We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arosfa to your Saves list
Arosfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I must confess, after doing the research I chose the Arosfa for a weeks stay in May based on the reviews but mainly based on the price. The Arosfa proved to be more than just good value for the money. The people are what makes the Arosfa a great choice. Nicholas surprised us by greeting us by name as we walked in after a long flight from the Pacific N.W. He made us feel very welcome, offered us a refreshing cold glass of lemonade, explained the breakfast hours for the bank holiday and showed us to our room. Cozy is the word for the room, but that applies to most London hotel rooms. It was clean, nicely decorated and there was plenty of space to put our suitcases. The ensuite bath was sparkling clean. The ground floor room was quite except for a window that rattled when it was windy. No big deal, we fixed that with a wedge of paper.

Liga and Martin were also very warm and welcoming. Each morning they greeted us cheerfully, made sure we were well fed with our choice of full English breakfast (all included in the price) eggs cooked to order, bacon or sausage, beans, brown or white toast and tomatoes, all the coffee or tea we wanted and delivered with a smile and pleasant morning conversation. Also available were the usual meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal fruit and juices.

The Arosfa is well located too. A short walk to one of 3 underground (tube) stations and as many bus stations. It is less than a 15 minute walk to the British Museum. The Arosfa is in the heart of the "campus" of the University of London and near many restaurants.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Arosfa again, not just because of the "good value" but because of Nicholas, Liga, Martin and the rest of the staff that made us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We were assigned room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    444
    63
    20
    13
See reviews for
380
348
267
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I only stayed one night in April but as soon as I was greeted at the door and welcomed in to the lounge to "register", I understood why the Arosfa receives such glowing reviews. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast is great. Room 11 was small but it had everything I needed for a short stay. And yes, even though it faced Gower street, it was very quiet. The bathroom was as impressive as those of much more expensive hotels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights, and Liga and Martyn were very kind and made us feel very welcome throughout the entire stay. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean, and the freshly cooked English Breakfast every morning was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the time I arrived until the time I left, I was made to feel at home by all at the Arosfa. The rooms are small (but for London, especially in a hotel at this price that's standard), but spotlessly clean and attractively furnished. The breakfast was terrific, fruit, yoghurt etc, for those who want it or a Full English Breakfast (I happen to be a vegetarian and the breakfast was adapted to suit me), and excellent coffee. There were other small touches that impressed, the use of a comfortable guest lounge with computer and big screen TV, books that could be borrowed, fruit in the rooms (apples), the use of a house umbrella when the British weather did its thing, a very good wifi connection in the room, but most of all, it was the staff that made my stay pleasurable. I would gladly recommend the Arosfa to anyone looking for a charming and comfortable hotel in London, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel and the area feels very safe. From the window and around the garden are very grand buildings. The sun shone in the window and on the little window box which was in flower. Room 6 is a small double but has a ceiling fan and everything organised to make the best of the space. 5 star bathroom. Spotless place. You cannot hear the traffic hardly at all. Everyone is very efficient and friendly and they deserve to do very well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Water Orton nr Birmingham, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on Friday 3 May as I had planned to take her to see 'Matilda' for her 21st birthday treat. Liga and Martyn were very kind and friendly and said their home was ours for the night which made us feel very welcome. When we got to our room, a vase of daffodils, a bunch of balloons and a birthday card was waiting for Katie - very unexpected but lovely.
The hotel is in an ideal location being only a 10 minutes walk from Euston station and only 20/25 minutes to Covent Garden. Our room was 'bijou' but might be a little too small for more than one night's stay. Don't hesitate, its excellent value!

Room Tip: there is no lift; however, Martyn carries the cases upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to Paris and were very pleased with our stay.
The room we had was clean and comfortable but very small by North American standards. I thought some people might not have actually fit into the en-suite although it had everything we needed! Lack of elevator might be hard on some people. We had a lot of luggage and a very kind strong young man carried them up for us.
The location was very good. Quiet but with easy access to all the sights. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Served our hearty breakfast early so we could catch the train. Juice for our trip and heart shaped marmite samples much appreciated.
A great place I would recommend to anyone and we will certainly stay there again when we are back in London.

Room Tip: Lack of elevator might make higher floors difficult for the less fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#110 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#251 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,507 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#69 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#254 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#64 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston
Premier Inn London Euston
#105 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#135 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arosfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.