We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morgan Hotel
Save Saved
You added Morgan Hotel to your Saves list
24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #63 of 530 London B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent six nights at this small, family-run hotel, following the recommendation of a friend, and would definitely go there again. The location is excellent, just around the corner from the British Museum, at walking distance from the Covent Garden and shopping areas, and less than 5 minutes on foot from the Central line metro station. Our double room was very clean, comfortable, with adequate furnishing (a small but functional closet, a safe, two chairs and a sitting table, a stand for a suitcase). The bed was extremely comfortable. The room faced the main street, but the double window kept it well insulated from the traffic noise. The bathroom was very small, but modern and spotlessly clean. Full English breakfast was served every morning, and also someone used to continental breakfast could do fairly well with fresh toast, jam, cereals and yogurt. Mind you, of course it is not a 4-star hotel and you’ll have to put up with some minor inconveniences: the walls between rooms are thin and you can hear a good deal from your neighbours, the shower niche is pretty narrow and someone may find it rather inconvenient, and if you have many pieces of luggage you won’t have much room to spread them around. There is no lift, but we got help with our suitcases and it was no problem in the end. Overall a good-value choice, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    179
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
78
157
60
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My colleague and I spent five days at The Morgan in October. We were totally charmed by the accommodations, the friendly staff and especially the shockingly delicious breakfasts. There are eggs, bacon, sausage, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, cereal, juice and fruit to get us tourists started on our brisk walking days. Our top-floor room was cozy, like a stateroom. We did have to walk up five floors to reach it. But that is what London is about: swift striding from place to place, and marching up and down Tube staircases. That explains why everyone there is thin, in spite of the hearty breakfast! I highly recommend the Morgan for those with the legs to mount the stairs.

Room Tip: Top floors are fine for those with strong legs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me, my husband and our 3 month old stayed in one of the suites at the Morgan in last Oct. It's around the corner from the British Museum and just a few blocks from two different underground stations. There are a ton of restaurants, news agents, etc. within a few blocks walk.

The room is large, clean, comfortable and a bit homey. There was even a little kitchenette with a mini fridge, microwave and fridge.

The hot breakfast provided is great! It's made to order and they even accommodated my dairy allergy.

The hotel is split into different buildings. Ex. we had to exit our building and enter another one to access the breakfast. It wasn't an issue...just thought it would help.

My only complaint is the noise from delivery trucks at the museum VERY early in the morning.

Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and this would be the first place we'd check upon our next visit to London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A great deal, a clean and friendly hotel and a awesome English breakfas. Walking distance to many sights. David and his staff are fantastic. Book a room at the back and you will never know the traffic is only a few feet away. Will come again for sure.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back. Can't hear a sound from the street in these rooms. If you have troubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I, and our friends from Louisville (another couple) stayed at the Morgan Hotel during the 2012 London Olympics for 9 nights. It is an excellent place to stay and I have nothing but praise for it.

It is located in Bloomsbury, around the corner from the British Museum, and just 3 blocks walk to Tottenham Court Road underground station on the Central (red) line. There is also a bus stop 50 feet from the hotel entrance.

Everything about the hotel is well kept. Our room (207, one stair flight up from the entrance level) was excellently and efficiently laid out, well furnished, very clean, and fresh looking. It had wall-hung nightstands (with lights) on both sides of the bed; an open closet with clothes rod, 4-5 shelves, 2 drawers, and a safe; 2 side chairs and an end table; a flat panel TV mounted in an upper corner of the room; a compact bathroom with sliding entry door, sink, toilet, and shower stall; plenty of hot water in the shower, provided by one of those instant hot water units; and an in-room air conditioner unit mounted high on a wall, with a remote control, that worked great. The bed was comfortable and we were able to store our suitcases underneath the bed. They even provide a washcloth in the bathroom, which we often found missing in our travels around England.

The room rate includes a full English breakfast served 7-9AM in a breakfast room one flight of stairs down from the entrance level (watch your head going down). Breakfast options include self-service corn flakes, orange juice, bananas, and milk; and table service of eggs cooked to order (with sides of tomato, sausage, and bacon), hot toast brought on a caddy, and your own little pot of coffee.

The owner, his sons, and staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped with our luggage, directed us to an attended launderette (laundromat) less than 10 minutes walk away, and booked a private car to Heathrow for us (50 pounds + tip).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Couldn't have been happier with the location and service. Basic, clean, comfortable, good breakfast, within easy walking distance of theaters, British Museum and good food and drinking spots. These folks go the second mile. Felt completely comfortable as a solo traveler. I'll go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent two nights at the Morgan in early September. The room was very comfortable. Bed was great, and the A/C was superb. The room and bathroom were spotless and modern. There was plenty of room to spread out. We were on the same floor as the entrance, so we did not have to get our bags up the stairs. The hallways are narrow, so that could be a little difficult for some. Breakfast was very good...nothing extraordinary, but more than adequate. The hotel is very convenient to the West End, Picadilly Circus, theaters, etc. Given the average price of hotel rooms in London, this is very good value and good quality for the price paid.

Room Tip: Room 202 was excellent, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Hotel

Address: 24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 530 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan Hotel is family owned and has been run by the Ward family since 1978. It has recently been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. It is superbly located in the heart of London and is only a few minutes walk from the British Museum, West End Shopping, Theatres and Restaurants. The tastefully decorated rooms are all air-conditioned and all offer new en suite facilities, Colour TV with CNN, Personal Room Safes, Direct dial telephones with modem point.All our rooms have voicemail, so messages can be left for you while you are out enjoying the local sights. Please note that we do not have a lift, so our rooms may not be appropriate for those who require wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morgan Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.