We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Everytime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Montcalm at the Brewery London City to your Saves list
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Montcalm. This was our third stay and we would definitely return. Location (Barbican) is nice and quiet on the weekends and a short tube ride to all major attractions. Staff are brilliant and very attentive and the rooms are very well presented. Great value, service, location and a great time!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Gary,

I am delighted to learn you had another wonderful stay with us; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

Our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

We are looking forwards to welcome you back soon

Best regards,
Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    124
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
225
20
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here recently for a music concert at the O2 and couldn't have asked for more. As above everything was excellent and concierge and guest hospitality was second to none. One small gripe. Gym facilities are very limited but adequate for basic cardio workout and Sauna was not working for duration of stay, was promised an update when it would be fixed whilst there but didn't get one, so for any Gym Fanatics please be aware your needs won't be met. local amenities Tesco Express , Cashpoint etc also with stones throw of front reception.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your valuable feedback as this helps us to improve our service and product.

The Montcalm London City is located in the heart of London’s financial district. Despite this the area is full of life and our Concierge team has a vast knowledge of every exciting place around us. This includes landmarks, restaurants, bars, museums and many more. Having a car park within 2 minutes’ drive is also very convenient.

Our team here consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Best Regards
Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have the pleasure of staying at The Montcalm, Barbican hotel on a regular basis due to work commitments. The location is ideal, and has several superb amenities for eating, drinking, shopping etc. ..
The hotel is beautifully decorated, the staff exemplary, the rooms and amenities excellent.
During my stays, I have noticed that the service provided by all levels of staff is consistent, week on week. I am greeted personally as I walk through the door, my rooms are always immaculate, well sized, quiet, extra fruit and water is regularly left in the room for me, quite frankly the staff cannot do enough.
It is a pleasure be a regular visitor of this hotel, and I use it when I come to London for personal trips too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Neal,

Thank you very much for such an amazing feedback and we are delighted, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services is up to your satisfaction and that you truly enjoy every time you here.

Our friendly and attentive staff will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a weekend stay at the Montcalm to celebrate my Daughter's graduation at The Barbican Centre, which was just around the corner, and my husband's birthday. They very kindly upgraded us to a Club Room which was spacious, pristinely clean and well appointed.

The stay was "almost" perfect - just marred by the traffic noise we suffered in our front facing Club Room which unfortunately gave us two not very good night's sleep! I understand they are addressing this problem with double glazing so hopefully this should make these rooms quieter!

We would definitely stay again, but depending on the noise issues, may request a room at the rear of the building.

The weekend itself was fabulous with lovely sunny weather and it was a joy to wander around the City at the weekend when all the banks and offices were closed!

I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Check if double glazing has been completed if you are allocated a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your fabulous comments on your recent visit to London.

I am delighted to learn that you were given lovely upgraded rooms on this very special family occasion. They are really nice and specious.

The Montcalm London City is located in the heart of London’s financial district. Despite this the area is full of life and our Concierge team has a vast knowledge of every exciting place around us. This includes landmarks, restaurants, bars, museums and many more. Having a car park within 2 minutes’ drive is also very convenient.

The Montcalm London City is known to have a great variety of rooms that are very quiet; therefore, it disappoints us that we didn't make a positive impact whilst you were staying with us.Rest assured your profile has been updated and we will allocate quiet courtyard rooms for you in future.

Thank you, again, for sharing your lovely comments on this forum and recommending our property to other travelers. I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you and your family to return and we are already looking forward to pamper you again.

Best Regards
Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornslet, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had actually booked another 5 star hotel for a weekend but at arrival we were so disappointed that we just left! It was far from up to expectations, so there we were Friday afternoon and no place to stay..... I was there with my grown up son, so a twin room was essential to us, which very well could make the problem worse, as most rooms usually are doubles. By chance and coincidentally we turned up at Montcalm at the Brewery, and what a pleasant surprise. We were offered a Club Room, where bed could be turned into twin beds. Excellent. Thank you. And we very much indeed appreciated the extremely nice, friendly and pleasant staff all over (as should be of course, but some places it does not work so well.....). We definitely would love to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely thoughts about the hotel and team. It’s always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am so pleased that my team has managed to accommodate you in one of our lovely Club Twin rooms and made your stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

Rest assured I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, who was delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night and will certainly be back. Every member of staff was without fail friendly, courteous and attentive and it will be this that I remember most. The facilities in the room were well considered and of a high standard; the bed was comfortable; the wifi was strong; the bathroom products were great. Finally, the breakfast (served at the Jugged Hare next door) was the best I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Alex

We thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many returning guests.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

I am sure you had an excellent time dining in the Jugged Hare. We do have another great place to dine, the Chiswell Street Dining, which is open Monday to Friday and located on the corner of Chiswell and Milton Streets. Definitely worth to try when you stay with us during the week.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband surprised me with a weekend away in London for our anniversary. The hotel couldn't have done more to make us feel special. They upgraded our room. We have complimentary wine and fruit. The room itself was a good size for a central London hotel. It was close to 2 Underground stations so access to the centre on London was easy. I would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Charlie

Thank you for your lovely thoughts about the hotel and team. We are so pleased you and your husband had an enjoyable stay with us.

It’s always a great pleasure to receive valuable feedback. Our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

The Montcalm London City is located just next to the Barbican Arts Centre and lies between the Barbican and the Moorgate tube stations, both just minutes of walking distance, with excellent connection to central London and all major attractions.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City in the nearest future.

Best Regards

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in London
#36 Romantic Hotel in London
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London Positioned in the very heart of the City of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London', now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.