We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Tower Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

A very nice modern hotel in the middle of London with plenty to do within walking distance.

The spa and pool facilities looked top notch but we did not use them.

It's the middle of London and a 5 star hotel so please don't be surprised at the prices.

The staff cannot do enough for you. All in all our stay was excellent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel modern, clean and the staff friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    654
    177
    77
    34
See reviews for
254
795
60
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The room was clean and the hotel had the necessary amenities. Room booked through a deal website - would not want to pay full price! Happy with service and room based on discounted rate. Staff were reasonably helpful. Quiet location but need to walk to find other food options unless you are happy to keep going to the pub next door.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. For a future occasion if you prefer to go out to another restaurant, St. Katharine's Dock is close by and also the Grange City Hotel which has a couple of nice restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here recently and we were looking forward for a long time to our first stay at a 5star hotel so of course we had high expectations....but I think we would've been disappointed with this hotel if it had even claimed to be 2 star hotel!!

Check in process was very slow and the staff do not make eye contact or make you feel like a valued customer. Took in total 10 minutes...Premier Inn never takes less than 5 minutes!!

The bed we got in our first room was akin to one I've slept on in an Ibis Hotel....about 1 foot off the ground and metal legs!

After complaining we were upgraded to a "executive hotel room" where the bed was a vast improvement(i.e what we viewed in the photos) but the bathroom facilities were truly awful. One of the levers for the shower fell off when I pulled it gently!Quite worrying!

We also found stains on our bedclothes but as we were already running late for our dinner reservations as a result of room switching, we were forced to put a clean sheet on top of the stained one and "put up" with it as our evening was already nearly ruined.

Then the next morning, we went to check out....and there was a queue 10 people long just to check out!this is when we spoke to the manager to raise our awful stay and the stains on bedsheets.

He took our contact details and said someone would be in contact.

We got an email with a very insincere apology and stating an offer if we stay again, we'd get some perks. As if we'd stay again!

I phoned the guest relations and eventually escalated. Then my partner got a long ranty email from a senior guest relations manager accusing us of lying about the stains and basically if it was good enough to sleep on, the sheets must've been fine.We have photos proving that they were on the bed before we slept on them. They maintain we should've missed our dinner reservations and started a huge argument with them at 6pm on a Saturday about dirty bedsheets..3 hours after our check in..and move rooms. FUN!

Never in my life have I had such rudeness and arrogance from a Hotel!!!!!!

DO NOT STAY!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We have responded to the guest directly and our offer was a genuine offer of our goodwill and do not feel it would be appropriate to respond further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Walking in past midnight on a balmy summers evening, I was greeted by the spacious yet strangely charmless reception area. Lots of light, a few late night drinkers in the lobby bar- yet lacking entirely in the sort of atmosphere you might expect from a truly top class luxury hotel.

The Grange is not a top class luxury hotel. It is however a top class hotel. Let me explain, I walked into my room on the 2nd floor- room 209, a corner room with two huge floor to ceiling windows, two sofas, big bed, nice bathroom, minibar. The works.

…and yet, the in room directory describes the hotel as offering a new vision of luxury. The thing about the word 'luxury' is that it is a nebulous thing. You can do everything in exactly the right way with the best intentions, you can mirror many other luxury establishments and offer those 'luxury' touches and find that the end result somehow misses the mark.

This is the case with The Grange Tower Hill hotel, it has no identity of it's own, no sense of humour and no fun. Unlike the Kit Kemp designs at say The Haymarket or Soho hotels or the authority and glamour of the Claridges and Savoys- The Grange offers you a carbon copy theme park of a luxury experience. You can swim in a fantastic pool, and yet not want to stay and enjoy the poolside after you have finished. You are treated by the staff in a personable yet slightly clinical manner, the food is well presented yet tastes a bit bland, the rooms are big…and beige- like a bedroom sat adjacent to a corporate boardroom for it's tasteless CEO.

In short it has no charm in spite of it's many facilities. It ticks all the luxury boxes yet has no idiosyncrasies, nothing to make my short stay stand out as anything other than a (big) bed for the night.

I paid £139 for the night without breakfast, i had a nice swim, a perfectly fine- though expensive- prawn sandwich and slept happily. But I can do all of those things at many a London hotel. If you want functionality and a decent location- here's your man. If you want something a bit special- go elsewhere- and if you want luxury- don't shop for it.

Room Tip: 209 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. Sorry your expectations were not fully satisfied. Your comments have been noted. We hope you will consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Finding a really good, well-priced and comfortable is not as easy as it may look! With Grange Hotels, you get just that. We stayed at the Grange Tower and were very highly satisfied. The room was beautiful ( an executive), spacious, comfortable with every commodity one would need. Bathroom excellent with lovely "smells" - all spotless and gleamingly clean. We only ate in for breakfast and this was excellent - very very good choice, elegantly served and ( and I am not a buffet breakfast fan really).......piping hot and freshly cooked- no crozzled( good word , that!) bacon and sweaty scrambled egg - all really good. Such a delightful selection of fruits, cereals etc and, if wished, specially cooed items such as eggs benedict/florentine. Staff are plentiful, always around to help, concierges have good local knowledge and everything at their fingertips. Location is great, whether you want theTower, river, tube or just walking - do go to Spitalfield Market and have a brilliant Balti in Brick Lane - you can walk to both these quite easily.....and Whitechapel has it's lure with sinister guided walks re Jack the Ripper. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor - not much of a view - the Suites, maybe, have a view of the Shard and Riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your superb review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and its facilities and location. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Amazing beautiful hotel .. very clean all over . Lovely big rooms . Very comfy beds. Staff were very nice and couldn't do enough to help you. Amazing breakfast.

Pool is nice and refreshing but only 6 loungers more would be good.

There was 20 of us and we were all spread out over hotel would have preferred been together.

I found this hotel little out the way however weatherspoons next door which is nice.

Would very highly recommended and would definitely come again.

Thanks for a wonderful 2 night stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and found our staff helpful. Hope the wedding goes well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel when visiting the capital for Wimbledon. Overall, we were very impressed with the decor of the hotel, fixtures and fittings were lovely with a great attention to detail. I particularly loved the rain shower! We found breakfast to be rather expensive for what you got and the service wasnt particularly good, sitting with dirty plates for quite some time, having to regularly request more coffee etc. I would also suggest the hotel needs more lifts as we waited 8 minutes to be able to get down from the 11th floor and 6 minutes to be able to get one back up at another time. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I am pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#158 Business Hotel in London
#162 Family Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.