We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute pleasure, position perfect, excellent staff, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa

Save Saved
You added Arosfa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arosfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 1,073 hotels in London
Melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An absolute pleasure, position perfect, excellent staff, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This a bed and breakfast in London, so the rooms are small but it absolutely doesn't matter. They are well designed and spotlessly clean. The highlight though is the staff, they try their utmost to help you with maps, directions, recommendations, helping with your bags or anything to make your stay more pleasant. The breakfast has everything you could want, yoghurts, fresh fruits, cheeses, cold cuts, cereals, pastries, eggs juices, tea, coffee etc., much better than expected.
The position is excellent we easily walked to the theatres , the shops and the British Museum also the tube is very close.
I would highly recommend this B and B

Room Tip: I stayed in the smallest room and my children stayed in the largest,and they were jealous of the cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    725
    368
    47
    18
    12
See reviews for
316
288
215
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Yet another stay at this super little hotel once again did not let us down. Tessa and her staff cannot do enough for you from getting in to leaving. Some of the rooms can be on the small side, but once you get to know the place you will get to know which rooms to ask for.

Ideal for Central London with Goodge St and Russell Sq being close by

Room Tip: book direct with the hotel, saves you and the hotel money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughters and i have just returned from a weekend break at the Arosfa. On arrival we were greeted by Attila, who together with Tessa, were the friendliest hosts I have ever had the pleasure of staying with.
During check in, Attila helped us to get our bearings offering great advice on the nearest attractions and the easiest walking and tube routes to them.
We were shown to our room which although compact was spotless and comfortable (3 adults sharing triple room). The size of the room was not an issue as we were in London to sightsee, shop and visit the Theatre, not stay indoors.
Breakfast was just what we needed to start the day. No one could go hungry at the Arosfa. We ate a continental breakfast, including doughnuts, toast, yoghurts and more! this was promptly followed by a cooked breakfast.
A selection of hot and cold drinks were available.
We left our bags in the hotel on the day of departure (at the insistence of our hosts) leaving us free to enjoy London without the hassle of lugging heavy bags. When arriving to collect we were met by Tessa who offered us drinks and the use of the lounge until our train home.
All in all a wonderful stay. Next time I visit London this is definitely the hotel I will be booking and would have no hesitation in recommending to all!
Thanks Attila and Tessa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at the Arosfa in August 2012 and returned after 3 weeks touring the UK to stay another 5 nights in September.
We were very happy with our stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. On our first visit we had a ground floor room at the back of the property and on our return, a room on the first floor at the front. We found both rooms to be quiet and well equipped with everything we needed.
There is a lovely communal lounge area where you can relax, have a chilled water, coffee, use the computers or read books/magazines. At the rear of the property is a small courtyard area to relax in after a hard days sightseeing.
The location is great. It is a perfect base to see the sights of London from. It is a flat easy walk to any one of 5 tube stations servicing the Hammersmith, Circle, Central, Northern, Piccadilly, Victoria & Metropolitan lines. Oxford and Regent Streets are only a flat 10 to 15 minute walk away. There are fast food outlets, café/restaurants and pubs close by and it’s only a short cab ride, or slightly longer walk, to most of the West End Theatres.
Breakfast was served each morning with both hot and cold options on offer. The food was fresh and nicely presented.
Attila and Tessa were very obliging and friendly and are both very knowledgeable of the city sights and amenities. Pricewise it is very good value for money. We found this little gem of a hotel to be one of the best hotels we stayed in on our 5 week journey throughout the British Isles. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw - Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It 'a great place to spend a few days in London. Very well located and close to the metro station. The owners live here and are very very friendly, give a lot of information about the city. They also have a dog that helps make the atmosphere even more welcoming. The room was not so big but very cozy, the breakfast was great. When we return to London will definitely return here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Small but very clean and comfortable single room. Awkward shower and toilet due to space, but the welcome, cleanliness and quality of breakfast more than made up for that. The location was perfect for me, being close to UCL and Euston Station. Great value, will definitely stay there again on my next trip to London. Well done Attila and Tessa, you deserve every success.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovde, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The service from the hostcouple couldn`t be better. My room was very small, especially the bathroom, but it was all functioning well and was clean, so I liked it. The room was att the gardenside and it was quiet. There was only steps, byt you didn`t need to care for how to get your luggage up and down because the owners allready have done what was needed. For breakfast you could get what you want of normal food and it was included in the price, for exampel full english breakfast. Wi-fi in the house and internet in the diningroom is free and functioning. The hosts lived in the hotel themselves, so it was a "safe" place. Even the streets leading to the two underground stations nearby and the nearest way to Trafalgar square was safe to walk in the evening, I felt. Walking to Trafalgar takes 22 minuts.

Woman, 64 years old, spending 7 nights in a singelroom

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arosfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in London
#51 Family Hotel in London
#103 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arosfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.