We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected, but a good experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morgan Guest House
Save
You added Morgan Guest House to your Saves list
120 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QQ, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Omaha, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected, but a good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Morgan Guest House is not quite the hotel described in several London guidebooks, but it’s a good choice for a certain kind of traveler.

My wife and I stayed here for four nights during the height of the London summer season.

* What I Liked *
Our room was a double en-suite on the top floor. It was a bit larger than expected, and clean. The room was small and the stairs quite narrow, but we were expecting that.

If you have health or weight problems that make climbing stairs a problem, stay elsewhere. There is no lift. We are in good shape and still struggled to get our bags up and down the stairs.

The breakfast was filling, offering a traditional English meat- and egg-based meal plus muesli and corn flakes. We might have liked the chance to converse more with fellow guests, but most didn’t seem interested.

The location is excellent –two blocks from Victoria Station but quiet and in a nice Belgravia neighborhood. The contrast from the bus exhaust and hurly-burly crowds outside the station just two blocks away was amazing.

The price is decent by London standards, and the staff members were professional.

* Be Careful about Your Expectations *
Several of the London guidebooks said that the Morgan’s owners provide friendly and helpful advice. Rick Steves’ book from a few years ago called the Morgan an “entertaining experience,” or something to that affect.

I’m not sure if there has been a change, but don’t count on any friendly owner chats or local advice. We only saw two employees, and no owners. The employees were professional but did not go out of their way and didn’t seem to know much about London. They spoke as little as possible. Mostly, there is no one around except during breakfast.

That didn’t really affect us, since we had done lots of research beforehand. Just don’t stay here expecting a quaint experience chatting with jolly owners.

One or two guidebooks also mentioned the pleasant back garden. You could see the garden from our room, but it no longer appears to be open to guests. It is accessible only through the hotel office and was never in use.

* Overall *
If you want a good room in a great location and a reasonable price (by local standards), the Morgan Guest House can work well. I will probably stay elsewhere if we make it back to London, but my experience was positive overall.

Room Tip: Think carefully about whether you want your own bathroom or not. We decided to pay a little extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    15
    11
    1
See reviews for
22
62
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location, very close to Victoria's coach station. We didn't have far to walk to find a bus to wherever we wanted to go. The breakfast was average, but it was available at 7:30 every morning. We were given good advice about how to find places near a bus route. We enjoyed the Thomas Cubitt Pub nearby twice.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with a bath; there were no ground floor rooms with a bath. It was hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were booked into Morgan House for a week - 6 days in a twin with ensuite on the main floor and 1 day twin with shared bathroom. The ensuite room was small but perfectly manageable. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The shared bathroom was also clean although the water pressure in the shower was a bit weak. Breakfast was good every morning (nice runny yolks in the poached eggs). The location was excellent : we could walk everywhere and there were good pubs and restaurants nearby.

My sister and brother-in-law were booked into a room on the top floor and, yes, it was a bit of a long haul up the stairs but no more than some of the tube stations that also didn't have elevators.

I would recommend the Morgan House and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The entry area needs a cleaning, but my room was clean and cozy and the location is great. We had a room with a bath and I would have been unhappy using the communal baths that most rooms share. This is a very narrow house and the stairs are steep with no elevator. So travel light!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Located in Belgravia, a few minutes walk from the tube at Victoria Station. It was easy to get anywhere in London quickly. The room was small, but clean; staff was friendly. The price was excellent for a centrally located London B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recently went to this B&B on a trip to London with my girlfriend. Upon arrival the first thing I noticed was the rather dingy looking communal bathroom at the top of the stairs. The brown carpets in the hallway had a mottled look to them caused by what has obviously been many years of wear. The walls were a pale and uninviting yellow, which lent the place an old fashioned look, and a not wholly unpleasant but very artificial smell (much like Febreze) lingered in the air.
We were greeted by a pleasant man who informed us after our long travel that our room was in fact not ready for our arrival but that we could store our luggage up in the room. After hauling our heavy cases up three flights of stairs we were greeted with a very disappointing and worn looking room. The room we had booked had been described as a double, however we appeared to have been allocated a family room as there was a bunk bed on the one side which took up most of the space in the room. The carpet was mottled and brown again, the walls were littered with what I can only describe as tat; the sort of cross stitch pictures of horses and cats (I can't fully remember what they were) you would find left over at a car boot sale after desperately trying to give them away for free. The en suite bathroom was fairly clean overall, however the grouting in the tiles was stained with mildew and the ceiling was covered in mould. We decided we didn't want to stay after this and went down to reception to tell the pleasant man who had greeted us and someone who I assumed to be the landlady by her very vocal objection to our desire to leave. After stating that we found the place to be unclean and not what we were looking for, the landlady attempted to bully us into staying, all the while shaking her head in disbelief at the things we had to say, and quite rudely and aggressively dismissing our comments. After explaining (for about the 5th time) that the room wasn't as advertised, the place was unclean and grubby and that we were looking to stay somewhere else, we were told that we would have to pay for one night in compliance with their cancellation policy which was not advertised on their website nor explained to us over the phone. After some aggravated discussion we were 'allowed' to leave without charge. We booked a Travelodge and were more than happy with this decision. It was cleaner, more modern and did not have such hostile staff. I would not recommend the Morgan Guesthouse to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this place because of the reviews from Tripadvisor but was didn't enjoy it that much. It wasn't awful but I was expecting to like it more. The location was very good and even as a single woman walking from Victoria Station late at night, I still felt safe. My room was about 6' x 12' but my biggest compaint was the mattress - extremely uncomfortable. Cable TV was good. I left too early to have their breakfast so I can't comment on that but didn't see want the big deal was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Guest House

Address: 120 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Morgan Guest House Hotel London
Guest House London
Morgan House London
Morgan Guest House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.