We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you'll get is a wifi-less coffin” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clink 261 Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clink 261 Hostel to your Saves list
Clink 261 Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   261 - 265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Treat!
Ranked #137 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What you'll get is a wifi-less coffin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After living in Japan for 5 years I was not afraid of capsule hotels; but believe me I was virtually terrified about the coffins I found in this place; its hardly 70cm in height and width; 2 meter in length; iron coffins have got no lights, no plug points and it had a nasty stink. I'm not a claustrophobic really; but this clink 261 made me like the one. I could not spend a couple of minutes in the bed; so I thought I would rather spend night in the reception (sitting, not laying down!); but in the middle of my sleep; somewhere 4:45AM; i was rudely interrupted by the receptionist who told me I should not sleep in the reception. Ultimately I ended up spending the night in the street. THIS IS THE WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER SPENT THE NIGHT IN LONDON!

Another silly point; wifi is available but that is not free; 3 pounds per day and is extremely slow (no video calls over skype/no streaming videos in youtube etc)

May I suggest all backpackers; go away from this cemetery; you'll discover the coffins once you get in there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    98
    69
    27
    33
See reviews for
7
36
91
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on a trip to London as part of a university course. I was with four of my friends and we booked to stay in an 18 bed dorm. It was £27 for two nights, which is pretty much the cheapest you can get in central London. The location right next to Kings Cross St Pancras is also really convenient. Breakfast was included, and it was probably the only time I've ever had from a hostel. The showers were also clean and hot, and the staff were really friendly. On the first night I was put in a different dorm from my friends and the reception staff were happy to change my room for the second night.

Now for the more negative part- we didn't really get any sleep. The hostel is incredibly noisy, with people banging doors, talking loudly, and switching the lights on in the dorms at 2am. Someone was even playing Evanescence on their phone at 3am in our dorm one night. I don't know if the hostel can do much about that, but I feel they could do more to try and regulate noise in the corridors.

I think for the price this is a good option, especially if you're just staying in London for a couple of nights and you're going to be going out at night and not particularly worried about sleep quality.

Room Tip: The 18 bed dorms are cheapest, but incredibly noisy. Also, the top bunks are quite difficult to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Reception team at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi there! thanks for taking some time to leave a review about Clink 261. I'm glad to hear that you found our staff friendly, clean and hot showers and convenient location and price.
Sometimes when the hostel is busy, as you know is difficult to keep the noise down. Most of the people are here on holidays and they can forget quite easily about the other people sleeping. That's why we have 24 hours reception, and if sometimes we don't realize if someone is being too noisy, you can go down anytime to report it, so we can ask them to keep the volume down.
Hope you are enjoying your travels and maybe to see you again here at Clink 261 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great Staff makes this place just a perfect solution while you looking accomodation in London. Rooms are clean and spacious, common areas are well designed and also kept clean. Got many great recommendations from the Staff and they made my stay in London !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Reception team at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi there. Thank you so much for your review and nice words. We are very happy to hear that you liked the hostel and our friendly staff, and that you enjoyed your time here. Our best regards for you from all the staff. Keep enjoying your journeys and come back soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was a pleasant stay with a good, comfortable bed. The receptionist are professionals and the rooms are clean. I'll be back soon!
The breakfast could be better but this is just a personal opinion. I haven't tried the swimming pool and the fitness centre but are there any in the hostel?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

i stayed for 3 nights over the weekend, staff were really helpful, rooms were clean enough. location was good, easy walk to the tube. There was limited space to put bags so it cramped up the room. Brekky in the morning was the best I have had from a hostel

Room Tip: was in the all girls room - was okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am currently staying at this hostel and it is fab. It's small, cosy and doesn't accommodate large tour groups like the bigger hostels do (including its sister hostel Clink78). It has no bar therefore it doesn't attract the rowdy people and I can sit and watch TV in the living area without much interruption. However if you want to go for a drink you can mosey on down to the Clink78 and use their bar. It has wifi, a kitchen to cook yourself meals, clean tidy rooms and friendly, helpful, knowledgable staff. It is centrally located and close to Kings Cross underground. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room such as a 8 bed dorm as these rooms tend to be bigger than some of the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

They write that there is internet, but they don't say that it's not for free! They should put free wifi access for those with their own computer/smartphone.
The room was too small for 8 beds and the smell was really bad during the whole day. Overall it was clean and the breakfast (included) was very good.
The staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clink 261 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink 261 Hostel

Address: 261 - 265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink 261 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink261 has been redesigned and refurbished making it a London's most stylish hostel. The feeling is East London; draped in Union Jacks, a picture of the Queen adorning the wall and a cosy fireplace, it screams London! Staying with us puts you right in the centre of London, a short walk away from the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street, Camden Market and many of London's major tourist attractions. So if it's the real London experience you're looking for, come to Clink261! As well as offering a variety of dorm beds and private rooms, we also offer:- - FREE continental buffet breakfast.- FREE bed linen- FREE luggage room storage- FREE safety deposit for valuables- FREE movies on big screen every night- FREE travel information- Fully equipped self-catering kitchen- Female only rooms- Lounge Area: play Wii or kick back and relax in our lounge area with its huge plasma TV- Chic internet room: write emails, talk via skype or share your thoughts on Facebook and Twitter!- Laundry room- Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton and Victoria.- 5 minute walk to St Pancras International - for catching an early train to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Clink 261 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink261 Hotel London
Clink 261 Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clink 261 Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.