We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox and Grapes

Save Saved
You added The Fox and Grapes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox and Grapes
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   9 Camp Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4UN, England (Wimbledon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 522 London B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night and was was surprised at how good the rooms were the room was scrupulously clean with a large comfortable bed the en-suite shower was great with a great range of complimentary toiletries, there is also an expresso machine in each room and free to use bathrobes.The food in the downstairs bar was delicious and highly recommended well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed on a Monday evening to avoid a long commute home. My room was Cholet, which made me smile. Beautiful, fresh, contemporary decor, a lovely Nespresso coffee machine and free wifi. No phone signal (3) was a shame. Extremely comfortable bed, and gorgeous classy toiletries in the tiny, but entirely adequate shower room. I ate in the gastro pub bar and had quite possibly, the best burger, fries and home-made mayo I have ever tasted. Breakfast was also a delight, with plenty of fresh fruit, warmed croissant and pain au chocolat and cereals, toast, tea/coffee all included in the £90 price tag. I would have given 5 stars but was disappointed on 2 counts. On checking out, I had a long wait for a taxi. During this time, I sat in the bar and watched the breakfast waitress happily picking fresh fruit out of a bowl that was waiting for the final breakfast guests, and eating it. Even if they weren't coming, this really didn't look good. And secondly, I asked for a taxi and was told it would be a 20-minute wait, which made me late for work. If a closer taxi firm than this can't be found, it's probably worth advising guests of this in the room literature. To add to this irritation factor, when the taxi did arrive, it was a fixed price driver service, with charges 30% higher than the local black cabs from Wimbledon station. This should really be communicated in advance as I had no choice by the time I found out. Apart from these minor gripes, I would certainly stay here again, and would not hesitate to recommend the dining experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I recently Stayed at the Fox and Grapes and really enjoyed the experience.

It consists of 3 good rooms we stayed in Tobermory.
This room was excellently decorated and had a lovely private terrace and a massive shower room, the bath has been sacrificed but you do not miss it at all. The toilettries provided were also lovely.
The staff here are really attentive - they do not offer room serice but my husband wanted a bite to eat, went downstairs to the pub to order something and the staff said it was no problem to bring it to the room! At no extra cost!!!!!
The food here is great. My hubby had the burger and chips which looked and tasted good!
The next day we stayed for Sunday lunch which had the most amazing gravey!! I had a pear Tartin for desert and have Never tasted anything so sumptuous in all my life.
The Continental breakfast comes with the room and is endless. Cerial, warmed Pain au chocolat and a big bowl of fresh fruit each!! It is superb value!

The only small problem was caused bu noise coming from the Aircon/Heating? I couldn't work out what it was and did disrupt out sleep a bit but do not let this small point deter you!


To sum up this pub/hotel ooses charm and is exceptional value for money - I cannot wait for my next visit!!

Room Tip: Tobermoray named after a Womble!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked one night as a base for a night out at the theatre.
Friendly welcome from the manager. Really lovely room of a good hotel standard.
Breakfast was really good and the service outstanding. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have stayed in Wimbledon many times but happened upon the Fox and Grapes by chance. It is a gastro pub with three rooms to let as a side business. It is located in the middle of the Wimbledon Common within easy walking distance (5 - 10 min) of Wimbledon Village. The closest transport links seem to be the London Buses alongside the Common.

The room was very comfortable, clean and a nice size. We had free wireless which was convenient for doing some work / checking e-mail. The bathroom is small but had room for a nice shower and heated towel rack. We enjoyed the Nespresso Coffee machine in the room as well as the obligatory tea kettle. The continental breakfast with cereal, fruit and pastry / bread was plentiful and hearty and was included in the incredibly reasonable room rates. The pub was busy while we were there but we could not hear any noise in the room. Everyone we encountered with the staff was beyond friendly and gracious.

The food for lunch / dinner in the pub is also excellent. It is a little expensive but I believe they are catering to a "posh" pub experience.

We would stay here again for a short stay as the price and customer service are worthwhile. For longer stays, we would likely look for something a little more centrally located for transportation on the rail / Tube.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

I ended up with an impromptu stop over in London for a night so decided to visit friends in Wimbledon. They booked the fox and grapes as it was close to their house and apparently has a great reputation amongst locals. We had dinner in the bar that night and the food was outstanding if a little pricey for pub grub. There are 3 rooms available and all are reasonably large and well fitted out. LCD tv, great bed and a clean and practical ensuite. Despite being above the bar there was no noise and I had a perfect nights sleep. The staff were wonderful and I will
be staying there on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed one night for a friend's 50th nearby, clean room, comfortable bed, obliging staff...mentioned the stairs were greasy, slippery leading to room, within 5 minutes they were cleaning them for us, husband had recent knee injury and was scared of slipping.

Everything was fine, breakfast continental, huge and tasty fruit salad, young staff but frindly with good customer service. Got Late Rooms deal and got £25.oo off, so near to W Common which was nice to have a pre dinner walk.


Couple Norfolk

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fox and Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Grapes

Address: 9 Camp Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox and Grapes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Comfortable Village Inn on the edge of Wimbledon Common, the Fox & Grapes serves excellent food, well conditioned real ales and a good selection of fine wines. With well appointed rooms, and the tranquility of the location, the Fox & Grapes is on the doorstep of London and is conveniently located for a city commute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Fox and Grapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Grapes London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox and Grapes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.