We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, good value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmina Cafe

Carmina Cafe
88 Wigmore Street, London W1U 3RB, England
004402072243771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11,159 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: English, French, Italian, Mediterranean, Spanish
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place, good value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am a frequent visitor of Carmina and Lancelot cafe and should say that I always was very pleased - fantastic atmosphere, delicious and always fresh food. Even without special offers it is very affordable place for any pocket. Good café for a lunch with friends, coffee break after shopping at Oxford or Marylebone streets or relaxing of wine in an evening. My favourites are mushroom risotto and carrot cake, which I definitely recommend to try. I am upset about unpleasant reviews regarding such a lovely place; and I should say that it is unfair to judge a place which you visited just once with some voucher and that voucher didn’t face your expectations.
Svetlana

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    6
    5
    1
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cream Tea - Will not be returning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We tried to sign up for Travelzoo champagne afternoon tea voucher, but left it too late. We rang Camina and Lancelot and were told that they would still give us the Travelzoo offer, so we booked a table. When we arrived they would not honour the offer, we therefore took the 'buy-one-get one half price' offer on cream teas. Even with the offer, it was not cheap and arguably not exactly value for money. Whilst the scones were good, the cream and jam were less than plentiful. We witnessed couples having discussions with the management over the terms of the Travelzoo offer, and having seen the quality of the food, both being prepared and coming to adjacent tables, I would fully support the views expressed in the previous 'tea time' reviews. We left extremely disappointed and feeling somewhat ripped off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea - unlikely to return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited Carmina and Lancelot recently for champagne afternoon tea using a Travelzoo voucher. The restaurant itself was small but nice and cosy and we were greeted warmly.

However it all went downhill from there. The food is freshly prepared and taken in isolation is nice - however the afternoon tea (aside from the scones) was very disappointing. The sandwiches were all very much the same - even though the fillings differed marginally; the scones were very nice, though the jam accompanying them was a bit sparse; the cake/pastries turned out to be half a muffin each.

We also discovered that the tea or champagne in our "champagne afternoon tea" was optional - you could have one, but had to pay for the other. The staff in the restaurant claimed that this was Travelzoo's error and not theirs (though how you can have afternoon tea without tea or coffee is beyond me). And we were only notified of this as we had started to eat. I can understand that errors can be made, but was disappointed that they did not honour the voucher in full (as the on-cost of a cup of tea for two would be minimal, and would have created a much more positive experience).

So overall, I cannot recommend the place. There are much better places for afternoon tea at a similar price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dishonourable and disappointing tea”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited for tea using travelzoo voucher offer. Unfriendly manageress refused to honour terms of deal blaming travelzoo and we were forced to pay extra. Contents of tea were not in accordance with the offer. Some of the sandwiches were served on less than fresh bread and only one plain scone served. Two boring and unappealing cakes, no pastries or tarts etc.

This was truly disappointing and we felt ripped off, especially as our visit had been influenced by such positive feedback here. Beware !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

As with the previous reviewer I was staying at the mandeville hotel, room only. I dislike the same old rubbish hotels serve for breakfast too so I ventured across the road. It was quiet and empty and that was the only reason it was marked down for atmosphere. The porridge was delicious! Really really good coffee and I also had a carrot, beetroot and celery juice which was a perfect start to the day! Top marks see you tomorrow!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmina Cafe also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Carmina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmina Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.