We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caspian

The Caspian
117 Burnt Ash Road | Lee, London SE12 8RA, England
020 8297 1170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,352 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Have been here 3-4 times recently with my 91 year old grandmother and Iranian wife. Food is amazing - my grandmother loves it. Service is great, easy to park etc. One to try locally

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“some old standards and a few new treats (fesenjan anyone?!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pretty much my first Persian restaurant and, from the menu at least, I was assuming something like a Turkish restaurant gone amok - but no. Its true that they have kebabs on the list of main courses but when that list includes sea bass (marinated with dill, thyme etc) its fair to assume that we're not talking your average kebab but something rather more interesting. And the food is particularly good when you stray into the specialities: fesenjan turns out to be chicken slowly cooked with ground walnuts and pomegranate jiuce - its tasty but on the sweet side of the spectrum (though not exactly sweet, its just the walnut/pomegranate ocmbo that does that).
we had the sini mazeh (which I guess is mixed mezze on another menu) which has so far been the end of us every time we've been along - its a plate of home-made humous (honestly - or at least it tastes it), dolmades, two different aubergine based treats and a potato and chicken salad that is just yummy. We have also tried and recomment the paneer sabzi which is rather delicious feta cheese served with herbs and walnuts (and radish and spring onion) which (we were told) you are meant to mix up and pop onto a piece of their big fluffy bread - she promised the tastes would all meld together and they did - I shall ask for that one again!
Top tip though..... and I can see it referred to elsewhere......they don't expect you to be in a hurry, its the sort of place that Iranian families come to eat with kids and can get a bit nursery like very early in the evening all of which contributes to the feeling of relaxation - if you want to be in a rush you will have to tell them, its just not a rush rush place and servings can seem family sized - if its too much they might be able to pack it to take away rather than chuck it out. Oh yes - and the meat kebabs were just right - not fatty or stringy and well marinaded.
I rather assumed that the decor was Persian (though the rather huge and lovely loo has a bold wallpaper that looks Italian). Make a note to visit the loo.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“ Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just spent a lovely evening at The Caspian with my girlfriend and her mum. Amazing food and brilliant service (and considering how busy it was they really didn't need to be as attentive as they were) Will definitely be regulars now we have moved to the area. Very family friendly as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Attractive restaurant but service was appalling. Dirty dishes left on the table, drinks orders forgotten, waiters chatting amongst themselves at back and worst of all we had to wait nearly an hour for our main courses without warning or apologies. The food was ok but nothing special, kebabs averages ant the stews had cheap ingredients.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a strange deco!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The food was waay too much for me to have. I ended up wasting alot and i HATE wasting food. But, the service was good and the food was tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Caspian also viewed

 

Been to The Caspian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caspian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.