on my own. The breakfast is always a treat and a real cut above your average London hotel fry up. A good choice all round!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you taking the time to post your recent review and we are delighted to be your chosen hotel when you are in London. Thank for also for recommending the hotel and the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was close to the theatres in shaftesbury Avenue. It was a surprise weekend for my husbands 50th . The hotel was extremely comfortable , even though it was quite grand looking, its not starch and stiffy as you might expect. The concierge and the greeter at the doors were particularly helpful with one of them (Phil), walking us round to the restaurent, which we couldnt find when we had tried to look for it earlier, in the snow and bitter cold. He went out of his way and beyond to look after us. We we very grateful for his help. The Les Miserable was all of the show that we had hoped for , so all in all any one wishing to have a comfortable and relaxing hotel the Bloomsbury Hotel is the one for you.

Room Tip: 2nd floor by the lifts are supposedly one of the better dressed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank for for taking the time to recommend the hotel and in particular Phil in our Concierge team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is always fabulous to hear when we exceed expectations as the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is of utmost importance to us. We were all delighted to help make your husband's 50th birthday weekend so memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Super weekend in London. The weather was atrocious but, due to lovely hotel and all necessary amenities didn't mind staying in when i had to. Very friendly and helpful staff. Tasty and filling breakfast, making lunch completely unnecessary! Great location right in the heart of town, ideal for theatres. Would recommend and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you posting such a lovely review following your recent stay and it is fabulous to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from the tasty breakfast in The Landseer Restaurant to all the added amenities in the room. It is always great to hear how helpful and friendly the staff are and thank you for recommending us. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had dinner with friends at this hotel, early on a Saturday evening, after a theatre matinee. We hadn't pre-booked, but as we were early they were able to accommodate the four of us.
The main entrance and foyer are welcoming, although quite grand, staff were just so helpful, professional and made things easy for us.
Food is sensibly priced, especially for central London. Served well, delicious, we weren't hassled or rushed, despite the dining room filling up as the evening progressed.
Shall use again, for meeting friends or relaxing alone, when in London.
Didn't stay as hotel guests so can't comment on rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to write such a delicious review of the Landseer Restaurant. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and found the location, service and food to not only meet but exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Bloomsbury for a Saturday night in Feb while down to see a West Bridgford end show (privates on parade)

The show was average, the hotel was anything.but.... Loved it

Great location - tube 2-3 min walk, Leicester square 10-15 Mun walk

Style was modern values with traditional styling, not tired, very fresh. Lovely breakfast, nice bar to return to and nice foyer to enjoy afternoon tea and relax.

We both really enjoyed the stay and we expect to stay here again

If the review was helpful, please click yes

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review following your stay in February. We were delighted to help make the visit worthwhile and sorry that West Bridgford did not live up to your expectations. It is great to hear that you found the location so perfect for your needs and found all areas of the hotel to your satisfaction. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon when you are next down from Nottingham in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had been to this lovely hotel between Jan 31 and Feb 03, 2013. It was my husband's 40th birthday and I planned this visit as a surprise. The hotel management sent champagne to our room, it was very kind of them. Our room was 504, which was very nice and clean. There was a cattle and nesspresso machine; water, tea, coffee capsules and cookies were free. The concierge and the greeter at the door of the hotel (Abdul and Martin, if I recall correctly) were very helpful and kind. The location of the hotel was super, just one street parallel to Oxford Street, 5 min. walk to British Museum. The Tottenham Court Road metro station was also very close.
We mostly walked and bought 1 day travelcard which can be used both in metro and bus. You can hop on and off from the bus at any stop you want. It's like using those tour buses but much cheaper.
Primark which is a very big department store is just around the corner on Oxford Street, it's very cheap and especially kids clothing was very nice. Also Uniqlo, Clarks and Mothercare are other brands where you can shop for relatively low prices.
I recommend Bocca di Lupo, an Italian restaurant on Archer St., very close to Piccadilly Circus. The starters and wine were excellent. For good steak you can go to The Hawksmoor, but be sure to make reservation, we couldn't eat there because of that.

Room Tip: 504 was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury Hotel London, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review and we were all delighted to help make your husband's 40th birthday so memorable. We were greatly honoured to be picked as the surprise venue and it is always fantastic to hear when the staff not only meet but exceed expectations. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy a meal in out Landseer Restaurant which too offers great steaks and is reasonably priced - perhaps next time? We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomsbury Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury Hotel London

Address: 16-22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
#44 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes' walk from Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Covent Garden, The Bloomsbury Hotel London has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur and understated-elegance upon which it was founded. Its Superior and Deluxe bedrooms and collection of Suites blend tradition with contemporary comfort and new technology. The Bloomsbury Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district, and within walking distance of most London shows. Tottenham Court Road Tube Station and The British Museum are situated 200 metres from the Hotel, and Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Soho and the shops of Oxford Street are all easily reached in less than a 10 minute walk. Free Wi-Fi and an iPod docking station are provided in each room, along with an en suite natural stone bathroom and a flat-screen TV. Luxury bedding, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries, Nespresso machines, In room Mini Bars, a 24-hour front desk and free use of the on-site fitness centre are also included. Dining options within the hotel include Landseer Restaurant & Bar, celebrating the best of British cuisine and the all day dining Lutyens Lounge or exclusive Terrace, where you can enjoy an afternoon tea or evening drink in the privacy of London's most central location. A range of traditional ales and cocktails are also on offer in the bar. Offering a choice of breakfast options, both in the restaurant and in the lounge where takeaway is also available. Conde Nast Johansen Best Service Award Finalist, 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Bloomsbury Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.