We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time there and definitely not the last one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sartori

Sartori
15-18 Great Newport Street | Near Covent Garden, London WC2H 7JE, England
020 7836 6308
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sartori is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #897 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Excellent Italian restaurant close to Leicester Square. Excellent service, good authentic italian food. Prices very reasonable - £63 for 2 courses, bottle of wine and a tip.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time there and definitely not the last one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went there in August for dinner with my team and had fabulous 3-courses meal...The restaurant was packed which is always a good sign when you go to a place for the first time! Menu had nice carte of Italian classic meals and good selection of wine, we picked 2 different kind of Primitivo from La Puglia (Southern Italy). To be honest, I didn't expect such a restaurant because I don't go normally to restaurants in Central London in touristy location but it was a nice surprise!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    236
    188
    49
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent pre-theatre meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Heading for the theatre, via Leicester Square tube station, we came across Sartori within a short distance and thought we'd give it a try. At 5.30 it was filling fast, but we were offered a table downstairs. Tables were quite crammed in, but it wasn't unpleasant, with a massive wood-burning pizza oven in the corner as a focal point. Service was quick, efficient and attentive. My wife opted for a simple pasta dish with tomato, basil and mozzarella. I chose the calves liver - with a comment from the waiter that it was an excellent choice. He was not wrong - it was superb! The pasta was also just to my wife's liking. With a bottle of house red and service charge the bill came to just over £50, which we considered excellent value. All in all we struck lucky and would undoubtedly look to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sartori, well behind PizzaMetroPizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went there with high expectations ("The best Pizza in London") but I can say that is pretty average and well behind the quality of Pizza Metro Pizza. The place was also very cold.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great quality, great value for lunch in Covent Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Situated in the heart of Covent Garden (100 metres from Leicester Square tube) this delightful Italian restaurant offers a 2 course set menu lunch for £9.99. The choice was wide, the portions ideal (not too large for lunch) and the service was good - 3 of us met up and enjoyed the meal and a catch-up. We were in, fed and out again inside an hour and a half. deal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Second time and just as good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the second time I've eaten here and I can not tell you how AMAZING the food is. The first time I was a little undecided (hopefully you can find my other review quite easily) and maybe not as enthusiastic as this time. But seriously - so good!

The service is a little slow but the restaurant has been packed out each time I've been there so I'm not surprised and the staff are so pleasant.

We ordered starters to share and I have to say that the smoked mozzarella is breadcrumbs (fried) was divine. Seriously. I have had fried cheese before but this was delicious.

My main was the chicken breast with bacon and mushrooms sauce. Again, words fail me. The mushroom sauce was just the right consistency - perfect to mop up the extra with the roast potatoes.

The sea bass was also exquisite.

From the few dishes I've had, the food is delicious and extremely good for value especially if you have a Taste card! :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sartori also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Sartori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sartori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.