We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value outside london” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft London Excel

Save Saved
You added Aloft London Excel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20%, rates from £87
Ranked #210 of 1,075 hotels in London
Kelowna,BC,Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value outside london”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This property was a good place to stay for us as we didn't mind the 20 min ride on the DLR to tower hill each day.With the dollars saved by staying here we were able to do some shopping,sight seeing and have lunch with a few drinks for the same price as a room in the heart of the city.
The room we had was overlooking the river and had a king bed with a large modern shower and flat screen tv.
We were a bit surprised that the hotel was run by a very young group of kids.....but....they were helpful with directions and info and very eager to assist us with our needs.
The only negative for us was the loud music(understandable as we were dealing with very young kids but a bit of a culture shock LOL LOL.All in all... not a bad place to stay and the bed was very comfortable,just not the USUAL SHERATONS WE WERE USED TO....LOL LOL

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river lol lol you will be able to see the planes landing at the city airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello Letitride,
Thank you so much for staying at Aloft London Excel and for taking the time to write and share your feedback. Our team is young and eager to share the Aloft vibe with you, something you find across the world, in all Aloft hotels. We take a slightly more casual approach to service than some of the mroe traditional hotel chains, and let our guests be in control of their stay. Whether it is the grab&go Re:fuel area or the 24 hour access to Re:charge, our gym, all services are available for you when you need them - we call it: anytime, anywhere!

The Aloft vibe is also reflected in the music you hear throughout our public areas, please accept my apologies if you felt this was too loud, it is only meant as background music and I will certainly review this with the team.

TOP TIP: for all music fans, Aloft supports up-and-coming artists! Keep following us on facebook to find out about the "PlayandStay@Aloft" campaign 2012. You might be the next superstar!

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    317
    91
    28
    14
See reviews for
73
222
56
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights (Friday 15th - Sunday 17th June)
The hotel is modern, clean and easy to navigate your way around. The pool stays open until 11pm, which is great.
Our room came equipped with a 42 inch plasma, complimentary bottled water and the room itself was a really good size.
Parking is directly infront of the hotel and will cost you 12 pounds a day.
The hotel has a bar downstairs, restaurant on floor 2, a seperate area which is open 24 hours a day where you can pick up drinks, snacks, sandwiches etc.
We will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hey Nish21,
Hello from Aloft London Excel, the sassiest space in London's Docklands.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay, we are excited to hear you loved it and are celebrating the great feedback and perfect score!

Our pool is called Splash, and I agree with you, it is one of the most beautiful places in the hotel. With the long opening hours from 06:00am-11:00pm, there is always time for a dip.

TOP TIP for all future guests: parking is available in the hotel car park and is charged £14.00 overnight. In case your SatNav does not yet recognize our postcode (the hotel is so new!!), just enter E16 1RH and you will arrive right in front of Aloft.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
julia.harnischfeger@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you have tight pocket, but you don't want to live in a shabby hotel, choose this one. It's new one (September 2011?), just 1 minute walk from Prince Regent (DLR tube station), just in front of the Excel Exhibition Center and about 20-25 minutes from the heart of the City. Modern room, King-size bed, free internet, 42'' Flat Screen TV. I recommend this hotel for business for sure (especially for those who want to visit Excel exhibition stands) and for young couples/solo travelers with good taste.

Room Tip: My room was 612 (on the 6 floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I quit the nearby Crowne Plaza and moved to this ultra modern, friendly, brand new hotel just two stops further on DLR.

Free and high-speed internet (compared to 15 £ for low speed at Crowned Plaza). Extremely helpful staff, beautiful rooms, cool lobby lounge and pool table (like at Work Hotels), and self serve laundry which was great after 2 weeks of travel.

Only downside is limited restaurant facilities. Just a canteen type set up....wasn't a big deal though because you can hop the train to all of London or walk to nearby hotels to eat.

Loved this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel fine
Staff very nice
Cab to West Ham TOTAL RIP OFF recommended by hotel........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the Queen's Jubilee weekend and it was an absolute pleasure ! I had a group with me and when we arrived by coach (at 9.30 am !) a member of staff came and met us and very efficiently stored our luggage so that we could make our way into London.
It was an easy journey into London by DLR & London Underground.
When we returned later, check in was efficient. Rooms very well appointed and luxurious and there were fantastic gy & leisure facilities.
Breakfast was "grab & go " which meant that you chose 3 items and a hot drink & ate it in the lounge area. There were freshly made bacon butties for those who wanted a hot breakfast. It might not suit those who want a full English breakfast, but was plentiful and an efficient way of having breakfast.
2 members of staff who should receive special mention are : Joachim & Lorraine. They were cheerful and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The flowing line of this modern metal and glass designed hotel is a welcome addition to the dockside. As it is unlikely to get any casual passing trade only a porch indicates where the front doors are. A second set on the right inside lead you to a featureless granite grey hall with no obvious reception area. It is only by walking around the large spiral staircase that you find a row of self registration points and an island reception which is no bigger than the information desk in larger shopping centres.
The staff are welcoming and helpful in contrast to the grey and functional interior. The rooms are clean, well laid out and have comfy beds, however a double room had only one pack of caffeinated coffee, one of decaffeinated one tea etc.
There is no bath only an overhead shower but no complimentary shower cap. Although only recently opened, the carpet in our room was already showing wear around the corners of the bed and the edges were unravelling. A Gym and swimming pool help this Hotel to get its four star status but the menu in the restaurant does not obviously need a qualified cook and a full English breakfast which would need a cook was not available.
Getting to your room is well signed but there are no signs back to the lifts and the stark interior is difficult for those who are visually impaired. Although businesslike and able to provide a good nights sleep there is nothing relaxing about the Aloft hotel. Perhaps the hotel can best be summed up by there not being any written guide to services provided in the rooms and if you access guest services on the television you have only two options, setting a wake up call, and accessing your messages.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Best Value Hotel in London
#144 Romantic Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
#171 Business Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft London Excel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.