We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and location - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa

Save Saved
You added Arosfa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arosfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 1,075 hotels in London
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and location - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I would agree that the staff and service at this hotel is excellent, Tessa is so welcoming and helpful. The lounge area is a lovely space to relax if you wanted to, with free tea/coffee (and biscuits!). The location was great, it is within 10 mins (easy) walk from Euston Station and 5 mins from Tottenham Court Rd/Charlotte St where there are plenty of places to eat. The room I stayed in (no.9) was tiny but well equipped, which I expected, and it was great; I had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was lovely, I cannot fault this hotel at all and I would definitely stay here again when I am next in London.

Room Tip: The ensuite bathroom in room 9 could be a little too cosy if you are slightly bigger than average!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    723
    369
    46
    17
    12
See reviews for
312
285
214
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and were delighted with our room and especially the welcome we received. Highly recommended as a central London hotel that is good value (for London) and excellent.customer service from the couple who run it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best welcome I have ever received at an hotel. We arrived early at the Arosfa and we were concerned about our luggage. However, Tessa showed us through to her dining room and offered us beverages and a friendly conversation. The hotel is located in historic Bloomsbury and all the attractions are a short journey away. Our room was at the top of this fine Georgian townhouse, but was rather cramped and dated. Tessa and Attila assured me they were in the process of refurbishing all the rooms. They went on to show me their refitted garden room which was most impressive. We were there for only one night and would definitely stay again. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I just finished a lovely five night stay at this marvelous hotel. Tessa and Attila were excellent hosts, friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is close to the British museum and conveniently located near Euston, Googe and Russell Square tube stations. We had a very quiet triple room on the same floor as the restaurant. The washroom was newly renovated and the room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit salads and 'continental' offerings followed by 'full English' breakfast cooked to order.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Arosfa is an outstanding 'bijou' guest house - a real jewel of a place to stay in London (not the cheapest of cities). There is little I can add to what is said in previous reviews: the location is very convenient for walking to the British Museum, the West End, and the LSE and UCL universities; also for trains (Euston and the 'tube' - Goodge Street, for north-south travel, and Euston Square, East-West - all about 10-minutes walk, even at my snail's pace); the house is beautifully and tastefully furnished, with a very comfortable residents' lounge; my single room was small, but had a great bed, TV and shower and was spotlessly clean (fresh towels every day) with free fast wi-fi; the breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit salads and 'continental' offerings followed by 'full English' or variants thereof - all cooked to order with good ingredients and not at all at the greasy end of 'full Englishes' that one still can find elsewhere. The welcome and attentive service from hosts Tessa and Attila is outstandingly friendly and helpful - they are a good source of advice on local restaurants, of which there are many, again within easy walking distance. I am sad to confess that I am by no means a dog-lover, but if they all were like the bijou house pet Frankie even I might be converted. If you want lots of space, a hotel bar and restaurant, this is not the place for you.....but if you are looking for outstanding quality and value in a jewel of a London guest house you could hardly do better. I never discovered what the word 'Arosfa' means - a Welsh word, apparently (my Welsh friends tell me in a vague way) it has one of those meanings that the English just don't understand!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorgues
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

many thanks to the staff for his warmful hospitality: from the very beginning until the end everything was perfect : I really appreciated the fresh fruit salad, which had nothing to see with a tinned one ! the man who served us was very helpful and adapted himself to our foreign English with kind attention. our booking has been upgraded from a triple room to a penthouse at the top of the hotel !! two rooms, kitchen, separate bathroom we were like kings, without any extra charge at all ! amazing !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have spent the last two nights here at The Arosfa, it was excellent, good value for money and very clean with fantastic decor.
The hosts could not do enough for you and the best bit is Frankie the dog.
We have already book to come back next year.
Its about 15 minutes walk to Covent Garden and the same to St Pancras
Sharon & Bridget xxxxx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arosfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#38 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arosfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.