We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arosfa to your Saves list
Arosfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
lorgues
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

many thanks to the staff for his warmful hospitality: from the very beginning until the end everything was perfect : I really appreciated the fresh fruit salad, which had nothing to see with a tinned one ! the man who served us was very helpful and adapted himself to our foreign English with kind attention. our booking has been upgraded from a triple room to a penthouse at the top of the hotel !! two rooms, kitchen, separate bathroom we were like kings, without any extra charge at all ! amazing !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nottingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have spent the last two nights here at The Arosfa, it was excellent, good value for money and very clean with fantastic decor.
The hosts could not do enough for you and the best bit is Frankie the dog.
We have already book to come back next year.
Its about 15 minutes walk to Covent Garden and the same to St Pancras
Sharon & Bridget xxxxx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaggyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here while going to a gig in Camden Town (15minute walk away). The Arosfa is a lovely little place and perfect to use as a base for roaming around central London. It's more of a B&B then a "hotel" but it doesn't suffer from it. The staff are friendly and helpful, the communal living room is gorgeous and has two computers for guests to use. The room I had was small but i'm 6' 2" and found it of a perfect size for what I needed. It was warm, well lit, the shower was good and the bed was so comfortable I missed breakfast!

One thing to note is that there is no lift/elevator in the building. My room was up 3 flights of stairs which was no problem but people with limited mobility may want to get a room on a lower floor.

The Arosfa is a few minutes walk from Euston Square and Goodge Street tube stations and a short walk to Oxford Street. I had a good experience staying in this hotel and i'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGilleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been doubting between very good and excellent in this review. Finnaly, I have decided the Arosfa Hotel deserves an excellent. Let you tell you why:

The Arosfa plays in the so to speak "Small hotels in a house in London" league. You find a lot of this kind around Victoria Station, near Earls Court or, in this case, in Bloomsbury. In fact, many times you could miss the entrance to your hotel and finish in another one as they are lined one besides the other in the same street. Inside: Same thing too: A reception, living area in the ground floor, breakfast room in the basement and rooms scattered in any corner or the first, second and sometimes third floor. They are usually in the cheap side of the scale and include breakfast in the rate. So, what make Arosfa different?

There are three things in my opinion. First is good taste, in the very nice living room, almost the same you could fine in many boutique hotels, in the rooms decoration... Second, practicality; I was in a single room and even it was really small, you had everything you need: a nice bed, good shower, wifi, a nice TV with plenty of channels. And third, and most important, service: It is not only the hotel is full of details, from fresh fruit in your room to cookies in the living room, and coffee and tea in both. it is that these people seem to care about their customers, they seem to listen - as in my case - to your concerns when making a reservation ("You asked for a quiet room and you were worried about the wifi signal"). Simple, yes but, why don't hotels do this?. The guys in Arosfa do it.

Expect a nice room, small (that`s common in London), clean (not so common), a filling breakfast (included ni the rate even in the english version) and nice and attentive staff at a very good price and situation in London and you won't be dissapointed. I was not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ARUANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with my husband & teenage son. Great location. We walked from St Pancreas station. Close to West End, British Museum & Oxford street. Typical small London room. Not much room for 3 people. Breakfast was very good. The owners, Tess & Atilla were very helpful. We had an early flight. They organised a car to get us to the airport for 4:15 am. They even prepared a breakfast for us. Also helpful re transport etc. would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAS_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

In snowy London I ended my week at the small, cosy and well run Arosfa hotel in Gower Street number 83. The first night I was upgraded to a double room at the ground floor, facing the garden where the trees were covered with snow. The room was kept in nice colours, everything was clean and an apple were greeting me with fresh scent from the mantelpiece.
Bathroom was delicate and inviting. I felt at home at once. And as quiet as snow, a miracle in a metropolis.
I had been welcomed warmly by Tessa, the hostess, who runs the place together with Atilla. She asked what she could do for me in the most caring way, and provided informations of both the hotel and the surroundings in a very sympathetic manner. Arosfa is close to two of London's most important attraction: The British Museum with it's impressive record of our common history, and Charlotte Street with its many good restaurants. The Goodge Street tube station on the Northern line is five small minutes away, and walking to the West End is an easy business. This is Bloomsbury and Fitzrovia, with it's academic and intellectual history. And one may wander around getting inspired to read about the Bloomsbury group. The Woods, the Straccans, the Fosters, the Carringtons and so on. The Fitzroy Tavern. It is all part of the history of Art and Litterature.

Beside it's good location, small, cosy, beautiful rooms, the atmosphere created by Attilla and Tessa, I will also give my praise to the outstandingly well equipped livingroom with computers, fresh lemonade, water and coffee, tea and ice-cubes and good chairs and books.
And at last, bur not least:
The stylishly decorated breakfast room. Fruit, pastry, ham and cheese, juices, confiture and the real thing: A perfect English breakfast. And above all: The best coffee I have got in England through out the more than thirty years I've been a regular visitor.
Taste and warmth is the essence of this establishment.

Room Tip: room number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#66 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,606 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#111 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#67 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,033 reviews
The Hide London
#70 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#103 Best Value Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arosfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing