We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplanned visit for a quick dinner...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano London 2

Vapiano London 2
90B Southwark Street | Bankside, London SE1 0FD, England
02075932010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,179 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Appleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Unplanned visit for a quick dinner...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

During one of my recent business visits to London we dropped a colleague off at a hotel and decided to go grab a quick bite to eat. Vapiano caught our eye and upon entering I realised I had in fact eaten here before again when staying in the area...

Friendly welcome with a slight twist of self ordering yet overall the service was good and friendly.

The food and value was very good, open plan kitchen and the pizza toppings generous and good quality.

We weren't rushed out after our meal and overall I think this is pretty good for a good no hassle meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    119
    29
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“High-end Cantina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Vapiano is based upon a cantina theme with a couple of different stations where you order your meal.

Funny concept. And very nice atmosphere. Good pizzas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Funny and good pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were visiting our son in London and went to Vapiano for dinner. It is fun, except for drinks you order and pick the food yourself, the cost is charged in a special card that you get on arrival. We had pizza and calzone, both very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourimbah, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great service with many tasty options, all made before your eyes. Super fresh and reasonably priced. Great interior with loads of seating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, fresh Italian food if you're ok with self-service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

There were 3 of us and arrived very early on a Friday evening when it was fairly quiet. However, by the time we left a few hours later, it was packed! We hadn't been here before and the greeter ran through the ordering process so quickly we found it a little confusing and didn't realise we had to queue for drinks as well as food. My tomato soup starter and main course tagliatelle with bolognese were both delicious and very reasonably priced. The ambience of the place is open, airy and buzzy - definitely attracts a young crowd. The staff who cook the food in front of you are very friendly. However, I really did just want to sit down and not have to keep queuing for everything but that's the way it's run so if you want table service, this isn't the place for you. There was also a sour moment after we'd left the restaurant when one of the staff came rushing out to us because they thought we might not have returned all 3 of our swipe cards (where food and drink costs are charged as you get them) and implying we hadn't paid for everything. In fact, my friends are a couple so one of them paid the bill for 2 of the cards which seemed to have caused the confusion. I think their process should be better run so that this kind of embarrassment doesn't happen. The swipe card system would be good if there's a group of you and want to pay separately for your meals but I've no idea how you would co-ordinate getting your food at the same time when you have to queue and wait for it to be cooked. I'm not convinced about the concept but it looks like a lot of other people are!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano London 2 also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Vapiano London 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano London 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.