We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! The only hotel to stay in when in London!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Montcalm at the Brewery London City to your Saves list
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England (City of London)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LIMITED OFFER GET 10% OFF
Ranked #34 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful! The only hotel to stay in when in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Had a wonderful stay to celebrate a special Birthday! We booked a Club room which was lovely and the bed so comfortable that we had the best night's sleep ever! There was everything you needed in the room along with lovely Hermes toiletries! It is well worth paying the extra for a Club Room as you have full access to the Club Lounge with snacks and drinks and complimentary continental breakfast. All staff are really friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel! We loved our stay so much we are already planning to return and have recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

Our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    201
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
411
32
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel has it all! It's a huge hotel, rather maze-y, it's one of the few ones I've stayed in that actually requires a map to get around inside the hotel! But other than that, it's got some very nice, spacious, clean rooms, the toiletries are from Hermes or Elemis (depending on your room type) and the receptionist (the romanian girl, whose name I actually forgot) can do wonders for you, you just need to ask and they'll make sure it happens. Service is impeccable, it's a true 5-star and quite frankly, the only hotel I'll ever stay in while in London.

Room Tip: Check out the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your recent visit and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis and we are looking forward to pamper you with our hospitality again.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were nice and good quality furnishings, price was affordable just let down by the location being out of town and in a not very visually appealing area. Lovely stay though.

The adjoining pub food looked nice but quite pricey for what it was so we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

Our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is the second time I have used this hotel. The welcome, as always, was superb, from the doorman to the gentleman on reception, both were polite and efficient; I was lucky enough to get early access to my room which I was not expecting. I stayed in a suite and the room was lovely, modern and spacious but comfortable with a superking bed. I was impressed with the emergency kit and the additional coffee machine. Nice to see semi skimmed milk in the room as most hotels only have UHT whole milk. The concierge was very well informed on the history of the hotel and was very helpful. This hotel has a great bar / restaurant attached downstairs and the bartender remembered our drinks and brought them to the table - nice touch. I did not have a full meal but I had bar snacks/ light bites they were great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your recent visit and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis and we are looking forward to pamper you once again with our hospitality.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is one of these rare places where I, if given the chance, would not hesitate to sprinkle at least twice as many stars as allowed. Interior, service, flexibility. Everything absolutely perfect. From the booking procedure, through check in, to the lovely club room, and the fantastic staff, and lovely breakfast at the Jugged Hare, everything was absolutely outstanding. And oh, I forgot to mention great value for money. Can't see a reason for me to stay anywhere else when visiting London.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

Our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is worthy of its price, which is very boutique and modern. I like the decoration of it ,which is very and comfortable and fashionable. The facilitates are more than other hotels. The lobby has changed the flowers in the hotel, which leaves me good impression. It cares much on details. The location is good and in a quiet area. Btw, I love the candies and biscuits the hotel provides.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback.

We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests

Our friendly and attentive staff will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

Rest assured I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, who was delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

1st night we had to move rooms as 206 was very loud and some sort of generator next door was shaking windows and thrumming stopping us from sleeping. At 1am moved to lower grade room but was quiet.

In morning bleary eyed spoke to GM and she apologised and offered to upgrade us to a suite which was a fair resolution to the issue. Suite was lovely but some other minor niggles stops me from rating it as an excellent hotel. We would certainly consider staying again and staff were on whole very good. Club room breakfast was good and snacks at night OK to help keep you covered until a proper meal.

I would also ensure you look out of the windows in the inner courtyard to get some appreciation of the historic building as inside it has been pretty much removed so you would not know you were in such a historic building.

Finally the rooms do not believe in proper draws for clothes so be prepared to hang them or find some open shelving space. Storage is a bit tight.

Room Tip: Avoid 206 if still has noise issue. Check the room before unpacking and I would check rest of room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely thoughts about the hotel and team. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It’s always a great pleasure to receive valuable feedback. It helps us to improve our service and product.

The Montcalm London City is built within a listed property; and used to be the Whitbread Brewery. So its quirky layout is due to original features, this, together with our modern décor, gives our property a charm which is unique

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London Positioned in the very heart of the City of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London', now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.