We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arosfa to your Saves list
Arosfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cromer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here again for the fourth time. The rooms do vary in size but they are always very comfortable and clean and the hosts very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good. Excellent location for tube and bus and only a short walk to the British Museum. Really excellent value for money, already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    387
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
327
307
227
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Not a bad little place, but not quite as good as others we stayed at. The family suite was a nice size, bad the other rooms we saw were rather small. The suite was actually two rooms with a connecting hallway, with one of the rooms having a small kitchen. The bathroom was in the hallway between the two rooms. Bed linens were new, and the décor was nice, but the building structure may need some work. Lots of creaking floors at night. The bathroom certainly needs an upgrade. There was also no air conditioning. On the positive side, the beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, and the breakfast was very good. We stayed in the Kensington area prior to this and did like that area better. But, this location also had its positives. It was close to Big Ben, the London Eye, etc.... only one tube ride away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Arosfa three times over the period 31 July to 21 August with both my mum and my partner. I cannot speak highly enough of Martin and Liga, the hosts at the property. My mum has mobility issues and Martin and Liga could not do enough to help her out. They were kind and caring, and couldn't do enough to help us out. We left feeling like they were friends.

The hotel is in a brilliant location, central to London, a number of tube stations close by serving a number of lines. There. Plenty of good pubs and restaurants in the vicinity as well.

Yes, the rooms are small, but they are beautifully set out and the renovated bathrooms are quite spacious. And for the price added to the brilliance of the hosts, it's really the best value place to stay in London. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very nice hotel with an ideal location in the charming area of Bloomsbury, in a walking distance from the sights of central London. The rooms are small, but fully enough.
Hotel hosts Liga and Martin are an absolute treasure! They are funny, kind, helpful. Welcoming in every aspect and make you feel very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, suitable for different tastes and requirements. We would also like mark Martin prepare fruit salad for breakfast. They are divine!
There is also a nice and quiet inner garden to chill out. Would definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardanne, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Amazing !!! Cant wait to come back in December !!! Such à good and clean place ! Good breakfast :-) just maybe give us more time before clearing stuff aWay for breakfast. if not it was an excellent time ! Thank you !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family was generally satisfied with this hotel but I did have a couple of gripes. One, the traffic noise on Gower is significant, but as there is no A/C you pretty much have to put up with it. If you are sensitive to traffic noise, ask for a room facing the back. Two, the mattress was a bit old and I felt springs coming through. However, otherwise we were very happy with our stay. There is a charming garden in the back where you can sit and relax after breakfast or after a day on the town.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to traffic noise, beware of rooms facing Gower street. It stays busy all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time here. The location is wonderful, right on the doorstep to some great restaurants and really easy to get onto the tube. The area itself is pretty and really close to the British Museum.

It wasn't just the location which made this a really great stay. The people running the hotel were lovely. They let us leave our bags when we arrived at 8am, and when we came back to check in later that afternoon, they had already carried our bags down the stairs. The breakfast was fantastic, with more selection than I've seen anywhere else (the pink glazed doughnuts at 8am in the morning proved a difficult temptation...) We were there during a heat wave, and they happily gave us their office fan, nothing was really too much. When we needed to leave early, they organised for a breakfast of muffins, fruit and orange juice be placed in our room so we would have something to eat on our way. One of their staff even helped up get our luggage up the stairs when we bumped into him on our way out.

They were just fabulous. Yes, the room size is small, but I suspect that's pretty common for London, and for the price you pay for Arosfa, you simply cannot beat it. If I ever go back to London, this will be the first place I will try for.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arosfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arosfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.