We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, shame about the noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jenkins Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jenkins Hotel to your Saves list
Jenkins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Cartwright Gardens, Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EH, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #726 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, shame about the noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here mid week, the location is excellent..only a few minutes walk away from Euston and Kings Cross. I was given a basement room which was ok but seemed very noisy, there was also a distinct lack of plugs (there was only one and I had to pull the beds out to get access to it).
Breakfast was nice.
Would go back but ask for a quieter room.

Room Tip: Dont go for a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    40
    33
    29
See reviews for
19
52
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location for King's Cross and St Pancras, as well as a neighborhood with laundries, pubs, stores. Room fine, staff at desk excellent, breakfast good, but could use more variety (6 days, the choice was getting old. Will say, people saying this has small rooms, need to check the price the paid - rooms right for price. Avoid basement, just because sort of depressing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Despite having seen bad reviews of the hotel, I was lured into booking it by being told that it had been entirely renovated recently. Despite being renovated, and despite the fact that affordable hotels in Bloomsbury tend to be bad, the hotel was a huge disappointment. My room was on the last floor, difficult to access. The hotel doesn't have reception of its own, and one must cross the street to check-in at Judd (where they serve breakfast). The room was stuffy and had a smell that was a mixture of old, dodgy place and of paint. The window could only be opened ajar, for being blocked. Even though I travelled on my own, I booked a double room, knowing that single rooms are generally really small. But this "double" room was barely large enough for one person. There was no place to open one's suitcase or leave things. Breakfast is simply pathetic. But worst of all was the service. I was treated rudely both by the stuff in the breakfast hall and by the receptionist. They also make you sign documents when you check in, but don't give you a copy of what you sign; beware of what you sign (if you ever get the misfortune of ending up in this hotel).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at Jenkins Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you ‘IsadoraS’ for posting your review of our hotel.
The hotel has been recently refurbished to a high standard as you point out. You were allocated a good size double bedroom on the third floor of the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have and therefore do not advertise one. We are not allowed to install a lift due to planning restrictions which is typical of all the hotels in the area.
The reception for the Jenkins Hotel is in our sister hotel no more than 10 meters away which you would have been aware of at the time of booking. The original sash window in you room has a restrictor on it to stop it from opening all the way. This is done for Health and Safety reasons and is mandatory under UK law.
After talking at length with the hotel supervisor about your review it seems your biggest issue with the hotel was that there was no guest lounge for you to sit in and socialise with other guests as you were a female traveling on your own. My staff did their utmost to try and help with all your issues but despite all their best efforts you decided to find another hotel on the same crescent and check out early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night and was given a basement room that was the smallest I have ever stayed in. The furniture was just a bed and an old dining chair. There was no table, no desk, no wardrobe, no drawers, no cupboard. Nowhere to put any clothes apart from the chair. The shower room was tiny too, with a minuscule washbasin and a ceiling so low that anyone approaching 6ft tall would has to crouch to use the basin. I paid £129 and I think this is terrible value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at Jenkins Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Many thanks ‘MP’ for posting a review of your stay at the Jenkins. I am sorry to read you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You were allocated a single room in the basement upon arrival. Although the rooms are compact they are well appointed. There is an open fronted wardrobe in the room next to the bathroom where you can hang your clothes and an antique chair in the corner for you to sit on. You stayed with us during a very busy period therefore the price you paid reflected the market demand at the time of your stay. In my opinion £129.00 per night bed and breakfast, free Wi-Fi etc. in central London is good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Jenkins Hotel from 1996 to 2002, but not since then. I was very excited because it had been refurbished recently and so I expected an even better stay than in previous visits. But from the minute I checked in at the Judd Hotel and walked across the street to the Jenkins, almost everything disappointed. I payed GBP144 for a twin room with ensuite, having prebooked in July, but still ended up on the third floor, a big issue because I had 2 heavy cases. That was not a problem. But I noticed the emptiness of character without the original reception area (now moved to the Judd). The refurbishment was good - the rooms are small but always have been and are clean but always have been. The staff though were not friendly, and obviously not English, which meant that the friendly old style English charm was completely absent. But the worst point of all was the breakfast - served in the Judd. It was not so much the quality of the food (which was pretty basic, even poor - the tomatoes appeared to be tinned), but the complete lack of atmosphere - none of the friendly table service from the hotel managers and delightful old English settings - simply a buffet style affair in a modern dining room - pleasant enough but completely souless. I was sad, almost heartbroken that the Jenkins I knew and loved 10 years ago has completely gone - it no longer exists. Does anyone remember the old days? I will not be returning. If you don't want old style English charm, better to pay more for somewhere like Andaz Liverpool Street which also has no English Charm, but is an infintely superior experience. If you want budget in Bloomsbury - try the County. Jenkins used to be our better hotel compared to the County, but now I would reverse that.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, do NOT stay in rooms 201, 202, 203, etc. Insist upon lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at Jenkins Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you ‘MindtheGap1996to2013’ for reviewing the hotel. We took over the hotel 2 years ago and it was very clear from day one that we would have to close down and renovate it as it was in dire need of refurbishment to bring it in line with current legislation. You rightly point out that we have moved the reception area to the Judd Hotel next door however there was never a reception area in the Jenkins so I am not too sure what you are referring to in your review. I
The breakfast is also served across the road in the Judd Hotel and has proved to be very successful. All my staff work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and whilst they may not be English as you point out they are all very warm and friendly and have a charm of their own.
It is unfortunate for you that the hotel and had changed so much in the 10 years since you had visited. I wish you the best of luck staying at the County Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked at the last minute, so the rate was painful...that's London. This place is central to transport, restaurants, British Museum. My room was on the third floor. There is no elevator, which could be a problem, especially if you have heavy luggage. The hotel is very clean and check in was easy. The Jenkins is just an extension if the Judd Hotel across the road, and has no reception itself. It is a security building and i felt safe enough. The phone in my room did not work when I checked in, so had to return to reception again. There was no desk or table for work, but the receptionist kindly found a tiny one in another room and brought it to my room (across the road and up three flights...like we were moving house!) The internet worked but was very weak, not high speed. Breakfast was basic, eggs, bacon, sausages, white bread toast, full cream milk and sugar filled yoghurt. Coffee was terrible. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and functional. I would not stay here again if i had a choice, but it was not a disaster either.

Room Tip: No elevator, so keep this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

A previous review mentioned Fawlty Towers - so true but in an amusing way! Checking in was across a side street - no problem. Andy at the front desk was BEYOND helpful- even though he was called upon to do numerous other tasks! Rooms were typical Europe - small but spotless - breakfast was in the basement - actually quite funny - they ran out of butter !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jenkins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenkins Hotel

Address: 45 Cartwright Gardens, Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #726 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jenkins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jenkins is a more traditional English B&B: an episode of Poirot was filmed here. Nevertheless, this Georgian townhouse has a pleasingly informal feel...(timeout) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jenkins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenkins Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenkins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.