We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa

Save Saved
You added Arosfa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Arosfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,069 hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Possibly the smallest room I have stayed in so far in London, with the smallest en-suite ever.
However, all over nice experience and friendly attentive staff and great value for money.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a double, i had a tiny single
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    684
    356
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
301
268
204
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberrüti
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Arofa Hotel. We were 2 familys staying with our teenage daughters. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and our luggage was carried up the rooms. The rooms were very clean and we had nothing to complain. We had a hairblower in our room and also a charger for our european cables which both was very helpful. The breakfast was really nice. It had a nice prepared buffet and and you could also have an english breakfast.
We also liked the sitting lounge next to the front door. As it is a old London House it doesn't have an elevator.
We will definitively come back to London and stay at the Arosfa.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Traveled to the UK and stayed at the Arosfa for 3 nights last week. This was my second stay at this hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Great service from Lega and Martin, the new managers. I had an early flight from Heathrow yesterday morning and would be unable to eat breakfast in the breakfast room so Martin and Lega brought a plate of fruit, juice, and some pastries to my room the night before so I could eat early before my departure. It was such a great experience and a great place for a woman traveling alone. They are excellent hosts, offering advice on travel, offer tea or coffee during breaks from sight seeing. A wonderful experience and I highly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Not a place for older people who have difficulty climbing stairs. This home was built during a time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for a shopping trip last weekend and loved this hotel. The local is perfect (about 3 minute walk to tube station, 8 mins to Oxford st and 15-20 mins walk to Covent Garden). Tessa and Atila were extremely helpful providing us with everything we needed including advice on getting around, help with our luggage etc. The breakfast was perfect with a continental style buffet and cooked breakfast made to order. The rooms were clean and well equiped but small (as to be expected in London). The bathrooms are tiny which didnt bother us but could be awkward for others. All in all this is a lovely cosy hotel and I would return for the convenience, hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been to London a few times and this was by far the best stay I have had. Tessa and staff were welcoming and friendly, and made my family's stay more comfortable than could have been expected.

The hotel is also conveniently located in the Bloomsbury district. We had our pick of transport modes as the underground stations, rail station and bus stops were all within walking distance. That could be said of Oxford Street, Covent Garden and Tottenham Court Road as well.

Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable, and for that we have to give special thanks to Attila and staff for accommodating our vegetarian diets. The rooms were also well made up and clean. The lounge allows for you to relax, read, and use the computers if needed.

I would strongly recommend Arosfa to anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very friendly couple running the hotel - always with a smile and helpful with advise for visiting London.

Beautiful old building nicely decorated with flowers, pictures etc.

Great breakfast (freshly prepared and served bacon, egg, sausage, fresh fruit etc.)

Brilliant location 5 minutes walk from the tube station and approximately 15 minutes walk from Oxford Street, Covent Garden etc.

Only drawback is that some of the rooms / bathrooms are very, very tiny. No lift (ask for floor if you have problem with stairs).

Proposed transport to the hotel: 2 km (< £10 in a taxi) to the bus stop of Easybus from Stansted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great little hotel in central location, spotlessly clean throughout, lovely decor & great breakfast. Attila & Tessa are excellent hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. Very reasonably priced for such a good location with lots of lovely pubs and restaurants close by. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arosfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa

Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London
Arosfa London, England
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Arosfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.