We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for the O2 and surrounding as” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft London Excel to your Saves list
Aloft London Excel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for the O2 and surrounding as”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst we were going to see a concert at the O2, lovely ambiance quite quirky, the rooms were very well equipped and comfortable, would definitely stay there again if we're were that side of the Thames

Room Tip: We didn't use the Rome service or the Spa not enough time so unable to comment on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hey Janice P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. So many of our guests choose Aloft when they are at a concert at the O2. It is the perfect location and we are glad to know that you felt the same.

At Aloft Hotels worldwide we support emerging artists and next time you are with us, you might even catch a live performance in our W XYZ Bar. Until then, just follow us on Facebook and stay up to date on what's happening at Aloft's music scene.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    427
    128
    34
    19
See reviews for
95
333
69
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kings lynn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Brilliant place to stay ..just far enough from the city ..but so easy to get about on the tube ..hotel has everything you will need iron hair dyer ironing board ...Just great ....the staff are so helpfull and friendly ..nothing was to much trouble ...I will book again to stay in the aloft again for sure ..

Room Tip: Fantastic place to say ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hey Tracy W,
August has been a great month with so many of our leisure guests sharing lovely comments. Your feedback is all the way up there and we have reason to celebrate another perfect score.
The team and I say a big thank you for sharing your feedback with us and with the world.

We can't wait to welcome you back, there is always something happening in London's Docklands, we are sure you find an occasion for another trip soon.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

- very quiet, we couldn't hear other guests at all

- such a cosy comfy bed

- black out blinds! I thought it was 3am in the morning when it was actually 10am and we nearly missed breakfast!

- very wide choice of items for breakfast we got to choose any 3 items and a hot drink

- friendly helpful staff

I would definitely come here again it is amazing value for money it is also very close to the dlr trains which got us to the O2 where we walked over the O2 and had our dinner there. Fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hey ScarletDarcy,
We know that when staying at hotels, many things matter, but a good night sleep is simply a must. Our guests often comment on the quality of the beds and comfort of the linen, but to be told that this was your best night's sleep in years, is truly special. Thank you for sharing.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the O2.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice, new, perhaps a bit understaffed. Slow at cleaning the rooms. The closest place to stay for ExCel, but don't think it is London. About 20 min on the train (DLR) to get to the tube station. Lots of fun things to do if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hey Cathiet612,
Great to hear that you enjoyed the attractions in London, the city is definitely always worth a visit. We hope you come back soon.

Next time you stay, just let us know at what time you wish to have your room serviced and we'll make it happen. To ensure that guests receive room service at a time convenient for them, our team works throughout the day. We apologize if in your case you felt we serviced your room too late in the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel is a new property next to the DLR stop Prince Regent which brings you quickly to either City airport or downtown London (change to London Tube). I stayed here with my kids and we all enjoyed it. The rooms are modern and quiet, the pool area with Sauna and steam bath is a welcome relaxation point after long days in London. It is kind of nice to have a hotel away from the busy downtown area. Drawback: there is not much to do around the hotel. The Restaurant serves reasonable dinners with enough choice. For the breakfast we used the ground floor coffee shop which was adequate. We would definitely stay here again but just be aware that you need to plan your day well as the hotel is too far away from downtown London to go back and forth during the day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without connecting doors and high floors provide a better view and are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently, we had booked it at a brilliant price for London, and even though it is a bit out of London, the docklands railway stops literally at its front door, it was clean and comfortable, and I have to mention the bed, one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The only down side to this hotel was the lack of written information on London, restaurants, theatres etc. There was a computer available but not everyone is computer literate. It would have been helpful to have info on the area as well, including restaurants. We went to Canary wharf which was an eye opener, it was lovely with busy restaurants and bars and not that far from the hotel. All in all a really good break in a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night and i really enjoy swimming pool and gym were great and the staff very helpfull and friendly.
i would definately come back.
I had lunch at the restaurant and i enjoy service was very good and the food great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hey Smiguel10,
We could not ask for more than a perfect score from your first stay at Aloft London Excel.
Many of our guests love the location and realize that they can easily travel to Central London, it seems you felt the same.

Thank you for the great comments about our team, I will certainly share this.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
julia.harnischfeger@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Best Value Hotel in London
#155 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Business Hotel in London
#170 Luxury Hotel in London
#214 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft London Excel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.