We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Home Base in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morgan Hotel
Save Saved
You added Morgan Hotel to your Saves list
24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 525 London B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Home Base in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent two nights at the Morgan in early September. The room was very comfortable. Bed was great, and the A/C was superb. The room and bathroom were spotless and modern. There was plenty of room to spread out. We were on the same floor as the entrance, so we did not have to get our bags up the stairs. The hallways are narrow, so that could be a little difficult for some. Breakfast was very good...nothing extraordinary, but more than adequate. The hotel is very convenient to the West End, Picadilly Circus, theaters, etc. Given the average price of hotel rooms in London, this is very good value and good quality for the price paid.

Room Tip: Room 202 was excellent, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    178
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
77
157
60
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My 12 yr old son and I stayed at the Morgan Hotel for 9 nights during the Olympics. We had an apartment on the 2nd floor for 6 nights and a hotel room for the last 3 nights. The apartment was fantastic - it really is an apartment with full size bathroom, separate shower and tub, large mirror etc. There is a separate toliet room. It has a large bedroom, perfect for us with double and single beds, and a large living room with couch, chair, good size TV and small dining table and chairs. The pictures on the website don't do justice to the actual size of the apartment. The "kitchen" is very small, but usable with sink, small fridge, microwave, dishes, and cabinet. Worth every bit of the 190 pounds a night. The hotel room we had to change to was very small as are all rooms in London. (made our reserv. a year ahead but only 6 nights in apt available!) Bathroom still good size but very little room around the bed, and only one small chair. Small TV high in corner of room. Doable for 3 nights, would have been very hard for nine.
The owners here cannot be beat for their service and assistance. For our first trip to London we so appreciated having them answer questions etc rather than being in a "no host" apt somewhere. The breakfast was great. John took our order each day and everything was quick and delicious. Many choices, yogurt, fruit, cereal, juices, to go along with your hot order.
I'd advise using Russel Square, rather than Holborn for tube to/from Heathrow as there is a elevator rather than all stairs. Try to arrive/depart midday.
Overall, great location. Near tube on Central line. Near grocery store. Just around corner from British Museum. Wish we could return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A friend & I stayed there for 10 nights during the Olympics and had an apartment on the 3rd floor for 190 pounds/nt. We loved the location, so close to everything especially the tube. Walked to the theatres, Soho, Hyde Pk - you name it, we walked there. Was easy to get to from Heathrow - tube to Holborn and 600mt walk to hotel. Although I wouldnt like to try the tube with suitcases in peak hour. The night guy was a little grumpy but other staff were friendly. They were not too good on advising of train/bus routes to tourist spots but thats what the internet is for. Breakfast was great and included. Our only complaint was the hot water on 2 mornings ran out after one shower. I would definately stay there again as our experience was all good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed with Morgan Hotel end of July 2012 and were given the top room on the 3rd or 4th floor. This hotel has no lifts which we knew. I liked staying there and the staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good also but I got really annoyed when we complained to David about the shower being broken. There was hardly any hot water and he did explain that we were to ru the shower for a long time and he said to us that the shower head was broken and needed replacing but he didn't replace it. Out of everything I look for in a hotel is a decent shower and I did feel that the shower head should have been replaced without us nagging him. We were booked in for 4 nights for the second week in August after our holiday in Spain but I canceled it and it booked with another place which was way cheaper as well.

Morgan's was really central and close to everything but we just got a bit annoyed with the shower, and you know what I bet it's still broken!!!!

Room Tip: No lifts so if that bothers you ask for rooms on lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in room 215(top floor, back of hotel) for five nights in June-July. I had requested this because other reviewers had stated how quiet it was. We walked everywhere for 5 weeks in Europe, but she said the steps would not be missed(no lift but we are very fit). Great owners, however the night guy did have a "matter of fact" attitude. We enjoyed the included breakfast and the high level of service. Quality for a reasonable price in a very expensive city.

Room Tip: Top backside of hotel was quiet(#215)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position. It offers good clean accomodation and efficient, friendly service. No complaints.
Cost was £130 b&b for a spacious twin room, good valu for this part of London. Walking distance from a lot of interesting places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was my second stay at the Morgan. My previous stay was for 8 days. My daughter and I had a double room which coincidentally was the same as the one I had before. It looked newly renovated with everything in pristine condition. We felt very safe and comfortable. David was very kind and helpful. Our bags were brought up to our room because we had arrived before checkin.
The breakfast was excellent in the choices that were offered each morning and in its meticulous preparation. The toiletries provided were of good quality and the towels were very clean and fluffy. The bed was also soft and comfortable. We slept very well at night and woke up early because we looked forward to breakfast. We were able to walk to St Pancras to take the Eurostar to Paris, to the British Museum, Chinatown, Oxford Street.
I highly recommend The Morgan Hotel because David, like John is caring and friendly. More like staying over with friends in a very hospitable and professionally run hotel. I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have problems going up stairs, do let them know before booking. I did and both times, they di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Hotel

Address: 24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan Hotel is family owned and has been run by the Ward family since 1978. It has recently been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. It is superbly located in the heart of London and is only a few minutes walk from the British Museum, West End Shopping, Theatres and Restaurants. The tastefully decorated rooms are all air-conditioned and all offer new en suite facilities, Colour TV with CNN, Personal Room Safes, Direct dial telephones with modem point.All our rooms have voicemail, so messages can be left for you while you are out enjoying the local sights. Please note that we do not have a lift, so our rooms may not be appropriate for those who require wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morgan Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.