We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Hatter Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mad Hatter Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mad Hatter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #275 of 1,072 hotels in London
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night only. We wanted to be near the mermaid conference centre, so the location us was great. The room was big and had everything we need. We ordered food in our room and it was lovely!

The only bad things I would say about this hotel is its pricey, we paid £244 for the room only! And breakfast was £12 each.

Overall we would stay here again, if the room price was a bit cheaper and breakfast was included.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear kathryn,
I am very glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and your room service with us.
I am sorry that you felt that the rate was a bit pricey, but i am sure that we can offer you a better deal for your next visit !
Many thanks
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    161
    50
    7
    8
See reviews for
46
115
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent five days using this hotel as our base for a sightseeing visit to London with our late-teenage grand children and were impressed with all aspects of the hotel. The rooms were reasonably spacious, comfortably furnished and in good decorative order; the daily servicing of the rooms was very good; the included breakfast was excellent. The evening meals were also very good, at pub, not restaurant prices.
Access to London was easy either walking along the South Bank, taking the tube from across Blackfriars Bridge, or catching a bus at the stop on the bridge.
If we had a criticism it was the traffic noise in rooms at the front of the hotel, coming from the nearby cross-roads

Room Tip: Rooms on the side opposite the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello I am very grateful for your comments, and we are happy that you choose to stay with us at the Mad Hatter, we are continually improving the guest experience at our hotel, your kind words will surely be passed onto the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel delivered on all its promises. We asked for quiet and were put at the back of the hotel away from the busy road and it was the quietest night in a hotel in London we've ever had. The hotel is comfortable and casual. Not 'smart smart' but our room was a good size and well appointed. Generous tray of drinks in the room, umbrella, ironing board (!) - all very thoughtful and you don't pay extra for these offerings. Great breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and nice old fashioned bar for late night tipple. Brilliant location especially for the Southbank and theatre land. Room clean and tidy and lashings of hot water and soft towels. All great. Would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Alison,
I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the room features, and i hope that you also enjoyed some of our large selection of Malt whiskies for your late night tipple.
Many thanks again,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms that are large for London, great breakfast, awesome south bank location. We love staying here. Oh and great beds! It"s one a busy road so noise can be an issue but more than worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm not really a fan of 'Alice in Wonderland', but after days and days 'wondering' where to stay in London, I came across this hotel. The reviews were fine, not too 'shameful' expensive and greatly located. I'm glad I've opened this door and if coming back to London, I will choose this place. Rooms are not very big but are well decorated and there was free wifi everywhere. Bath towels were really smooth. I only took breakfast there once and it was fine. You have breakfast at the Hotel Pub. I had dinner there twice and food (pie) was really good, it's a must try.
Hope to have been helpful, because choosing a hotel in London it's quite a challenge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the second time at the Mad Hatter overnight on 31st August, having visited the Globe Theatre to see the Scottish Play and I enjoyed it even more this time around ... The crusty oldy worldy atmosphere of the place, which attracted me to start with, is still very evident but the rooms somehow had a slightly fresher feel to them and the food seemed even tastier; there also seems to have been moves at the back of the hotel, to clear the unsightly 19th Century junkyard, which I remember from before. All in all a great place to stay.Convenient for all of the Southbank's attractions, reasonably priced, tasty food, very friendly staff and with bags of Victorian Gothic appeal.

Room Tip: Higher South facing rooms are quiter and offer nicer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed with my family for one night ( occupied 3 x rooms) The general Manager Louis and his team provided a wonderful service throughout making us all feel welcome. I understand the rooms have recently been refurbished which look lovely. The beds are extremely comfortable which is what we all needed for our hectic weekend! To end our stay we had a tasty breakfast, with friendly and very patient staff.
Many thanks Sue and Family x

Room Tip: Contact hotel with any special requirements who will be only too willing to assist you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mad Hatter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Hatter Hotel

Address: 3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#245 Business Hotel in London
#290 Romantic Hotel in London
#307 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Hatter Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Mad Hatter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter London
Hotel Mad Hatter
The Mad Hatter Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Hatter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.