We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, clean hotel with friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arosfa to your Saves list
Arosfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“great value, clean hotel with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was very chuffed with this hotel for £75/night in central London. Beats some of the costly hotels I've stayed at by far. On arriving, I was greeted at the door by Tessa who took me into the communal lounge - a lounge with hot and cold drinks, a big TV, book and 2 computers with internet (although the internet was incredibly slow). I was given my keys and told of the breakfast times. On hearing that the 8-9:30am breakfast would be too late for me, Tessa offered to do me take-out breakfast or an earlier breakfast. I was then shown to my room. A small room, but clean and sufficient, with the big overhead showers as well as a shower on a hose. There were a few little things around the room to modernise and prettify it, including a clock that needed batteries... Forgot to bring my toothbrush and toothpaste but was kindly given some. Main complaint was you could hear people from the floors below and it got quite loud from about 9:30pm, from the groups of people talking. Lovely place though in a great location and plenty of choice at breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: some floors have several rooms on them and other just one. Ask for a room on a floor with just one r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    376
    50
    19
    12
See reviews for
325
294
220
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Third time I stayed at the Arosfa, and it was wonderful. Breakfast was great, the room was recently refurbished and looked amazing, lovely clean room and bathroom. We also enjoyed the lounge area with the computer with internet acces. Tessa and Atilla, thanks!

Room Tip: Room 12, great double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We rented a triple room, which had a double and two single beds. It was large, nicely decorated and had everything we needed in it, including wi-fi. The bathroom was small, but perfectly serviceable. I had an email from Tessa a couple of days before arrival, confirming our stay and checking if we needed late arrival help. Tessa was there to welcome us and made us feel very much at home. She helped with bus/tube information and was willing to offer any other assistance we required. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very quiet - we all slept soundly. Breakfast was fantastic - lots of selection and plenty of food. We left our bags there the following day, while we did some sightseeing, and we collected them around 5pm, which made life so much easier for us. The staff/owners were very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend staying here - it's where I will stay on future trips.

Room Tip: Our room was a triple and faced into the back garden - very quiet. The bathroom was very small, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We received a great welcome from the Arosfa team. The room itself was lovely, clean, tidy and modern. A lovely breakfast and a very nice shower, excellent location. A great find and reasonably priced!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is definitely the best I've ever found in London for less than £100 per night - and better than many twice or three times that price. The owners and staff are all extremely pleasant and welcoming. The room was fine - very clean, good furnishings and accessories (tea/coffee making). Like just about every budget hotel in central London the bathroom was minute, but nevertheless, clean and functional. The "icing on the cake" was an excellent breakfast - very large choice, excellent produce and friendly, professional service. This will be my first choice hotel in central London from now on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wondelgem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Arosfa hotel can be found in a great location. Near St. Pancras and a short walk away from many fine places in London. Finding public transport or taxis won't be an issue either.

Rooms are clean and spacious enough for London standards. Noise was no issue in mine either. My bathroom was extremely tiny but that's to be expected as the building obviously limits the owners in what they can achieve.

The English breakfast is made specifically for you which makes it tastier than what you get in lots of other hotels. As it is a small hotel breakfast is also where you can judge how the other guests feel and it was a great display of smiling faces.

This is the perfect hotel to get a cosy comfy feeling while enjoying London. You'll surely feel at home. Especially because the hotel staff are the perfect ambassadors.

While I do discover hotels during business trips and hence stay one or two nights only it wouldn't be fair to judge Arosfa based on its appeal to business people. In general this is the kind of place where you should not expect to find last-minute rooms as it deserves to be full. Especially the larger rooms allow you to stay in a prime location at an unbeatable price when visiting with a family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night to avoid the last train home thing. Great welcome, well appointed room, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, free wifi, decent tv and breakfast was excellent - buffet or full English. For the price, couldn't find fault with this BnB and would stay again. Our room was on the back of the hotel and hence quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arosfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in London
#52 Family Hotel in London
#121 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arosfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.